Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2006
I was wary about buying this book. I had already read another of Joe Friels books - 'The Cyclists Training Bible' and I thought this might just be a minor re-hash of the same information.
I need not have worried. Friel has used his earlier work as a starting point and vastly improved it. This book is mountain bike specific (the other one is really for road cyclists) and it has been totally reorganised, updated and most of all - clarified, to the point where it reads like a completely different book.
Even though it is a relatively long book (300 pages) it is densely written. There is a lot of information to take in and you will need to read it several times and possibly even take notes! This is not a criticism. All the information you need to improve your competitive cycling is here, but Friel does not repeat himself unnecessarily. There is no padding, just plenty of hard information and detailed explanation.
If you are new to cycling or mountain biking and are looking for equipment advice or tips on how to corner or descend faster then look elsewhere, but if you are serious about your cycling and want to develop a properly structured goal driven training plan then this is the book for you.
Although it is firmly aimed at competitive cyclists and coaches don't let this put you off. Whether you have two hours a week, or twenty hours a week to train, this book will show you how to use that precious time most effectively to consistently cycle further and faster.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2003
It's a pity the Amazon synopsis for this book is so vague, as it is not what I was expecting or even wanted.
It is supposed to be aimed at novices through to pro's. Well, the novice mentioned must be a novice racer and not just a novice rider, as this book went way over my head. All I wanted was to be more efficient (in technique such as pedalling and diet). This book mainly covers how to be a mountain bike racer with guides on how many hundreds of hours training are required, weight workouts, etc.
I'm sure someone who is a racer will find this book very useful and give it 5 stars, but for the majority of weekend warriors then this book is not for you.
11 comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
Most cyclist like me, have picked up lots of little training tips over the years of cycling, some you use, some you disregard and some you think area great idea but have never bothered.
If you're the target audience for this book, someone who races and is hungry to get better, will know a lot of what this book tells you. BUT the main advantage of this book is explaining the reason behind all the tips you've received, timing them and reviewing them for next time.
Good example, going to the gym, we all know that some benefits can be had by going but a lot of us don't bother. This book suggests that you should do different types of gym training at different times of your training year. It gives you 5 different ways that include things like power Endurance phase (PE) and Strength Maintenance phase(SM).

The heart of what this book is teaching you is to know yourself and your abilities, the book suggest adding simple thing to your training and riding like keeping a training diary so that you can log how you feel, your concerns and praises of the training your doing, so that next time you know what does and doesn't work well for you.

Because of this, if you train utilizing this book for a number of years you would just get stronger and stronger as a rider.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2010
thebook has lots of good ideas for work outs and how to structure training, very useful to the self trained cyclist
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
This book has become my training tool no.1!
Easy to understand and including all essential ingredienses in a serious training plan.
Very motivating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
It is a very understandable, easy to fallow handbook for those, who wants to understand the theory and practice of MTB training. Gives a guideline for gathering knowledge about the physical needs of this sport, self testing, building the training season. I recommend both for bikers who train alone - to learn how to do it, or for ones who have the opportunity to work under the guidance of a coach - to understand why to do the given workouts.
It is pretty easy to fallow even for not native English readers as well.
The Mountain Biker's Training Bible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Great book for MTB riders. Read it and you will learn a lot from a smart end experienced man and trainer.
If you whant to get better in something, you need to read and learn and this is great book to start or learn more about MTB training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Good Book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)