The Moor: Lives Landscape Literature and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: £12.54

or
 
   
Trade in Yours
For a £4.50 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Moor: Lives Landscape Literature on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Moor: Lives Landscape Literature [Hardcover]

William Atkins
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
RRP: £18.99
Price: £15.19 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £3.80 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 24 Oct.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £7.79  
Hardcover £15.19  
Paperback £9.99  
Trade In this Item for up to £4.50
Trade in The Moor: Lives Landscape Literature for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £4.50, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

15 May 2014

In this deeply personal journey across our nation's most forbidding and most mysterious terrain, William Atkins takes the reader from south to north, in search of the heart of this elusive landscape. His account is both travelogue and natural history, and an exploration of moorland's uniquely captivating position in our literature, history and psyche.

Atkins may be a solitary wanderer across these vast expanses, but his journey is full of encounters, busy with the voices of the moors, past and present: murderers and monks, smugglers and priests, gamekeepers and ramblers, miners and poets, developers and environmentalists. As he travels, he shows us that the fierce landscapes we associate with Wuthering Heights and The Hound of the Baskervilles are far from being untouched wildernesses. Daunting and defiant, the moors echo with tales of a country and the people who live in it - a mighty, age-old landscape standing steadfast against the passage of time.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Between 20-26 October 2014, spend £10 in a single order on item(s) dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive a £2 promotional code to spend in the Amazon Appstore. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

The Moor: Lives Landscape Literature + Meadowland: the private life of an English field
Price For Both: £25.68

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber (15 May 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0571290043
  • ISBN-13: 978-0571290048
  • Product Dimensions: 23.6 x 15.8 x 3.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 23,480 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

A remarkable book. (John Carey Sunday Times)

An ambitious mix of history, topography, literary criticism and nature writing, in the tradition of WG Sebald, Robert MacFarlane and Olivia Laing . . . One of the strengths of Atkins's book is its resistance to the obvious. (Blake Morrison Guardian Book of the Week)

'This is a wonderful, teeming book, and those stoutly poetic souls who favour moorland over lush valleys, rolling dales and even snow-capped fells will cherish it, and consider it quite the classic.' (Rachel Cooke Observer)

'A rich and nuanced read ... an exquisite piece of topographical writing; beautifully observed and evoking a powerful, poignant sense of place.' (BBC Countryfile Magazine)

Not since Tim Binding's haunting On Ilkley Moor (2001) has a writer evoked the uncanny spirit of the moors so powerfully. Vivid with incident and exquisite description. (Philip Hoare New Statesman)

(Atkins') reflections on the ecology, legends and literature are as poetic as shrewd; they fill the empty places with subtle colour, high romance and natural history. (Iain Finlayson The Times)

The Moor is deeply enjoyable, a book worth reading and re-reading, sun or shower, indoors or out. (Spectator)

In William Atkins the moors have found their voice. Beautifully and darkly, with great learning and exquisite observation, the odd wet backbone of England from Cornwall to the Borders is made new. Never have these apparently empty places been revealed as so operative on our national psyche. His is a marvellously saturated book. (Tim Dee)

The non-fiction book of the year: an astonishing, beautiful and remarkable work of muddy brilliance. (Stuart Evers)

This is a book that is like the most perfect kind of walk. William Atkins takes us on a tour through the moorland scenery of Britain, and reveals it to be both stranger and more familiar than I had ever imagined it to be. He is a guide as familiar with nineteenth-century eccentrics as he is with the breeding habits of grouse, and as comfortable with poachers as with poets. Beautiful and memorable. (Tom Holland)

A visceral and joyous account ... perhaps Atkins' real strength beyond his impeccable writing, is his personalisation of the moors. He digs deep into the peat to unearth lesser known stories of lives lead in, on or around the moorlands ... [The moors] are harsh and wet and unforgiving and for that reason occupy a special corner of the human imagination. Atkins serves them well and might just have written a comprehensively researched and poetically-rendered future classic. (Ben Myers Caught by the River)

Exquisite, visceral, and perpetually surprising ... An extraordinary new portrait of these mythic blasted heaths. (Philip Hoare)

Book Description

The story of the moors - from Bodmin Moor, Dartmoor and Exmoor in the southwest up to the Scottish border, via Yorkshire and Northumberland - and how they have shaped our people, culture and industry.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful world of peat 1 Jun 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Ex-fiction editor William Atkins' 'The Moor' is a bid to join the slowly burgeoning list of writers, headed by Robert McFarlane (and the matchless Patrick Keillor in the world of film), whose interests lie in the margins of the British landscape; edgelands, holloways, the - to use a phrase applied to certain moorlands - 'Less Favoured Areas'.
Atkins' fascination with a small stretch of moor close to his childhood home in Bishop's Waltham opens the book, which then takes a south-to-north tour round these moody, unstable and uniquely British landscapes. In each section, the narrative cuts frequently between the lives of individuals, both past and present, who have struggled to make a living (and/or stay sane) in these boggy, mostly barren spaces, the literary writers – both well and lesser known – whose imaginations have responded to their emptiness (RD Blackmore, Henry Williamson, Ted Hughes, WH Auden, the Bronte Sisters, amongst others) and Atkins' own commentary, as he tramps - 'landlopes' - across the endless heaths and bogs, these 'blacklands', scoffing junk food and trying to inveigle himself with the locals. The book is eloquently written, well researched and highly informative. There are illuminating encounters with gamekeepers and landowners, farmers, birders, poets. Its only problem is that the descriptions of landscape inevitably become repetitious; moorland to look at has a very British mundanity to it (even if the weather there is capricious, even duplicitous): you certainly won't read another book in which the words 'peat' and 'sphagnum' are repeated quite as regularly; the manuscript could easily have been cut by 25 pages. But as a paean to the ambiguous attractions of the imperious spaces that sit damply and darkly in the British psyche, ‘The Moor’ is well worth exploring.
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting work on moorlands 13 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
As someone who has been walking moors since I was a toddler (and I am now well on the way to the opposite end of life) a book on moorland was a must read. I can happily say that I enjoyed this book ranging widely over subject matter and areas. I've walked on all the areas mentioned over the years and for some areas I've visited rarely I learnt quite a bit; much less so with areas I'm fairly well acquainted with. The main problem I have with it is while I love rambling over moorland so does this book. The choice of subject matter for each moorland area is very personal and at times obviously important - the Abbot's Way on Dartmoor, Jamaica Inn on Bodmin Moor and Ian Brady on Saddleworth Moor are examples. However there were times when I felt that the original subject had become lost in a diversion only to suddenly reappear unexpectedly. The space given over tor some of the moorland areas is rather limited and I felt a little frustrated at times that there was insufficient about a subject I'd become interested in and more than I wanted on another subject.

Any lover of moorland will be very happy to have this on their bookshelves even if it is rather idiosyncratic in its approach. Covering industrial use, flora and fauna, social history, the environment, literature to name but a few of the subjects mainly for nine moorlands in England is bound to be a challenge but I would recommend it to those with an interest in the wonderful environment we know as "moorland". Probably more 7/10 for me.

Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
I loved this book! Absolute delight and more than enough information to last a lifetime.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book 15 July 2014
By JP
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Fantastic book and arrived very fast. Thank you
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback