The Modfather: My Life with Paul Weller and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £1.80 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Modfather: My Life wi... has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Modfather: My Life with Paul Weller Paperback – 5 Jul 2007


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.19
£4.19 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

The Modfather: My Life with Paul Weller + Paul Weller - The Changing Man + Thick as Thieves: Personal Situations with The Jam
Price For All Three: £25.07

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (5 July 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099476592
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099476597
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 26,842 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"A great concept and an interesting read ... and I'm flattered!" -- Paul Weller "This is a wonderful account of an adolescence and an obsession. It is extraordinarily frank, often painful, frequently very moving, and, above all, consistently hilarious." -- David Nobbs "A charming book packed with musical nostalgia, embarrassing misadventure and formative drinking experiences. Fans of Andrew Collins and Nick Hornby will approve" Q "The Modfather fizzes with nail-biting obsession, heartbreak and ear ticklingly funny adolescent misunderstandings" MOJO

Book Description

In the bestselling tradition of Where Did it All Go Right by Andrew Collins

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Reader on 12 Sep 2006
Format: Paperback
I chose this book, purely and simply cos I loved the cover!! What a choice.....it's great.

As a teenager I was only vaguely aware of Paul Weller, and The Jam........and now I feel cheated !!!

This author has made me see all the things I missed. He writes about his own life, his favourite band The Jam, and his absolute love for Paul Weller, and you know what ? He doesn't care who knows!

The story takes us through happy times, funny times and absolute heartbreak.This is one fabulous book. Not only have I discovered a fab writer,but I have also rediscovered Paul Weller and The Jam.I now own all The Jam and Paul Weller back catalogue. Well done David Lines. Thankyou.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Mr. G. Thompson on 3 Aug 2006
Format: Paperback
Once I started to read this book, that was it, I couldn't put it down. It's written in a lovely chatty style, and,like the author thought Paul Weller was talking directly to him, I felt like David Lines was sharing his teenage thoughts and experiences with only me.

He writes of his love for The Jam, and how they helped him find direction in his life, at a time when it was turned upside down, and how Paul Weller seemed to guide him.

He shares with us how he coped with what life decided to throw at him, and his family, when he was so young.

When the writer describes school life, fashion, music and how he felt at the time, it all seems like yesterday.I laughed with him and cried with him.An excellent book, I love it! Can't wait for more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
David Lines found a new friend with Paul Weller and I've found a new friend in David Lines!

First up: this isn't a book directly about Paul Weller and The Jam - it's about a young man's growing up and the affect PW's music and style had on him. So, if you're after a strictly biographical account, this book probably isn't for you. However, if you're after something heart-warming, funny, moving and, for many of us, a trip down Memory Lane then go ahead and click that buy-it button.

Each chapter was like sitting on a barstool and listening to David Lines tell you a bit about his growing up. There was one part where I was crying like a baby and others where I laughed out loud - point in case: the incident after he found a doll on the disused railway tracks on his way home from school!!

The Jam and in particular Paul Weller were a huge influence on David Lines' life and if, like me, that rings true with you it will make this read all the better for you. But essentially, this is an autobiography from a well-written author who perhaps didn't realise that there were other big influences in his life - much closer to home.

Enjoy.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 5 Feb 2006
Format: Paperback
This book is a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon or two reading. It's great on Mod clothing and the PW link is also a nice touch. The only thing was I spent a lot of time thinking of my own PW tracks as the story progressed and playing them on the stereo, so be prepared to re-live those PW Gigs. I actually found the writer - David Lines - less interesting than his Dad, so when the ending is revealed it actually made me feel quite moved. In some ways I'd like a prequel now detailing more about his father's life and fifties and sixties music. The one big disappointment for me personally is - I cannot believe anyone can write a book with a PW connection and NOT mention anywhere 'My Ever Changing Moods'. One of the truly great PW songs and no mention - amazing! Still we'll all have differing views on the tracks David Lines has chosen, maybe he could do a track-by-track guide to Weller music like John Reed's pocket guide?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Mr. M. Broad on 21 April 2006
Format: Paperback
Books like these are written by fans and therefore read by fans who will pick holes(such as me!!)The book is generally good and Lines' slavish devotion to everything Weller is admirable.Boating blazers,bowling shoes and button downs,yes but eating garden snails with garlic in homage to the Style Council is displaying levels beyond the call of duty for most fans!In fact devotion to the Style Council should be applauded anyway as Weller tested most of his hardcore following a little too much with the"Council". The book is especially relevant to me in as much that Lines' and I are the same age(within a month) which is where things go wrong towards the end when he appears to get 1981 and 1982 mixed up(the split in '82 and the 81 tour seem to have been mixed together).I am sure I didn't take my O levels at the tender age of 14!The mixing of the years seems to have been done to aid a story line which is a shame as the affect the Jam split had on most fans was pretty devastating without having to use a bit of artistic license.However that aside the book is pretty good and very funny and sad at various points although a little more of Lines' family wouldn't have gone amiss.Some things are alluded to but not elaborated on which is a shame.Leaves you wanting a bit more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Simone Maurier. on 23 Mar 2006
Format: Paperback
Loved it. Absolutely loved it. It's like the Adrian Mole of mod and the end's very moving. It's very visual and I'd like to see it on the tele. More please!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By macdegen on 25 Feb 2007
Format: Paperback
This follows the Nick Hornby model in that Lines follows Weller in parallel with his life instead of Arsenal.In fact it reminded me of another book where Hornby was aped, Robert Banks "Irrational hatred of Luton" where the writing was just as poor and the anecdotes just as boring ( as for the scene in the bedroom, it was so contrived as to not possibly be true ). It must give hope to aspiring writers that as long as stuff like this can get published surely anyone has a chance of having their tedious,unfunny and unremarkable memoirs put into print.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback