Start reading The Modern World (GOLLANCZ S.F.) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Modern World (GOLLANCZ S.F.) [Kindle Edition]

Steph Swainston
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £5.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
This price was set by the publisher
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £5.49  
Hardcover --  
Paperback --  
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

The third of the Castle novels from new fantasy sensation Steph Swainston



THE MODERN WORLD will take the reader ever deeper into a world of beauty and terror. A world led by an immortal emperor and the circle; his 50 immortal helpers. It is a world with an absentee god, a world that has been fighting a war against giant insects. A world like no other.



There will be more insights into Jant, the emperors vain winged messenger, and the shift, the surreal other life Jant enters when he overdoses on his drug of choice and where he meets the dead in a land that defies logic.



This is a fantasy series like no other - a literary fantasy with the verve and originality to stand alongside the best of Mervyn Peake, M. John Harrison and China Mieville.


Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

"Visceral and intense action scenes...The Modern World is vivid and fun, full of colourful and flawed characters." DEATHRAY The Modern World is another glimpse into a fantasy world so agrresive it could knock seven shades of Hell out of most entries in the genre. We can't recommend it highly enough." -- Jayne Nelson SFX "Swainston is allowing us to find out a lot more about the other Immortals and their history, which is probably the most interesting part of the story." STARBURST "Entertaining and ingenious." --Roz Kaveney TIME OUT

"Visceral and intense action scenes....The Modern World is vivid and fun, full of colourful and flawed characters." (DEATHRAY )<br /><br />The Modern World is another glimpse into a fantasy world so agrresive it could knock seven shades of Hell out of most entries in the genre. We can't recommend it highly enough." (Jayne Nelson SFX )<br /><br />"Swainston is allowing us to find out a lot more about the other Immortals and their history, which is probably the most interesting part of the story." (STARBURST )<br /><br />"Entertaining and ingenious." (Roz Kaveney TIME OUT ) --Time Out

Jayne Nelson, SFX

The Modern World is another glimpse into a fantasy world so agrresive it could knock seven shades of Hell out of most entries in the genre. We can't recommend it highly enough."

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1364 KB
  • Print Length: 332 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (23 Dec. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004H4XB10
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #478,082 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By S. Bentley VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The Modern World is the third of the Castle stories and as such would be a bad place for a new reader to start. There is much reliance on readers being familiar with the Shift, the Vermiform and the Circle, and though I would never discourage anyone from starting where ever they liked in the sequence, I think the book is more satisfying when taken as the culmination of the story begun in The Year of Our War.

For newcomers, Steph Swainston's work will appeal to fans of Mervyn Peake, M. John Harrison, Michael Moorcock's Dancers at the End of Time and China Mievelle, with its fantasy world given immediacy by all too human characters and a shot of the new weird, through alternate realities entered through drug use, and an implacable insect enemy seemingly borrowed from Robert Heinlein.

In this story we begin with Jant being sent to retrieve Saker's daughter Cyan, who has run away from home to get up to unsavoury acts as teenagers whose fathers are centuries old immortal archers are wont to do. We are immediately reacquainted with Jant's bad past, his self-deception and his weakness but also his sense of humour and the humanity that his faults give him. He thinks he sees far from his lofty vantage point, up in the air on those wings of his, but in many ways he's as deluded as anyone else. But once Cyan is brought back to the fold, the story really stops being about Jant and becomes more about the threat of the insects and the fate of Lightning.

In this book, the threat of the insects becomes the greatest it has ever been. Their behaviour shifts, and a mistake by one of the Circle of Immortals, an act of pride, threatens to allow the Fourlands to finally be overrun.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same good stuff 27 July 2008
Format:Hardcover
Apart from a little too much of the "Insect battles" (and in fact the words Insect and mandibles) this is again another story about yes- more Insects. A little more variation would have been nice, although there was nice twist on the insect plot.

The narration of Jant was again quirky and blunt, punctured with foul language mainly tastefully used. A little less sexually exciting though with no real love plot of any kind, and very lacking in Tern. A couple of chapters when the narration flicked to Lightning were interesting but didn't really work in a one person narrative.

Once the story gets going (takes a while) it's good, and it has some good twists and develops a few characters. A brief trip into the shift, and a tiny bit on drugs, but this is mainly focussing on the word which they live in, and where the immortality comes from. So if you're looking for another sexy/drugs and alcohol fantasy it's not really in that style, but I think we're still looking at a couple more books to come!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, UK buyers beware... 7 Nov. 2007
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
'The Modern World' and 'Dangerous Offspring' are the same book, different (better) cover on 'The modern world'. As I found to my cost as I have both of them

That said, this will appeal to those who liked the earlier books and those that didn't are unlikely to find anything in this instalment to change their minds. The writing is as elliptical as ever, with some passages seeming to have no immediate relevance (Lightning relating family trees for two pages springs to mind), but they do make a point and are best not skipped.

The only major change in this book is that Steph. makes a concession to new readers with almost a whole page (shock) of back story, so start with 'The year of our war', or you really won't have much of a clue about what's going on.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic literature for the 21st Century 18 Sept. 2007
By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
The third and possibly not last part of Steph's epic Castle series (Well its called a trilogy but I've heard that one before and theres so much left to get wrapped up.) As we have come to expect from her work we get a tale that really does throw the reader to the lions from page one and lets face it, those who've read her work before really don't; object to this type of treatment. Fights to the death, sieges, multiple plots, what more does a reader want, this really is the new generation of Fantasy although if you haven't read the first two novels you really are missing out and that is where I would suggest starting if you haven't read them already.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Paperback
I picked up this book (known in America as Dangerous Offspring) because I'd heard some interesting things about Swainston as an author - people either seemed to love or loathe her - and I decided it was time I made up my own mind. At the very least, she would be an interesting read and as she is part of the `New Weird' movement - apparently - it would give me a better idea of exactly constitutes the New Weird...

Written in first person viewpoint, it gives a slice of the adventures of Jant, a flying immortal messenger. Jant's role is vital as the Empire is engulfed in a stalemated war with an aggressive insect race. The gripping and disturbing Prologue is a flashback when Jant was involved in an ambush many years earlier. If action scenes in grisly detail tick your boxes, then this book is certainly worth consideration. However, it's so much more than that.

If I understand it correctly, the New Weird movement is trying to break away from fantasy worlds stuck in Tolkein-like landscapes, where people move around on horseback and battle elves, dwarves and suchlike. They are supposed to include aspects of our modern existence, like drug-taking, fairly explicit sex with characters not classically heroic, but far more nuanced. Hm. Ok. Somewhere between classical and urban fantasy, then... Why couldn't they say that? In fairness to Swainston, I've read her protests about sub-dividing the genre up too much and it seems that she regards herself as a straightforward fantasy writer.

What is undeniable is that she is an outstanding writer. I didn't start this book with joy in my heart. Being the shallow sort, I'm unduly influenced by book covers - and the UK cover of this one has to qualify as one of the dreariest offerings, ever.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category