Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 1999
In this superb book, Vasili Mitrokhin and Christopher Andrew have written the definitive account of the Cold War. With the help of the KGB files exfiltrated by Mitrokihn, the authors show how the Soviet regime's paranoia over Western influences drove it to extaordinary lengths to safeguard its empire.
Although the revelations about Melita Norwood have made all the headlines, there is much else here to commend this book to the reader of modern history. My favourite piece concerned the influence of Pope John Paul II on the downfall of the Polish communist regime, although you could take your pick from the October Revolution, the Great Terror, or the demise of the Soviet Union in the late eighties; this book spans the entire seven decades of the Soviet behemoth.
Although this book is a heavy read (it is over seven hundred pages long), the patient reader will be rewarded with perspectives on the Cold War that no other book can offer. Thanks to the Mitrokhin archive, we can not only understand why the Soviet regime collapsed, but what preserved it for seventy years.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
I thought this book was a most interesting insight into the ways of the KGB. The bravery of Mitrokhin to bring all of these revelations to light must be admired.
Having close relation to someone who lived in the latter part of Soviet times, Mitrokhin's archive even manages to surprise those who were living it day to day.
I enjoyed reading this book from start to finish, but sometimes the level of information given at any one time was too congested, the book jumped from time to time leaving me confused as to which time was being mentioned, but it didn't hinder my enjoyment too much.
My other criticism of this title is that there is an intended second volume from what I can grasp, I feel that as a chronological history of the whole KGB era was presented the introduction of a second volume is largely unnecessary. Maybe a better structure of this volume would have sufficed.
All in all on sheer content I give this book four stars. I really recommend it as criticisms aside, there is a certain "shock value" when you realise that this is fact and not fiction. One of the most interesting, and perhaps worrying, parts deals with the "Centre's" pre-occupations of USA nuclear first strikes both in the 60's and 80's, that was enough to realise that it really is a good job what happened has happened.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I used to work as a journalist writing on East-West politics during the days of the Cold War.This book is a marvellous reference volume. i had a copy, lent it to someone, cannot not remember who, so I have purchased another from you as a replacement. To anyone interested in espionage, it is highly authoritative and great to dip in and out of.....for example I wanted to know about the death of Trotsky in Mexico as there was a book being read on Radio 4 Book of the week. This book filled in all the background for me
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Together with the second volume, a good overview for anyone interested in the subject, even if you are of the opinion that the Mitrokhin archive is the biggest red herring ever swallowed by western intelligence agencies. These books are certainly not a critical study of the Archive, Christopher Andrew taking Mitrokhin at face value.
The Archive is either a very complete account of Soviet foreign intelligence operations which shows the KGB to have been rather ineffectual after the already known successes of the 40's and 50's, or a very effective disinformation operation which protected long range KGB operations in the turbulent years when the Soviet Union collapsed and the KGB had to change its coat. Enjoy with a healthy dose of skepticism.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
It's very well written and interesting read about KGB. It's very interesting to read.

The style of the book is very good. The author of the book did very deep research on KGB activities.

It's fascinating to read!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Very good for its discussion of the documentary proof for how Russia secretly supplied weapons to the IRA to kill British soldiers in Northern Ireland. This "infiltration tactic" is similar to Hitler's use of Fifth Columnists in Norway prior to his invasion of 1940. Diabolical, but the facts about how Russia "fought" the Cold War by exploiting guillible nationalistic terrorists and simpletons needs to be widely understood and acknowledged today.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2003
This perhaps is one of the most detailed and comprehensive books ever written on the activities of the KGB around the world during the Cold War. It requires some knowledge of modern history and an interest in the world of government intelligence services. The fact that it is based on the information collected over many years by the KGB's veteran archivist from the KGB archives gives it extra authority. However, the book's blatant bias in favour of British MI6 prevents it from being top grade material. While it is undoubtful that Western liberal democracy is by far morally superior and legitimate form of government than socialist authoritarianism, it is important to remember that espionage is a very dirty business irrespective of the government it is conducted by. 'The Mirtokhin Archive' fails to acknowledge that ultimately the KGB was more successful than MI6 had ever been. The KGB's enormous successes in infiltrating the highest levels of MI6 are discredited by a combination of ideological arguments and apparent absurdity of Soviet decision-making in foreign affairs, while the most minor successes of British MI6 are made into major victories over the KGB. This is exactly what the British government wants the public to believe. 'The Mitrokhin Archive' is ultimately great material (of Vasili Mitrokhin) spoiled by MI6's self-praising political spin (by Christopher Andrew).
0Comment32 of 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2007
The Mitrokhin Archive is an account of intelligence operations conducted by the KGB in successful attempts to infiltrate the British MI6. The volume itself is a proof of how much information Mitrokhin managed to 'keep alive' and how much more he most probably still possesses.

At times complex in terms of terminology and writing style, this book provides the best means of looking at the "vie quotidien" of the much self-imposing Soviet intelligence service. Its long, invisible hand stretched both inside and outside the Soviet borders in such miniscule detail. Thanks to Mitrokhin, former dissidents and Soviet citizens can now relax knowing that their fears and sometimes paranoic thoughts were justified and real. However, what astonishes the most is how devoted the British 'recruits' were in their collaboration with the KGB.

However, in the light of Litvinenko's death, one question remains unanswered. For how long the imabalance of power brokering will be inflicting upon the East-West relations, causing prolonged damage to regional integration and peaceful co-existence. Both this volume and later additional editions fail to put recommendations on how a balanced relationship could be built. It remains pessimistic in all its Soviet glitter.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
An in-depth, comperhensive account of the KGB over 80 years. Can be heavy going, but provides an excellent account of "the other side" before, during, and after the cold war.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I agree with everything all other reviewers of this book say. However, at the end of the day, the thing that stands out in my mind is what did all that effort by all those thousands upon thousands of agents of the NKVD/OGPU/KGB really achieve?? Nothing as far as I can see. It did not contribute to the victory of Communism. All that spying, all that betrayal. One cannot but conclude that all those people were duped. It causes me a great deal of mirth when I read about the reasons of all those very intelligent men scurrying around collecting what they thought would be material that would bring down the capitalist world. It all reads like a boy scouts annual. When the Soviet Union collapsed all those 'agents' must have turned in their graves!!
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse