Start reading The Marks of Cain on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device-with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones and tablets.
The Marks of Cain
 
 

The Marks of Cain [Kindle Edition]

Tom Knox
3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)

Print List Price: 6.99
Kindle Price: 2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: 4.00 (57%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 2.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback 5.03  
Kid's and Teen books from £0.99 on Kindle
Browse our selection of top children's and teen title in our one week sale, with top titles from only £0.99.Browse the sale here

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

Praise for The Genesis Secret:

‘Steeped in both blood and history and keeps up a scorching pace from start to finish’ Northern Echo

Product Description

A gripping high-concept thriller from the author of The Genesis Secret, perfect for fans of Dan Brown and Sam Bourne.

In America a young man inherits a million dollars, from a grandfather he thought was poor. Meanwhile, across Europe old men and women are being killed, in the most barbaric and elaborate of ways. And a brilliant scientist has disappeared from his laboratory in London, taking his extraordinary experiments with him.

Tying these strange events together is an ancient Biblical curse, a medieval French tribe of pariahs, and a momentous and terrible revelation: something that will alter the world forever. One couple is intent on discovering this darkest of secrets, others will kill, and kill again, to stop them.

Shifting from the forgotten churches of the Pyrenees, to the mysterious castles of the SS, to the arid and frightening wastes of Namibia, Tom Knox weaves together astonishing truths from ancient scripture and contemporary science to create an unputdownable thriller.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 544 KB
  • Print Length: 451 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: B00700YLX0
  • Publisher: Harper (15 April 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S. r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003DX0IC6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #63,884 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Tom Knox is the pseudonym of the author Sean Thomas. Born in England, he has travelled the world writing for many different newspapers and magazines, including The Times, the Guardian, and the Daily Mail. His first thriller was translated into twenty-two languages; he also writes on art, politics, and ancient history. He lives in London.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed 12 Sep 2010
Format:Paperback
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed The Genesis Secret, I was looking forward to this book. It has some good sections but the believability of it all became a bit farcical and there were a few plot errors along the way.

Reasonable but not a patch on the Genesis Secret.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good storyline wasted 16 Jun 2013
Format:Paperback
I had purchased a couple of paperback copies of this author's books cheaply from Amazon to take away as holiday reading and I am glad that I did not pay the full retail price.

The storyline was good, the historical background well researched and the fictional elements well linked thoughtout for the most part but was wasted because of the sub-standard writing in places and some of the glaring errors in reality which could easily have been avoided but gave the story a rather amateur feel.

I really wanted to like this book and persevered to the end because the theory behind the story was basically very good and could have been better developed into a really enthralling tale, but this offering was just not up to scratch.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shades of dan brown 21 April 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fascinating and gripping race through the Basque Country.I didn't know anything about the Cagots before reading the book and was interested immediately in this unique race of people.Exploring the genetics made it very topical.I found the characters interesting and fairly believable,although Miguel was rather extreme!At times I found it very violent and scary.But altogether an exciting read in a unique setting.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had potential but became a bit dull 21 April 2011
Format:Paperback
Some interesting ideas but became sort of sluggish after a while and the characters were not very believable or engaging. Decided I didn't care what happened to any of them and didn't bother finishing it. Left it on a train though so hopefully someone else will pick it up and enjoy it as other reviewers seem to have done.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Famous Five 22 Jun 2011
Format:Paperback
A plot pretty much akin to an Enid Blyton book. I thought that Genesis Secret was bad enough but Mr Knox has gone over the top with this one. Do all his books involve references to inter-species mating? A bit worrying really. Would love to see the helicopter that can fly from Namibia to Amsterdam and would be very interested to discover when Gaelic Psalm singing (or Gaelic language for that matter)started in Foula !!
A juvenile read at best.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read 3 May 2010
By Zebedee
Format:Paperback
I have never read this author before but really enjoyed this book. The book was written from two perspectives and that gave it extra depth. Some unexpected twists and turns right up to the end. Would definitely read another of this author's books.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read 20 Oct 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
a good read, a gift for a friend who is reading a lot of Tom Knox at the moment. thanks.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read 19 Jun 2013
Format:Hardcover
Tom Knox has called upon biblical texts, Nazi experiments to prove Arayan superiority, the Inquisition, closed societies in Spain, France, and Africa, plus Judaism and genetics, to provide fodder for this gripping story.

Excellent read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst novel I have ever picked up!
Over the years I have read and enjoyed hundreds of fictional books, always mindful (and respectful) of the fact that the author is published and has a story to tell. Read more
Published 15 months ago by Paganmaster
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but dull...
The story moves quite slowly and the characters are uninteresting. Story is okay, but I keep putting the book down out of boredom.
Published 16 months ago by Metters
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional
One of the most fascinating stories I have read for years. Based on many facts, real places and knitted together for an enthralling read. Brilliant.
Published 17 months ago by poppasogers
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
This book set of 2 was a very good read if you enjoy
history and back in times
gripping at bits hard to put down
Give it a try for yourself
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by Sandy Mc.
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Drivel!
To start off, I gave this review a 1 as I couldn't give it a 0.

The worst book I've read in what seems like eons. Read more
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by D. A. Pearson
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, thought-provoking thriller.
The Marks of Cain captures the reader immediately with the excitement of the chase when two strangers from London David Martinez, a lawyer, and Simon Quinn, a journalist, find... Read more
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by Huntress Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is so bad, I actually don't want to waste time writing about...
So here's just a brief summary of what you are about to find within:

- incoherent plot
- poorly developed characters
- violence, rape & murder
-... Read more
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by Coke1984
1.0 out of 5 stars THE MARKS OF CAIN TOM KNOX
AWFUL,,,i was realy looking forward to reading this book but sadly , to much foul langage , the plot weak
Published on 29 July 2011 by Karen Soffe
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
that the snake in Eden had intercourse with Eve, and that Cain was the progeny from this bestial copulation. &quote;
Highlighted by 3 Kindle users

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xae5ee750)