FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 5 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Manchurian Candidate has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Fifth_Avenue
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Unread copy in good condition. There is a tear to the cover and some shelf wear. Fast, daily dispatch 2-4 days for delivery within UK. International orders may take up to 3-4 weeks. January2016
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Manchurian Candidate Paperback – 15 Aug 2013

4.2 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£3.79 £3.66
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 5 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Manchurian Candidate
  • +
  • Marathon Man (Bloomsbury Film Classics)
Total price: £21.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Orion (15 Aug. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409147800
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409147800
  • Product Dimensions: 11.2 x 2.4 x 17.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 249,191 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

This masterpiece is even more trenchant these days than when it was first written (CATHOLIC HERALD)

Book Description

Perfect for fans of HOMELAND, this is the classic novel of espionage and intrigue.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Well written very enjoyable book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thrilling book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Having seen the film (the original with Frank Sinatra and Laurence Harvey) three times I thought it was about time I read the book. I found the book very wordy and not at all an easy read. I skimmed quite a bit of it just to get through it.
Comment 1 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x95d92e70) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x95da8258) out of 5 stars A Fascinating Cold War Story 11 Mar. 2014
By Frank Hickey - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This book fascinates this reader.

Condon's imagination show in every page.

This is not your typical spy best-seller, written to kill a rainy afternoon.

Condon makes us think.

His plotting is superb.

He shows the flag-waving and crude Johnny Iselin.

Iselin works the media and ignorance to try for the US Presidency.

He relies on innuendo and laziness to get there.

His step-son, Raymond Shaw, is a cold and aloof anti-hero in this unusual book.

But most readers will see the genteel horror of Shaw's childhood.

We root for Shaw.

We want him to warm to others in his life.

But he cannot.

His childhood blocks him.

When Condon wrote this book, in 1959, the world knew little about child psychology,

compared to now.

Condon shows us much of the pain.

At the same time, he lightens the book by showing Ben Marco.

Marco, on leave in New York City's summer, enjoys life

after the horror of the Korean War.

Witty and well-read, he meets bright and attractive women every day.

He explains that he is an Army officer and a gentleman by an Act of Congress.

Then he invites them back to the apartment that he shares with Shaw.

Shaw returns home every day to find two or three women playing jazz records, drinking and dancing

and talking with Marco.

These new friends help Shaw out of his shell.

This amazes Shaw.

Marco shrugs it off.

The daily round bores most people, Marco says.

Marco offers these women something new and exciting, a chance friendship that may grow into love.

Marco is no idealist. He has seen war and been captured by the enemy.

So, now, he wants all the happiness that life has to offer.

This is the happiest part of this book.

Condon makes us believe that it could happen.

New York and the world were more innocent in 1959.

We wonder if the daily round bores us.

Maybe we should take a chance somewhere tomorrow.

The plot to use Shaw as a Cold War weapon wraps around this same story.

It weaves in and out skillfully, In Condon's hands.

Condon makes his characters real.

They have flaws and virtues.

Nobody escapes Condon's clear eye.

The book pulls this reader along and leaves him wanting much more at the end.

----- Frank Hickey, writer of the Max Royster crime novels of Pigtown Books.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x95da82b8) out of 5 stars A Masterpiece 29 Sept. 2013
By kb - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
If you are going to write just one book in your lifetime, as I understand was the case for Richard Condon, this is the one to write. Not generally attracted by this type of genre, I couldn't put the book down. The story is very interesting, full of suspense and develops the characters very well. Reading is an experience and a pleasure as we follow Raymond Shaw through the time he is brainwashed and manipulated in a Manchu war camp. He is a "sleeper" and carries out actions like a robot and wakes up with no memory of past happenings. It makes an interesting twist of events that his overbearing mother is working on her wimpy boyfriend's political career. Murder, corruption, politics and manipulation are just some of the things you will experience with this excellent read.

Maybe you saw the more recent movie with Meryl Streep. Don't let that turn you off to the book. The movie butchers the book and the experience reading is 100 times better than the film.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x95ec2db0) out of 5 stars Five Stars 26 July 2015
By Refiloe Legoabe - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great quality
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback