Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars14
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2009
Simon Winchester has by now established quite a reputation for popular biographies and general popular humanities writing, and as "The Man Who Loved China" shows, this is well deserved. In this book, Winchester tells the riveting story of the life of Joseph Needham, the eccentric Briton who was trained as a biologist, but would become both perhaps the greatest Sinologist of the 20th Century and one of China's most stalwart defenders.

Needham came from a solid left-leaning middle class background, becoming more and more socialist during his studies at Cambridge University, although never joining the CPGB. He developed as a biochemist an early interest in China and the Chinese, and at a time when British politics was avowedly pro-Japanese, as they would remain until 1941, Needham was one of the few voices raised in China's defence. Being a true renaissance man, Needham learned Chinese in a short period from his Chinese mistress, who is next to him one of the protagonists of the book (Needham had an open marriage, being consistently liberal in sexual matters).

It was this known pro-China sentiment that led to his charge as a diplomatic representative of the King to the Nationalist Chinese, where his task was to support the scientific efforts of the Chinese in the non-Japanese occupied areas. Despite his general sympathies to the Communist Chinese cause, he set himself on this task with vigor, expending great effort to assist Chinese science and the Chinese in general with supplies, as well as making important and useful contacts with scientists and researchers in that country. He also undertook, in association with the famous Rewi Alley, various expeditions to remote parts of that vast land to do archeological and anthropological fieldwork on his own.

It was this that led to the formation of the masterpiece of science for which Needham is justly renowned: the standardwork "Science and Civilization in China", a veritable encyclopedia of Chinese scientific history in an astounding 24 volumes (most of which not published during his lifetime). By means of this work, Needham absolutely and irrefutably established the falsity of Eurocentric theories considering the superiority of Europeans in science or abstract thought, and demonstrated that China had invented or developed many concepts and applications, almost too numerous to list, far before anyone in this part of the world did.

Needham himself was later much damaged in his reputation by the slanders and calumnies heaped upon him for his steadfast support for socialism in China, which even led to him being declared non grata in the United States, and veritably shunned in the UK, to the great damaging of his career. Nonetheless he continued both his excellent scientific and political work, and when the tide turned in the 1960s he was duly elected Master of Caius College, Cambridge, a position he then used to (unsuccesfully) agitate for allowing women into the college and for relaxing the laws against homosexuality, among other things. It is not just Needham's scientific and political life, however, that cause admiration, but also the immense brilliance of his mind, which in true 'homo universalis' style he applied to every possible subject and knowledge he came across: doing research of his own on anything that interested him, from train models to English working-class history and folk-dancing. It is rare in history that we find such universally wise people, and they almost always cause great advances in the understanding of their age; Needham was one of them.

For this reason it is unfortunate that the biography is in some places flawed. Biographer Winchester misses the essential point when he describes the topic of "Science and Civilization in China" as the question why China failed to develop after 1500; in fact, as for example historical geographer James Blaut has so often tried to impress on the public consciousness, China did not fail to develop from that period at all, and developed just as fast in technological terms between 1500 and 1800 as in the 300 years before. It was on the contrary Europe that started developing much faster than anyone else, the real question that demands explaining (and which Blaut explains by the colonization of the Americas). Winchester does the Chinese and Needham both a disservice by continuing this myth. It is also annoying to me personally how Winchester tends to downplay the historical significance of Needham's socialism, which he fortunately does not ignore, but does treat rather as an example of British academic eccentricism; and as a result, he makes all sorts of conjectures about how Needham could 'obviously' never really have supported Communist China as it became, despite the fact Needham went there several times and continued supporting Mao. Winchester is free to disagree with, but not to project upon, his subject.

Despite these flaws, however, this book is a very lively, well-written and fair biography of a fascinating and heroic engagé scientist, who truly challenged Eurocentric views of history through his own research and whose exploits make him seem almost an Indiana Jones of socialism.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
Very enjoyable, light touch history - full of nice anecdotes, good grasp of the big picture. When I got the book I was a little confused that Winchester appears to have simultaneously written another book about Needham - I guess that has a more detailed treatment of his research about the history of science in China; this book is rather light on that, which is a shame. But I'm keen to read that one too now, which says something - I'd rather do that than simply start reading Needham's "book" itself, though I'd like to think I will do that eventually.

If I have a minor gripe it's in the treatment of Needham's politics. Winchester seems to regard Needham's Marxism as somewhere between naivete (the intellectual as 'useful idiot') and eccentricity - along with nudism and folk-dancing. There isn't much sense that Needham was part of a movement of left-wing scientists, who felt that their Marxism and their science were two sides of the same coin. Given that this book is mainly biographical, it seems odd that there is not a single mention of JD Bernal, for example, who wrote on Science in History, was a Marxist and a scientist, and part of Needham's circle. There is more about the stuffy gits at his college.

But this is still a very good book - I especially enjoyed the add-ons at the end, including the anecdote about the food delivery guy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2008
This is a timely biography, its publication coinciding with the 2008 Beijing Olympics and a disastrous major earthquake, which have together turned the eyes of the world's media onto the "Middle Kingdom", as the Chinese have confidently called their country for 5,000 years, believing throughout this time that it is indeed the centre of the world. It now seems that China's (and Needham's) time in the spotlight has come at last.

I remember Joseph Needham as the Master of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge University when I matriculated there as a young man in 1975, though he retired from the Mastership one year later. The Needham Research Institute at Cambridge for the study of East Asian history, science and technology preserves his name in perpetuity, while in China he is known as Li Yue-se, the name given to him by the woman who later became his second wife at the outset of his Chinese language studies "[i]n order to commingle her pupil's identity with his linguistic passion, and thus more effectively bind him to the wheel" (p. 40).

The descriptions I heard as an undergraduate of Needham as a "Marxist Catholic" [sic.] and "a great Chinese scholar" barely do justice to the man. Though I never remember having a conversation with the Great Man and was quite in awe of him, I often saw his slightly stooping figure - crowned somewhat mysteriously by a beret - walking in the old courts of the College. (He also sent me a telegram which I remember verbatim and treasure to this day: "Elected Scholarship Caius College. Congratulations Needham Master.")

Needham was - as Winchester says - a sociable man and invited us freshmen (including Alastair Campbell, later spin-doctor to Tony Blair) to meet him once in the Master's Lodge. In his address in the Hall to our group of Caius freshmen - the last he would welcome into the College - he told us in a somewhat cavalier way not to seek singlemindedly for distinction, or aim for a first class degree, but to enjoy and make the most of our time at the University and be happy about any honours which happened to come our way. (I have attempted to follow his benevolent advice!)

Simon Winchester's skilfully presented book is an overdue tribute to this great British academic-eccentric. It is a fair and impartial account, and does the subject ample justice. It is not entirely free of minor typographical errors. Nevertheless, I read the book rapidly and almost in one sitting, which is rare for me and a testament to its readability.

Noel Joseph Terence Montgomery Needham, whatever his flaws and errors of judgment may have been, deserves greater fame outside Cambridge and China. This carefully crafted must-read page-turner of a work will surely supply it, and stimulate in many readers a desire to read some of Needham's own books. (After this I want to read more by Simon Winchester too - he certainly likes to write about big literary creations and their creators!)

Ian Ruxton, editor of The Diaries of Sir Ernest Satow, British Envoy in Peking (1900-06) and The Semi-Official Letters of British Envoy Sir Ernest Satow from Japan and China (1895-1906). (It seems Needham's influence has extended to the subject matter of my research also, to a considerable degree!)
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are 2 facets of Simon Winchester's work that make him one of my favorite authors. Firstly, he brings amazing players in History forward that I very often have never heard of. Secondly, he makes reading History tremendously fascinating. The latter should be a given, how can our past be anything but fascinating? The reality is that History books can be painful to read.

Noel Joseph Terrence Montgomery Needham is the subject of Mr. Winchester's 19th work, sound familiar? Not to me. However by the end of the book I look forward to seeking out more about this man as Mr. Winchester has a knack for catalyzing a reader's interest well beyond the book he offers. Professor Needham was a astonishing man who filled his 94 years with remarkable travels, eccentric behavior and a decision so poor the reader will ask was he a fool or a knave? (Question posed by the author)

What is not in dispute is the marvelous history of China Professor Needham documented through first hand investigation over thousands of miles traveled in China (many in war time) and the decades of research that followed. The only other historian that comes to mind as being so single minded in his pursuit of a subject is Sir Martin Gilbert and his decades long work on Sir Winston Spencer Churchill.

The work is also timely as it coincides with China's re-entry as a focal point for the world. China's existence is best measured in millennia and her scientific contributions when listed are nearly as long and often pre-date conventional wisdom on who was first with a given invention. Think you know where printing was first documented, suspension bridges first built, how about the compass, blood circulation or perhaps a flame-thrower?

China's recent history is no indicator of its fantastic past and may more likely be an indicator of what is yet to come. This is another great read by a wonderful author who never disappoints.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2009
This is the title of the US version. The British version is titled Bomb, books and Compass.
Mr Winchester gave a remarkable insight into the sort of man that is Joseph Needham. I remember first hearing of him in the 60s when I was still a student but attended meetings of the Society of Anglo-Chinese Understanding (SACU).

Whilst it is true that Joseph Needham dedicated his life to working to improve understanding of the Chinese, one cannot help noting that many erudite Chinese pointed him in the right direction through gifts of books and material.

Churchill was instrumental in sending Joseph Needham to China during the Second World War. Was there another motive in that decision? After all Joseph Needham did make very important contacts with Chinese leaders that was useful after the war and when Mao had won the Civil War.

While most of the book was sympathetic, I found the chapter on Joseph's Needhams involvement in the Korean War stereotypical of standard American propaganda. One gets the impression, that Joseph Needham was being cast into the role of a naive communist sympathiser.

I am glad that the period of exile and exclusion finally ended with Joseph Needham gaining the adulation that he richly deserved.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
This is a book that should be read by all those who are fascinated by China's history, in the role of Joseph Needham in bringing it's scientific achievements to our attention and to taking us on to an intelligent understanding of the country's potential contribution to humanities progress.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
I recently listened to my first China audio-book, The Man Who Loved China, by Simon Winchester. I had heard about this book, but admit the title put me off. I wasn't aware it was written by the same author who penned The River at the Center of the World. In fact, I wasn't aware who Simon Winchester was. It turns out he's been writing since the early seventies (having begun as a travel writer) and has become very good at it, not to mention successful. He has a refined and fluid style and is apparently best-known for his The Professor and the Madman.

The subject of The Man Who Loved China is one Joseph Needham (1900-1995). Needham was many things, but first and foremost he was scientist, a biochemist at Cambridge. He was also a polyglot, a nudist, a communist, a womanizer, a chain smoker, a folk dancer, a car enthusiast (and speed freak), and a hopeless dreamer.

Needham's interest in China was born out of a relationship with one of his female students, who would become his mistress of 50 years - with his wife's grudging assent. China had been misrepresented in the West, Needham's mistress informed him, and eventually the professor decided to travel there, a sojourn that lasted four years.

As Winchester's title suggests, Needham became smitten with China and everything in it. He began to study the language and embarked on a series of cultural and scientific expeditions, recording them in his diary. It didn't take long for the Englishman to come to the conclusion that the Middle Kingdom had once been a highly advanced and scientific society, one responsible for hundreds of inventions, if not the very foundation of science. He returned to China later and began to write Science and Civilisation in China, a 17-volume endeavour chronicling these achievements. The work would go on to win great academic acclaim.

Needham's initial visit to China coincided with a rather dangerous set of circumstances: World War II, or the Second Sino-Japanese War, 1937-1945. Much of the time, Needham was stationed in Chongqing (or Chungking), the capital of Free China. Because of this, his blossoming China curiosity seems itself a curiosity. The majority of foreigners living in or visiting Chongqing, including Ernest Hemingway, reported that it was a filthy, depressing dump, full of death and disease. Raw sewage from a million inhabitants coursed into the Yangtze, the municipal water supply. Every morning, bodies had to be cleared from the streets, and hot-tempered locals made no bones about how much they disliked the foreign influx and the "downriver people" (refugees fleeing the Japanese). And this batch of unflattering descriptions says nothing of governmental venality and incompetence. British officials in Chongqing reported to London that the Nationalist government did not have "a firm grasp on the situation." Americans reporting to Washington were more blunt, stating that Chinese authorities were little better than grafters and crooks.

But none of this is mentioned in The Man Who Loved China. And none of it seemed to faze Joseph Needham - if he even noticed.

Meanwhile, the Japanese Imperial army was slaughtering whole Chinese divisions and bombing cities to smithereens. Needham might have asked himself why practically all Nationalist Army matériel was imported from the West, or why China barely had an airforce. He also might have pondered why rich Chinese were driving Japanese-made cars in between Japanese bombing raids. Faced with such unflattering facts, recorded by dozens of foreign observers, Joseph Needham retreated into the depths of imagination, conjuring a complex and idealized China, a sort of Golden Age, one that almost certainly never existed.

During one of his fact-finding expeditions, Needham discovered some "measuring instruments" in a cave sheltered from Japanese bombs. He concluded, with a childlike glee, that such instruments must have been widely disseminated, more evidence of China's scientific supremacy. We know from Needham's diaries that he made dozens of similar inferences. Someone told him the Chinese had exported a variety of chess to Europe through the Middle East, hence its origin, and Needham took it to be true. But chess originated in India. There were the usual Chinese inventions that most know about, sometimes called the "great four:" paper, moveable-type, the compass, and gunpowder, but there were dozens more. It would have been hard to fill 17 fat volumes otherwise, even if 4 volumes were given over to alchemy and 300 pages of the ceramics edition to kilns.

As someone most comfortable with science when it is written down, I have enormous respect for anyone who can construct or invent anything, and admit to still being in awe of Velcro. So, far be it from me to dismiss Science and Civilisation in China (I couldn't anyway; I haven't read it) or China's contribution to science. It seems obvious that a civilization as old and self-contained as China's would have had all kinds of thinkers: artisans, inventors, craftsmen, contractors, and so on. It wouldn't have been a civilization without them. However, it occurs to me that Needham was overreaching.

Needham became obsessed with what his biographer calls "the Needham question:" Why did China, having given the world its earliest understandings of the pure sciences, having invented printing, gunpowder, the wheelbarrow, the fishing reel, chain-pumps, the magnetic compass, and hundreds of other practical devices at a pace "unmatched by the world's other great civilizations including the Greeks" suddenly shut down in the 1500s? Why did this enormous country become isolated and xenophobic, just when modern science and industry began blosoming in the West? Needham deduced that the Chinese simply grew smug and complacent and that they forgot about their inventions, conveniently, some might say, just as Westerners began turning up on Chinese soil.

Certainly, it's impossible that an entire civilization could simply erase from memory and cease producing hundreds of its own innovations. What is more likely is that Chinese inventions remained very local, or at least were never mass produced or widely disseminated. It's also likely that sketches of inventions Needham found were just those - sketches. I used to sketch some wicked spaceships when I was a kid. They had lasers, and even eyeballs and tentacles. Not sure if anyone who found them in 2525 would attribute them to historical Maritime Canadian ingenuity, though.

And this brings us to the question: is an invention valid if it's forgotten, never catches on, or doesn't get past the design phase?

The Diamond Sutra is a much more lustrous (and concrete) example of China's lost inventions. A copy of the digest was discovered in a cave in Dunhuang in the early twentieth century and is considered by the British Library to be the "the earliest complete survival of a dated printed book," having been bound in the eighth century. That's certainly interesting, but there is no indication that printed books were in ample circulation in the centuries after that one was assembled. It was, like the "measuring instruments," discovered in a cave.

Open a book in a bookstore in China these days and you will think you are standing in the middle of a freshly painted room. They reek of chemicals and tend to be poorly put together. Content is screened by the Party and the selection is dire. Go into a bookstore in the West and see how many books you can find printed by Chinese publishing companies. Besides one or two from Hong Kong, my guess is that you couldn't find any.

In light of the present technology era, Chinese inventions seem, well, trivial. In 1978, Joseph Needham, after having had a US travel ban lifted, gave a speech in the city of Chicago. His Science and Civilisation in China had been lauded by academics worldwide, so many were eager to hear him speak. His topic? Gunpowder. The country in which he was lecturing was three years into its Viking program (sending probes to Mars) whereas Needham was talking up an accidental discovery that came about during a quest for an elixir for immortality in the ninth century.

I cannot recall being so enthralled by a book while being so put off by its subject. It's true China invented many things never properly documented or given their due in the West, but Needham has fallen into history as most Sinophiles do: as a determined embellisher. Needham may have been a scientific genius, but he was also a fool. He was used by the Communist Party in a ruse to have the world believe the Americans had used germ warfare against China (and North Korea) during the Korean War, a bogus charge China maintains.

It's hard to tell just what Simon Winchester thinks of Joseph Needham. He seems to admire him, or at least his intellect, but also seems to be aware of his excesses and overreaching. Needham certainly cut an interesting figure; he was an eccentric, and clearly Winchester chose to write about him because of that and because of all the interest lately in China. The book is not nearly critical enough of Needham, but it's a darned interesting read because Simon Winchester is a very good writer. He's so good, in fact, that I've since picked up his Korea: A Walk Through the Land of Miracles, and hope to read others.

Troy Parfitt is the author of Why China Will Never Rule the World
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
Winchester's account of Joseph Needham shows a Needham-esque fascination with intricate detail -- be it the social world of Edwardian England or the topography of western China. At the same time the author shares Needham's enthusiasm for enormous questions -- How much does the Western world owe to Eastern ingenuity? What accounts for the flaring up or dying down of a society's intellectual drive? All told, the book gives a highly thought-provoking love story. You gotta admire a guy whose passion for a Chinese woman led him to tear down walls of prejudice between civilizations.

--author of A Galaxy of Immortal Women: The Yin Side of Chinese Civilization
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Simon Winchester is the most agreeable of companions and tour guides as he plucks figures from history and relates their stories. You enjoy the company of your author and in most instances warm to his subjects and their historical, social and historical context. This is storytelling. You will not get another perspective on why communism amd socialism resonated in Cambridge in the 1930s and 1940s, you will not get any analysis on Joseph Needham's sexual politics or on Britain's imperial relations with China etc. What you will get is a fascinating story well told that will repay fully your time in reading and that will compel you to find out more (for me it was the Diamond Sutra).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
I was a little disappointed by Atlantic, but in this book Simon Winchester does what he does best, write about historic characters and events with a journalist's immediacy. I have read a potted version of Needham's great work, so his work was not unknown to me. However, I knew nothing about the man and his life, a gap which Winchester has filled. I was sorry to finish it, and read the bits at the back just to hang on. The story about the chinese restaurant delivery man was an extra treat for dessert.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)