The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£3.99
  • RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £4.00 (50%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Little Old Lady Who B... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules Paperback – 2 Jan 2014


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£3.99
£0.79 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules + The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden + The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared
Price For All Three: £14.13

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Pan; Main Market Ed. edition (2 Jan 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1447250613
  • ISBN-13: 978-1447250616
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (625 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,201 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

A quirky, offbeat delight and a heart-warming reminder that one is never too old for some mischief and adventure (Tom Winter, author of Lost & Found)

A good-natured, humorous crime caper (Independent on Sunday)

‘A shining expression of how joyous life is. It is not dangerous to grow old if you are like Märtha and the gang’ Hyllan, blogg

‘The funniest book this year!’ Magazine Familjen, Norway

‘A book which should be read by people of all ages’ Radio P4

‘A hilarious farce . . . highly entertaining with very well crafted characters’ Frettabladid newspaper, Iceland

‘It has humour, brilliant dialogue, irony and warmth. A light-hearted and enjoyable detective comedy with breath-taking events, which provide many smiles but also reflection on life’ PRO Pensionären

‘Criminally fun!’ Bonniers Bokklubb

‘Very imaginative, fun and filled with gallons of humour!’ Katarina Mazetti

From the Back Cover

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Anderson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting life-style. Along with her four oldest friends – otherwise known as the League of Pensioners – Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause an uproar with their antics: protesting against early bedtimes and plastic meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, their activities escalate and they come up with a cunning plan to break out of the care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that’s when the adventure really takes off . . . Perfect for fans of The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

80 of 83 people found the following review helpful By J Dent on 28 Dec 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a very funny read. The adventures of a 79-year-old (and her ageing companions) who refuse to sit out the rest of their lives without ambition and excitement. They are determined to make the most of their otherwise dull and depressing time in a care home, and plot to rob a bank - the results are hilarious, occasionally touching, and scarily believable! But all in all, a very good and easy to read book that I thoroughly enjoyed.

I've read a few comedy novels that involve non conforming pensioners, and this is right up there with the best. Another I would also highly recommend is I'm Dreaming of a Wilde Summer (A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy) which had me stitches.

I will look out for other Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg books!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Bantam Dave TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 14 Feb 2014
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I love Amazon and they are always the first place I look whenever I am planning a purchase but I suspect that they have dropped a clanger this time and sent me the wrong book. The book I ordered was described on their website as being incredibly quirky, humorous and warm-hearted. Unfortunately, the book they send me was not quirky but bizarre, lame rather than humorous and more empty headed than warm-hearted. I jest, but if ever a book proved the statement “there’s no accounting for taste” to be spot-on, it is this one. At the time of writing this review it has an average rating of over four stars, with many reviewers stating how enjoyable and funny it is but I just don’t see it like that myself. To be honest, The Little Old Lady That Broke all the Rules bored me to tears and I can’t think of anything about it that I liked.

The story is extremely tame, almost to the point of childishness. I realise that most comic novels have a certain degree of infeasibility but the plot of this book strains credibility WAY too far. It is possible that the author’s original Swedish version is a true comic classic and that the English translation as deprived it of its style and humour; if that is so I suggest that the publishers have it re-translated. Maybe that version will be better. The characters, written to be feisty but likeable pensioners, are more shove-able that lovable, more like cartoon characters than proper, fleshed out people. I didn't like any one of them and spent most of the book hoping that they would get arrested and that the subsequent trial would sentence them all to death. Lastly, this is supposed to be a funny book; you could have fooled me - I've had more fun getting a boil lanced.

You will probably have gathered by now that I didn't like this book. Sorry, but it just didn't float my boat.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
55 of 58 people found the following review helpful By geekreader on 29 Dec 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I downloaded this book because it was 99p on Kindle - and it is worth every penny! You get plenty of page for your money and plenty of laughs too!

I am a young male and despite the age difference I enjoyed reading 100 year old man. This book doesn't have such an epic or historical setting as 100 year old man but I liked the Stockholm setting. This book reminded me more of something like Dad's Army as the story revolves around 5 elderly friends who get up to all sorts of capers.The friendships in this book are really strong and it was nice to see older people standing up for themselves and the things they believe in. The ending was interesting and made me wonder if there was a sequel in store?

Overall I thorough recommend this book, its great value entertainment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By M. Dowden HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 3 Jan 2014
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
If you are looking for something slightly different then you have come across the right book here. Although written by a Swedish author this is a good old crime caper, which in many ways made me think of some of the films that this country has put out in the past by such studios as Ealing.

Martha is seventy-nine years old and the regime in the old people's home where she resides seems to be getting worse and worse, what with the new management trying to cut corners to keep their overheads down, and maximise profits. As a member of the choir group who all live in the home Martha manages to persuade them to join her in some criminal activities. Thus we have five pensioners, the youngest being seventy-five, out to try crime for the first time in their lives.

Crime isn't easy, especially if you have never tried it before, as these five pensioners are about to find out. Things can go wrong with the best made plans, but when you are new and your plans are a bit rudimentary to say the least, you just know there will be hiccoughs along the way. With plans to make a profit and get sent to prison the pensioners are convinced their lives will be the better. But is life behind bars that great?

As the group of five seem to enjoy themselves so much can their crime spree be stopped? And can they make a difference to other pensioners' lives, as well as their own? With pensioners and their life experiences can they outsmart other criminals, and the police?

As we see in this country, the older people are having to work longer, the workforce doesn't have enough younger people coming into it, so we have to look abroad, but yet older people are still being ignored by companies and Government.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback