Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £3.00 (38%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The The List: A Year of Adventures in Bed Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 158 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product Description

Review

'Scotland's answer to Bridget Jones's Diary' Daily Record. (Daily Record)

'A fearless approach to sex and romance' List Magazine. (List Magazine)

'Raunchy and hilarious ... you'll be laughing all the way to the beach!' Scottish Sun. (Scottish Sun)

'Very very naughty and lots of fun - it's a cracker of a debut' Sun. (Sun)

'A very naughty but nice read that will have you gasping one minute and laughing out loud the next' Abby Clements, author of Vivien's Heavenly Ice Cream Shop. (Abby Clements)

'Hilariously funny, and very sexy (you may blush!), it's a fantastic feel-good read' No. 1 Magazine. (No 1 Magazine)

'An absolutely hysterical main character that you can relate to and page after page of pant-wettingly hilarious scenes ... Without a doubt this is the best and funniest book I have read so far this year. I can't wait to see what Joanna Bolouri does next!' Novelicious. (Novelicious)

'Sexy, smart and scandalous, I'd recommend to anyone with a taste for adventure' Victoria Fox, author of Temptation Island. (Victoria Fox)

Book Description

A side-splitting romantic comedy perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Tracy Bloom and Chrissie Manby.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1014 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (5 Dec. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00G6EBW24
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 158 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #18,255 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Scotsman, The Skinny, the Scottish Sun, the Huffington Post and HecklerSpray. Her debut novel The List has already been sold for translation in 13 countries.

She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Agi TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 10 April 2014
Format: Paperback
I have spotted The List on NetGalley already in November or December last year and my gut feeling told me it is going to be a great read. But because I like my great reads to be in paperback I didn't request it then and waited for my physical copy to arrive. And well, let me tell you, it was absolutely worth the wait and my gut feeling didn't disappoint me. It was BLOODY BRILLIANT read, for sure one of my must - reads in 2014.

The List is about Phoebe who, I'm not afraid to tell, is one of the best characters ever. She is celebrating a New Year and has not totally recovered from a break - up with her boyfriend Alex. She decides to write a New - Year Resolutions List but doesn't want it to be abandoned two days later, so her List is going to be a little different this time. With a help of her friend Lucy she creates a List of 10 Things that she wants to try in the bedroom department . It is a very daring List and Phoebe is going to complete it, no matter what.
There are really different things on the list but I'm not going to tell you exactly what, I don't want to spoil your reading! Just let me tell you that you are for a real treat there and that the things are a real game, very innovative (well, for me at least), very interesting, and the situations that Phoebe puts herself into because of her List are sometimes ridiculous and always scream fun, fun, fun. I don't know if it was Joanna's intention but I laughed out loud reading how Phoebe adapted to all the new situations around.

I loved Phoebe. Simple as that. She is my kind of girl and I could imagine her as my new best friend. She is as normal as a chick - lit heroine can be but she is different in many ways.
Read more ›
Comment 9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Robbie on 15 April 2014
Format: Paperback
I've just finished reading The List and I couldn't put it on my bookshelf without giving it the praise it deserves first.
I love this book for a great number of reasons; Joanna has a real gift for creating characters that feel familiar yet fresh. She has managed to capture Glasgow so well I feel that bumping into Phoebe or another character is a real possibility.
The main protagonist, Phoebe, is a wonderfully neurotic charmer that has a brilliant witty view on things; it really shines through and often had me nodding in agreement to her musings. I was hooked at the first sentence.
The book is hilarious and a 'Raiders of The Lost Ark' reference had me laughing so much I felt a little light headed after it. I'm still giggling at it now.
Sex and swearing, there is an abundance of both this book; the sex is messy, funny, raunchy and best of all believable. Not once did I feel either was over the top, unnecessary or cringe worthy. This isn't a shopping list she's made after all.
The book is written in a very informal tone and is presented as a journal so the swearing isn't a problem and I feel the fantastic dialogue between the characters and Phoebe's inner thoughts wouldn't be as personal without it.
The relationships in the book develop naturally and by the end I was happy, touched, satisfied and smiling at the conclusion.
Saddened that I wouldn't be reading any more of Phoebe's adventures though.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to read an insightful, funny, naughty, light-hearted book.
I will definitely be buying from this author again.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Oh my giddy aunt, I bloody LOVE Phoebe! I want her to be my best friend. The List was a serious test of my willpower - I wanted to devour it in one sitting, but I also couldn't bear for it to end so I had to ration myself and only read a bit at a time.

It's chick-lit, but the really good type. It's not all namby-pamby romance and twee middle-class shenanigans. It's hilariously irreverent, bravely bolshy, brilliantly lewd and has one of the highest feel-good factors I've ever read. Seriously, this book put me in such a good mood. Improved my sex life too! Oh yes. The List has the best approach to sex. It approaches it as an adult, but one who's not a mire of hang-ups. It says 'Let's be grown up about this. Sex feels good, and if you step a little out of your comfort zone you'll probably find it can feel even better!' It's not erotica - there's too much comedy for that. It's raunchy and fun though.

I've decided I like books that are split up into a number of things. 16 Things I Thought Were True was another recent good read, and 13 Little Blue Envelopes was another. It's not that I need an easy paint-by-numbers story, it's just that there's just something fun about progressing through the list. Maybe I'm a list geek. Also, it's set in Glasgow, but not in a gritty, Trainspotting type way. More a modern-but-down-to-earth city sort of thing. And don't worry, it's not written in a phonetically Scottish way or full of unpronouncable slang, either. It's just Scottish in an excellent sense of humour, ballsy and outgoing way.

Now up until this point I was only about two thirds of the way through the book. I was just so excited about it that I had to write about it. I have to admit that after that point it did go a bit more standard chick-lit, but it was still really good.
Read more ›
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions