Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars10
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 November 2010
Humans were thought to be extinct. Victims of a curse that turns them into dragons, Jaxx is surprised to find a human infant in the province of Oescienne. Despite his misgivings about her appearance and what this could mean for an ancient prophecy that could break the curse on the humans forever, he assumes responsibility for her.

Raised by her mother and her dragon mentor, Jaxx, Jahrra knows all about the legends and sagas of Oescienne. When she gets to school, however, she has a hard time fitting in. Although she makes two friends, she has a hard time dodging bullies.

Seeking out adventure with her friends, she's unaware of the fact that she is being followed. As the truth unravels and she discovers her destiny, she realizes there are secrets her mentor has been keeping from her - and she'll have to fight to earn her place in the world.

With an ancient prophecy hanging over her head that some people do not want to see come to light, how can one win one's place in the world and dodge the danger lurking around every corner? Will Jahrra discover her role in the prophecy in time to save her world and herself?

An intriguing fantasy adventure that takes a while to develop, but is worth the read. The characters are well-created, and the plot is complex and interesting. Readers who like fantasy, mystery, adventure, and dragons will enjoy reading THE FINDING.

Reviewed by: Kira M
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
I'm still reading it and will definitely be getting the next book along. If you like anything to do with dragons, elves and mythical creatures in general, you will love it.

The only downside is there are a few rather interesting names which can get in the way of the flow of the story (but only if your like me and you need to know how to pronounce it before you can carry on reading)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Delightful little story about Jahrra, a human, from her finding as a baby up to her twelfth year. She is special, being fostered by a kind old Nesnan couple and mentored by two dragons, she is destined for great things foretold in a prophecy.

This first book in the trilogy is about the experiences of a growing child in difficult circumstances. She is derided at school by bullies who pick on her because of her poor circumstances and also her ethnicity. She does have two very loyal friends who help her get through.

No combat yet, though this is likely to change as she matures, no magic either. Jahrra is brave and adventurous but on the down side, there are some very long descriptive sections that are well written but not to my taste. I skimmed over a few of these to get to the action.

Hint. There is a section at the end of the book about pronunciation of the rather interesting names. Wish I had found it earlier as inventing my own sometimes spoiled the flow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Good reading had to keep reading, the descriptions of the surroundings very good and the characters believable. Looking forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
It was a very good and interesting book. I hope to also read the next two books. My favourite character is the human girl Jahrra.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
Really good read with a good plot and shows a great understanding of emotions and reactions by other characters in the tale
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
I envy this lady for her imagination and amazing spell weaving. just want to read everything she has to write.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
Brilliant book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I tried and tried to get into this book but I couldnt. I found it dull and uninteresting even though it had been recommended by a family member.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
I got a migraine just trying to rest this book, it reads like stereo instructions. Thank God it was free and I can delete it.
I think the most annoying thing in this book is pro ably the weird names and the extremely long descriptions of everything..

Don't waste your time it's not worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.