Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars41
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2012
Dave Simpson has met his heroes from the Howard Wilkinson teams of the late 80s and early 90s, and gathered their individual stories to make a fascinating and moving narrative. Every Leeds fan will know it well, but find some surprises; other sports fans could well find it has universal appeal. The story is set at the tail end of the age when a local businessman could fund a top division football team, as a city was emerging from grim times into better times, and an unlikely combination of young talent, non-league discoveries and experienced leaders was turned by our country's most under-rated manager into a team of winners. The book busts a few myths - the idea that the 1992 title was lost by Manchester United rather than won by Leeds, the perception that Vinnie Jones was an enforcer who couldn't actually play, or that we needed managers from overseas to bring in good food and fitness... - and is passionate about Leeds without being one-eyed. You can hear the voices of the players as you read about the author's meetings with them, and there are personal stories within the grander story that are by turn hilarious, tragic, revealing and thought-provoking. Fantastic book, which serves too as a fitting tribute to Gary Speed.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
as a man utd fan

a book about Leeds Utd would not appeal I was wrong

every football fan should get the book about Leeds's 91-92 title win

it gives you the background before the big win, when it happened and the aftermath

It showed mostly how most of the squad interviewed are really down to earth nice blokes

players whose stories that touched this reader was the chapters on Gary Speed, Mel Sterland and Carl Shutt

I hope Leeds Utd gives more credit to their 91-92 title heroes

They are champions on and off the pitch
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is a wonderfully written quest to track down the players who won the last ever First Division title. It's funny and illuminating, full of human stories. Who knew David Batty had such hidden depths? I'm not a Leeds fan, but this is an exceptional book about a period of football that has been virtually erased from history. Post-Hillsborough, pre-Sky? Who knew there was such a thing?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
As a Leeds fan you may think I have a biased view but The Last Champions is one of the best sports books i've ever read. Full of anecdotes from the players, management and directors of the club at that time, the sort of stories you never get to hear about apart from on the after dinner speaking events. It wouldn't have mattered if I was a Leeds fan or not this was just highly entertaining from start to finish and oh how football has changed now in the days of huge salaries and big money transfers, these were the days when football was mainly played because they loved the game.The Last Champions
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
what a season! what a team! fantastic memories of some great wins and putting one over Fergie and his team is the stuff of dreams. finally, makes interesting reading when comparing those champions with today's so-called footballing superstars!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
a brilliant review of the winning side from division 2 through to the last champions of the old 1st Division. very interesting interviews with many players of that side and an intriguing over view of how Howard led the teams over that period of time.
I would highly recommend this not only to LEEDS fans but supporters generally.
Jason Fletcher
South West Whites
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Without a doubt one of the best books I've ever read. Love how he talks to all the players and really makes the season come to life. Would definitely recommend; especially if you love leeds like me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
A brilliant book for a Leeds fan, definitely recommended! I remember the title winning year well, but did wonder what became of a few of the ex players and management team. This book mixes some great nostalgia with recollections, anecdotes and an update on what they're up to now. Above all it reinforces what an achievement it was for the team and management, and how how much it still means to them. Read it in a couple of days, but it's a perfect book for dipping in and out of. Mel " The Flying Pig" Sterland's chapter is my favourite, but they're all great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
Very well written book. A must for Leeds fans (MOT) & every one who remember when football used to be about pride & hard work rather than money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
A book about champions and some great stories from true winners. I'm a Leeds fan, born a bit late to appreciate this title win - but this book has made me appreciate both sets of title wins in Division Two and Division One.

It's a shame it begins and ends up reading like a tragedy - Leeds currently in the same position now in 2015 they were at the start of Wilco's 1988 reign began - languishing in the second tier.

Now, where's David Batty?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)