Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2013
Never seemed to be able to obtain a book, particularly a concise publication, on this war. I have previously purchased a number of History in an Hour publications, and found them interesting, and a good starting point for further reading on the topics dealt with. When I saw that this book was going to be published, I bought it straight away, and have thoroughly enjoyed the account it gives on the historical background to Korea, why and how it became a divided nation and the background to the war itself. Detail on the conflict dealt with in less detail than a dedicated military publication would, but this book gets across well the general futility and stalemate of this war. Good appendices on detail aspects of main events and protagonists.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This is a great little book for those that know very little about the Korean War or for those that need a quick and accurate refresher on the topic. It is actually very accurate in its content, well written and a very enjoyable read. It gives you a very concise overview of the military and political context of the war along with the main campaigns, battles and offensives and much more. I will be keeping an eye out for more such books from Mr Mulholland. Excellent little book, buy that man a pint!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This is an excellent introduction for those new to the subject. The political, social and military dynamics of this critical episode in world history are clearly explained in a very readable style. Highly recommended, I look forward to Andrew Mulholland's next publication.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Andrew Mullholland has done a masterful job of condensing a complex and significant war, that many are less familair with in to so short a space. he is right to emphasise it's importance as a 'limited war' during the era of superpower clashes and the tensions that existsed around U.S. political control of an occasionally gun-ho military.

Even in such a short space Mullholland revealed new insights to me such as the implications for and by regional powers such as China and Japan as well as some of the extreme drama of the military conflict itself. His description of the military aspects of the war is the standout achievement of this book being done with the deft skill of someone who really knows their stuff.

It would be excellent to see more from this author on other less well-known wars, such as the Malaya campaign, Boer war or even the US Civil War, something I have always wanted a primer on and have never found an adequate one up to the task. More like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
A good informative read about the basics of The Korean War. Having only read this on the conflict, I have no comparison to other material but it seems to provide a good basis from which to start further reading / research.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
For such a relatively unknown event this was very a informative "one hour's" worth. Add's meaning to all the issues the west have with all the "Kim" North Korean leaders.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Clearly factual and well written. We lost a boy from our village in this conflict. Easy now to visualize the horrors he faced.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
very interesting history book downloaded to my kindle with a few problems, one of the many books that i hold
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
The author has written an excellent primer on the Korean War. He has condensed a great deal of scholarship into a well written and readable text. I always wondered about the origins of the Korean War and Andrew Mulholland has given me all the information I need without resorting to pages of footnotes and highly detailed discussions of military tactics. I look forward to this author's ebook on Churchill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I knew nothing about the Korean War when I started this book but now recognise its pivotal importance the world today. The book is well written and structured leading the reader through the chronology and characters of the conflict. Easy to read whether in one hit or in smaller size chunks. I will look for other products from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)