Start reading The Jerusalem Puzzle on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Jerusalem Puzzle
 
 

The Jerusalem Puzzle [Kindle Edition]

Laurence O'Bryan
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (107 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.88 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.11 (73%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.88  
Paperback £5.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

Praise for The Istanbul Puzzle:

'A brisk plot…which draws the reader into a conspiratorial rapport.' Telegraph

'This stylish conspiracy thriller is a Turkish delight…combines plenty of stirring action with fascinating historical detail’ Irish Independent

Product Description

An archaic manuscript contains a secret, one that could change the world …

The second in the series, from the author of The Istanbul Puzzle.

Behind Lady Tunshuq’s Palace in the Muslim quarter of Jerusalem, archaeologist, Max Keiser, has been found dead.

In the same city, Doctor Susan Hunter who was translating an ancient script discovered in Istanbul, is missing.

With his girlfriend Isabel Sharp, Sean Ryan is about to piece together the mystery of his colleague Max’s death and Susan’s disappearance. But as they explore the ancient and troubled city, they soon find themselves drawn into a dangerous and deadly game of fire.

A taut thriller in the tradition of Dan Brown and Robert Harris.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 830 KB
  • Print Length: 401 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1847562892
  • Publisher: Avon (3 Dec 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009JWB0AO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (107 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #17,005 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

* Short listed for Irish Crime Novel of the Year.
* Top selling Irish crime author in many categories.
* #1 in Amazon charts twice, in two categories.

The Istanbul Puzzle is the first in a new series of mystery-thrillers. I visited Istanbul 6 times to research it. The next in the series, The Jerusalem Puzzle, is out too. It continues the story from The Istanbul Puzzle and features the same characters. The third in the series, The Manhattan Puzzle, arrived October 10, 2013.

My roots go back to a small estate deep in the Mountains of Mourne, near the Silent Valley, in County Down, Northern Ireland.

I went to school in Dublin, drank way too much, studied English and history, then business, then IT at Oxford University. While a student, I worked as a kitchen porter in a club near the Bank of England.

I have also published a guide to social media called, Social Media is Dynamite.

In 2007 I won the Outstanding Novel Submitted award at the Southern California writer's conference. I flew back to Ireland on cloud 999. It wasn't about the money. There wasn't any. It was about knowing I was on the right track.

My research has taken me all over the world, from San Francisco to deep in the Muslim world. I like looking at the stars and listening to the stories of strangers. I hope you enjoy my novels and my guide to social media.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read 5 Jan 2013
By Finu
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Picked this one up late last night as I fancied reading something different - unfortunately I didn't spot that it was the second in a series, luckily it didn't matter too much. There were references to events in the previous book but I didn't find it detracted from enjoying this one.

The story really wasn't my usual kind of read but I finished it in one sitting because the plot carried me along nicely and I wanted to know what was going to happen next. It was also a book that made me think about some of the things going on in the world right now - possibly not what I wanted at 3am but the mark of a good plot. I'm debating at the moment whether to go back to the beginning of the series or wait for the third installment, but will definitely keep an eye out for the author and any other books he releases. I'll also be recommending him to other avid readers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long awaited sequel does not disappoint!! 8 Dec 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I have waited to get my hands on this book after finishing The Istanbul Puzzle, which quite frankly was one of the best books I have ever read. The short chapters and the fast pace of the book make it a real page turner. You really feel like your with the characters, and the description of Jerusalem is so descriptive, it really captures the imagination. Buy the two books for anyone who loves a good read, and I promise that they won't be disappointed. Roll on no3!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost as good 26 Dec 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Having read and enjoyed the Istanbul Puzzle I had to read the latest offering of the Jerusalem Puzzle . Well written with fast action and not spoilt by having too many character names to remember . Sadly this book did not hold my interest as much as the Istanbul Puzzle which is a great read . Too much time towards the end of the book spent trying to find the "lost " characters and the result was not totally convincing . It was still a good read and flowed well but for me it will have just missed its mark .
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
By Lucinda
Format:Paperback
This exquisite novel with its dazzling cover is something to treasure, for it contains such intricate detail as to take your breath away. The electrifying tension radiates off the pages as this thrilling, mesmerizing tale is as gripping as Dan Brown's `The Da Vinci Code' if not more so. I was swept into a mysterious world shrouded in conspiracy theories, deep-rooted history and ancient prophecies. The fast-paced, layered plot is something to loose yourself within as you unravel the truth bit-by-bit, reveling in the delights of the perilous backdrop that is so atmospheric. I was taken on the most thrilling journey to the exotic, piquant and vibrant Jerusalem where an ancient evil lies waiting hidden beneath a troubled, divergent civilization.

There is a single manuscript nearly all but forgotten, which contains the key to the greatest, shocking historical secret of all-time...

Sean Ryan and his girlfriend Isabel Sharp are exploring the ancient, mysterious city of Jerusalem when they find themselves drawn into a dangerous game with deadly consequences. Meanwhile in the same city Doctor Susan Hunter was translating an ancient manuscript, until it suddenly disappears without a trace. Behind Lady Tunshuq's Palace in the Muslim quarter of Jerusalem the archeologist Max Kaiser is found dead, with murder on the cards now no one is safe...

The sequel to `the Istanbul puzzle' (shortlisted for the Irish crime novel of the year 2012) continues the story from where it left off, by including the square and arrow symbol (that Sean and Isabel discovered within the Museum of Antiquities), in central Cairo near Tahrir square.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor 12 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I gave up reading this book. Having spent time in Jerusalem I though a thriller about it might be interesting. Just seemed to full of gratuitous violence and improbable coincidences which do not work. Have deleted book from my Kindle and would not recommend it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read 12 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
After read the Istanbul Puzzle I found this was another great book and would recommend it as a good follow on.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good 11 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I read and really enjoyed the Istanbul Puzzle and was looking forward to this sequel, unfortunately it did not live up to its predicessors standards. It was still a good well crafted story but seemed to take to long to get going and if anything a bit predictable towards the end, having said that I will still be reading the next installment and hope it will be back to the standard of the first.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars puzzle 8 Mar 2013
By Bigtee
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
a bit slow and I struggled through to half way before giving up. I wouldn't recommend to anyone but there again other folk may enjoy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category