Start reading The Innocents on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Innocents [Kindle Edition]

Laura Lippman
2.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.50 (79%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.49  
Paperback £6.99  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
Audio, CD, Audiobook --  
Exclusive Interview with Laura Lippman
In this exclusive Q & A, Kate Atkinson interviews Laura Lippman, author of The Innocents. Read it now [Adobe Acrobat or other PDF reader required].

Book Description

‘As five we were mighty, the points on a star…Once we five joined, it was never boys against girls…Two of our triangles cut themselves off and ran away together, and we were never whole again. Never.’

‘As five we were mighty, the points on a star…Once we five joined, it was never boys against girls…Two of our triangles cut themselves off and ran away together, and we were never whole again. Never.’

Years ago, they were the best of friends. But as time passed, they grew apart, became adults with families of their own, and began to forget about the past – and the terrible lies they shared.

But now Gordon, the youngest and wildest of the five, has died and the others are thrown together for the first time in years.

Could their long-ago lie be the reason for their troubles today? Is it more dangerous to admit to what they’d done or is it the strain of keeping the secret that is beginning to wear down on their souls.

Dark, provocative and beautifully written, Laura Lippman’s genre defying novel will appeal to fans of Lionel Shriver, Megan Abbott and Kate Atkinson.



Product Description

Review

‘The Innocents is compelling, suspenseful – everything a great thriller should be – but it is SO much more than that. That rarest of books – a nuanced and beautifully literate page-turner – this confirms what many of us have known for some time. Laura Lippman is not just the author of top-notch psychological thrillers, she is one of the finest writers in America. Simple as that.’ Mark Billingham

‘A story that ripples with menace, sorrow and the dark churn of adolescence—the prices families pay for secrets, the things we can’t look at in ourselves.’ Megan Abbott, bestselling author of The End of Everything

‘Lippman delivers an emotionally complex drama that cements her reputation as one of the smartest crime writers around.’ People Magazine

Lippman has long excelled at believable psychological suspense.’ Guardian

‘Exquisite as fine jewellery.’ Lee Child

‘A corker… engrossing.’ Observer

Review

‘The Innocents is compelling, suspenseful – everything a great thriller should be – but it is SO much more than that. That rarest of books – a nuanced and beautifully literate page-turner – this confirms what many of us have known for some time. Laura Lippman is not just the author of top-notch psychological thrillers, she is one of the finest writers in America. Simple as that.’ Mark Billingham

‘A story that ripples with menace, sorrow and the dark churn of adolescence—the prices families pay for secrets, the things we can’t look at in ourselves.’ Megan Abbott, bestselling author of The End of Everything

‘Lippman delivers an emotionally complex drama that cements her reputation as one of the smartest crime writers around.’ People Magazine

Lippman has long excelled at believable psychological suspense.’ Guardian

‘Exquisite as fine jewellery.’ Lee Child

‘A corker… engrossing.’ Observer


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 535 KB
  • Print Length: 355 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1847561950
  • Publisher: Avon (5 July 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847561950
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847561954
  • ASIN: B006UN3TRW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 2.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #17,935 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GUILTY INNOCENTS 17 Oct. 2012
Format:Paperback
Is it a fact of life that no matter how old we get we always hear our parents voices echoing back to us as we make our feeble attempt to guide our own children?

Laura Lippman must have been listening to a combination of voices from her past as well as channeling "old blue eyes" singing MY WAY when she embarked on her latest offering A MOST DANGEROUS THING. How does that line go? "Regrets, I've had a few but then again too few to mention". Well when you take the sum total of regrets in the lives of the characters envisioned by Ms. Lippman in this latest offering you just might be buried under the avalanche of regrets being voiced.

While the story is ostensibly about five playmates growing up in the town of Dickeyville and a secret that all, except one of them, has chosen to bury in the past, it is in fact a story of three families. Told from the perspective of ten different people each individual segment adds yet another piece of fabric to this patchwork quilt of a novel.

Both the parents and their off-spring seem to be suffering from a combination of depression and guilt as they individually lament the irrevocable choices they have made. Having gone their separate ways for many years, the untimely death of one of the five friends has reunited them together once again (ala The Big Chill). Each begins to mentally examine the "what if's" and the "what might have beens".

Liipmann has given us a relatively coherent and cohesive portrait of three families with each character's perspective adding layers to this paradoxical tale. The "secret" at the crux of the story is really no secret, but more a matter of each person's denial of personal responsibility.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing Pains 27 July 2012
By ACB(swansea) TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Laura Lippman has written a novel centred around five children within three families. Doris and Tim Halloran have three sons, 'crass Tim, Serious Sean and wild Go-Go'. Clem and Tally Robinson have three children, son Miller, and daughters Fiona (Fee), and 7 years their junior Gwen. Rita has a daughter Mickey and a younger son Joey. The author focuses on 5 of the children, Mickey, Gwen,Sean, Tim and the youngest Go-Go (Gordon) and their parents. The chapters swing between the late 1970's to the present day and are delivered in the first person plural by the children or a parent.

Mickey and Gwen become friends in their early teens and later force themselves into the Halloran boys' set to become close, solid friends (on the surface), likening themselves to the arms of a starfish. They are gregarious, explorers of the nearby sweeping extensive Leaken Park that holds secrets and potential dangers, seemingly oblivious to these and equally diregardful of their parents' declaring it a no-go area. Mickey knows the woods best and her tomboy cavalier attitude to life at this stage inevitably has a profound effect on the narrative. They stumble upon a shack occupied by by a blackman, surrounded by chickens whose prize possession is a guitar. They are all teenagers except Go-Go, and befriend the man they call Chicken George. On a fateful night when a hurricane hits the area, mysterious George is found dead outside his dwelling. The circumstances surrounding this become central to the story. The 5 drift apart after a few summers and go their own way. They are re-united at the funeral of the zany but likeable Go-Go. He had lapsed after 2 years sobriety, got drunk and died in his car after hitting a wall at speed. Accident or suicide? Another conundrum.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - thought this would be better 29 Oct. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Unfortunately the story doesn't go further than what is in the blurb. The characters are flat and there are too many of them to hold your interest. We are supposed to believe the 5 children are "5 points of a star" in their friendship but I could see no indication that they were ever very good friends or that they even liked each other. I think this book disappointed me all the more because I read it after discovering the fantastic Tana French- now there's tension and excellent writing.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit ponderous 21 Dec. 2012
By samcam
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Had high expectations for this based on reviews but felt it a bit slow to get going and ultimately didn't live up to expectations. All the main characters will very unlikeable and quite annoying and I very easily guessed the ending and was hoping for one final twist that would make getting it through it worthwhile. Sadly disappointing.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing 13 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
In the era of the great thriller/psychological drama this isn't one of them.
The environs of Baltimore are interesting but little else...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category