The Hunt For Atlantis (Wilde/Chase 1) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Hunt For Atlantis (Wi... has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Hunt For Atlantis (Wilde/Chase 1) Paperback – 12 Jun 2008

111 customer reviews

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£3.33 £0.01
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 9 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Hunt For Atlantis (Wilde/Chase 1) + The Tomb of Hercules (Wilde/Chase 2) + The Secret of Excalibur (Wilde/Chase 3)
Price For All Three: £24.37

Buy the selected items together


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 656 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (12 Jun. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755339126
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755339129
  • Product Dimensions: 11.7 x 4.1 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (111 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 14,322 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Andy McDermott is the bestselling author of the Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase series of adventure thrillers, which have been sold in over 30 countries and 20 languages. His debut novel, The Hunt For Atlantis, was published in the UK in 2008; on its US publication the following year it became his first of several New York Times bestsellers. He is also the author of the explosive spy thriller The Persona Protocol, and the first in a planned series of short stories about celebrity sleuth Leviticus Gold.

His eleventh novel, the Wilde/Chase adventure Kingdom Of Darkness, goes on sale in August 2014, and he is currently working on the next book in the series.

Andy's novels have received critical acclaim for their epic globetrotting scope and non-stop thrills, described as "pulse-racing adventure" (Northern Echo) with action scenes that "explode off the page" (Daily Express), while Andy himself has been called "a new master of the genre" (Le Figaro) and "a writer of rare cinematic talent" (Daily Express).

A former journalist and movie critic, Andy was the editor of respected UK magazines like DVD Review and the iconoclastic film publication Hotdog. He is now a full-time author. Born in Halifax, he now lives in Bournemouth.

Product Description

Review

'Adventure stories don't get much more epic than this' (Mirror)

Book Description

In the first book in Andy McDermott's exciting new adventure thriller series, archaeologist Nina Wilde leads the hunt for the mythical and mystical Atlantis.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Emmalouise Franklin on 28 April 2008
Format: Paperback
This was the most thrilling book that i have read for a long time! The main characters are completely believable, and although you will realise that its completely overboard, that just adds to it. I couldn't put it down, and i cant wait for 'the tomb of hercules' to come out, to see what Eddie and Nina get up to next! Fabulous!!!!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Mr. Mark I. E. Armstrong on 28 Jan. 2008
Format: Paperback
For all you Matthew Reilly fans out there. If you're in need of another book to read, this is the one for you!!!
I really enjoyed the story, pace and writing style. I'm a big fan of Matthew Reilly and based on the other reviews thought I'd give this book a try. Needless to say (based on the title of this review) I loved it. For me it ticked all the boxes for a great, fast-paced, adventure. I would urge you to give it a try.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 5 Mar. 2008
Format: Paperback
As many other reviewers have written, this book is in the tradition of Clive Cusslers and Matthew Reilly in that there is a basic historical plot, characters racing to find something and bad guys with guns. I personally was hoping for a little more of the history and the search for atlantis and less of the guns, bombs and explosions but thats just me. The characters are mostly well thought out and the dialogue and humour is very enjoyable.
The reason I only rated the book as three stars was poor ending. Without revealing too much I will just say that the big bad at the end and their reasons for previous actions in the book did not come across as being believable. I don't know if this was the way the character was written in the rest of the book or how it was revealed but I just didn't like the ending.
The rest of the book is a good adventure romp if that is what you are up for. It sounds as if there are more books on the way from this guy and possibly with some of the same characters and I would certianly read them but I would know what to expect this time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Ben Peyton on 12 Mar. 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you enjoy a huge blockbuster film then meet a literary equivalent in The Hunt for Atlantis by Andy McDermott.
Great set pieces, likeable / dislikeable characters, witty one-liners and an interesting plot make this such a fun book.
It's very similar to Matthew Reilly books, which I also love, and I found myself putting the book down to take a breather only to pick it up straight away because I was missing it.
The main male hero, Eddie Chase, isn't a standard action hero. Instead of being 6ft something with chiseled good looks and thick black hair he's short, gap-toothed and balding. However, he's instantly likeable with a great sense of humour and makes a fine choice of hero.
Basically, this book reads like you're watching Die Hard, any Bond film, Indiana Jones, Bourne and a hint of Carry On!
Don't expect any Shakespearian type prose or deep and meaningful subtext (that isn't meant to be derogatory, Andy!) This book is pure popcorn entertainment. Lose yourself in a highly entertaining piece of fiction. I'm delighted to hear that Andy has at least 3 more books planned. He has a very bright future in the action / adventure genre.
Cheers, Andy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Paul Wiscamp on 1 Feb. 2008
Format: Paperback
For action, adventure, and mystery all wrapped in an ancient mystery it is hard to beat The Hunt for Atlantis! If you are looking for serious history, don't look here you'll be disappointed, but for pure comic book fun this is hard to beat. The pace is fast and furious, and there is a tongue in cheek style that lets the reader know they should not take anything too serious. If your are a fan of Clive Cussler, Matt Reilly, Or James Rollins then you'll love the hunt for Atlantis!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By J. Chippindale TOP 500 REVIEWER on 7 Jan. 2008
Format: Hardcover
This is another new author to me and that is because this is his first novel. You would think that a storyline which involved searching for the lost city of Atlantis would have been done to death by now, but this is a very good first novel for the author. The author is very adept at generating excitement and the book is fast paced. Like some of the previous reviewers I found it very difficult to put down.

A young female archaeologist believes that she has found the location of the lost city of Atlantis. She obviously would like to be able to prove this fact. The problem she has is that someone wants her dead. The main character Nina Wilde, the said archaeologist is a believable and likeable person and the reader can relate to her character and her race against time to find lost secret . . .

The book was very enjoyable and I was sorry when it ended. I believe the author has another book in the pipeline called The Tomb of Hercules and I shall certainly be looking out for it when it is published.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 13 Feb. 2008
Format: Paperback
I hadn't heard of Andy Mcdermott before but I'm glad I checked him out. I loved the very fast paced but well written plot and the characters especially Eddie,it made a change to have a hero from England with such a great sense of humour. Can't wait for Tomb of Hercules. I normally read James Rollins, Matthew Reilly and Jeremy Robinson will now be happily adding Andy Mcdermott to my list.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By SKYW4LKER on 19 Jan. 2009
Format: Paperback
Many of this sort are written - in this case AM came up with this book vs some of similar writing style of Matthew Reilly. I want to rate this a 4 Stars, pretty fast pace and is all about saving lifes till the end.

The book start with character Nina and Eddie Chase making wave to find whereabout of Atlantis. Thus teaming with Kari Frost to fight against the Brotherhood whom want Atlantis not to be found. Later half of the book you will find there is a hidden agenda to the reason why the Frost foundation wanted so badly to find Atlantis.

Next book should not be far away from this where Tomb of Hercules will review more of Eddie Chase and Nina again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback