Start reading The House of Ulloa (Penguin Classics) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The House of Ulloa (Penguin Classics) [Kindle Edition]

Emilia Bazan , Paul O'Prey
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £9.99
Kindle Price: £4.68 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.31 (53%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.68  
Paperback £9.98  
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Book Description

This rich and unforgettable story of sexual intrigue and political scheming, written by the Spanish feminist and intellectual Emilia Pardo Bazan, deserves recognition as one of the great nineteenth-century novels.



The House of Ulloa follows pure and pious Father Julián Alvarez, who is sent to a remote country estate to put the affairs of the marquis, an irresponsible libertine, in order. When he discovers moral decadence, cruelty and corruption at his new home, Julián's well-meaning but ineffectual attempts to prevent the fall of the House of Ulloa end in tragedy. The House of Ulloa is the finest achievement of Emilia Pardo Bazán, a prolific writer, feminist, traveller and intellectual, and one of the most dynamic figures of her time.



Fans of Zola or Hardy will enjoy the novel's rich naturalism, which combines gothic elements with evocative descriptions of Spanish customs and the countryside. At the same time, the novel evokes the social comedy of a Dickens or Thackeray with its biting social satire, frank exposure of sexual mores, and gentle mockery of its innocent hero-priest.



Product Description

Review

An absolutely first-rate novelist [...] Bazán's genius lies in the way she mixes comedy, farce, realism and heightened-pitch hysteria with a dash of gothic [...] People may travel by donkey in this book, but it could have been written yesterday (Nick Lezard Guardian)

Pardo Bazán's mastery of social types and of the political currents that swirled around the liberal revolution are unsurpassed in Spanish literature ... O'Prey and Graves ... avoid awkward literalisms while nonetheless remaining true to the spirit of the original (New Criterion)

About the Author

The Countess Emilia Pardo Bazán was born in 1851 and married at sixteen. After separating from her husband, she embarked on an affair with novelist Benito Pérez Galdós. The House of Ulloa (1886) is generally considered as her masterpiece among her many literary works.

Professor Paul O'Prey is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Roehampton, London.

Lucia Graves has translated works by Robert Graves, Anaïs Nin, Katherine Mansfield and Carlos Ruiz Zafón, and is the author of a memoir, A Woman Unknown, and a novel, The Memory House.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 768 KB
  • Print Length: 279 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0140445021
  • Publisher: Penguin Classics; Re-issue edition (1 Aug. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141392967
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141392967
  • ASIN: B00E54VE52
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #211,385 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
A beautifully written, sumptuous novel that combines elements of comedy, satire and adventure as well as gothic tropes, Bazan's novel deserves to be far better known than it is.

The author's characterisations of the well-meaning but ineffective Father Julián Alvarez, the brash, libertine marquis and the scheming antagonist Primitivo, are among the most fascinating of 19th century literature. Played against a backdrop of political conniving and religious uncertainty, House of Ulloa is a novel rich in life, and brilliantly executed. It should take pride of place on every literature-lover's bookshelf!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different,interestingly written and informative 6 Mar. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was chosen for our book club,so probably not one I would normally have picked. However I enjoyed it because it was different,but was not totally won over by some of the translation which I felt was a touch modern.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Political corruption and scandalous sex. 14 Sept. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed this book Loved the innocence of the young priest resisting the temptations of the earthy serving girl . The relationship with the saintly wife of the 'Marquis ' was delicate and tender. I really could see this as suitable to be made into a movie.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A great novel. 16 Oct. 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a really entertaining story with humour and pathos. I had never heard of the author before but trusted a recommendation I got.
I like to be transported back into another century and culture - especially when the writing is as lively as this is.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category