Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2008
What I really like about it is that you can pick it up, flick through and start anywhere - it's easy to dip into, yet just as good to read from the start.

There's no beating around the bush - author Star Khechara gets straight to the point with everything she has to say and writes clearly and simply. After a couple of quick, easy-to-read chapters on the holistic lifestyle you're practically converted!

But the best part is the recipe section... beauty recipes that is! You can be making your own skincare, body products and hair care in no time... even tinted lip glosses. There are over 100 recipes to indulge in!

The recipes are well written and simple instructions make them easy to follow - there is even a chapter on ingredients and techniques, plus a further section on where to purchase ingredients.

A lovely gift for anyone who loves their skincare and pampering treats, especially those who prefer organic and natural products.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
This is a really good book! In the introduction it gives you a list of reasons why you may wish to make your own products and then goes on to explain how high street brands con us into using their chemical nastiness giving a glossary of misleading terms such as 'hypo-allergenic' and 'derived from...', which may sound innocent, but they are not what they seem! The author gives a short explanation of various chemicals and the effects they have on our skin and our health.
There's a chapter on essential oils, explaining why it's important to make sure you use 100% pure. Instructions on how to infuse your own oils with flowers and herbs. There's a sciencey section all about how your skin works, which I found quite interesting and there's even recipes for things to eat in order to feed your skin from the inside.
But you can skip all if that and go straight to the 'potion-making'. There's a basic list of common ingredients such as butters, plant oils, essential oils, and a list of kitchen equipment that will be very useful to you.
The recipes are easily set into catergories: The face (cleansers, toners, moisturisers, lip treats, the mouth, masks), the body (cleansers & scrubs, lotions & butters, deodorants, masks), the hair (cleansers, rinses, conditioners) the hands & feet, bathroom bliss, baby & bump, chocolate potions, love potions. There's really something for everyone in here. Some things only have 2 ingredients that just need to be melted together....easy!
There's a very useful section at the back with a list of suppliers to buy your ingredients, and even includes a site for very pretty glass bottles and packaging.
One of the best parts of the book is that all recipes include the shelf life! I find when looking at recipes on the internet, very few of them include this, which is pretty useless really. Some of these recipes you have to use straight away, but the majority are between 2-12 months :)
My only problem with this book is that quite a lot of the recipes use rose/rose otto essential oils (50 drops at a time in some cases), for those of you not familiar with these oils, it costs around £28 for a mere 2ml! so unless you are rather rich, you may find yourself skipping a fair few recipes. But with a little research into essential oils, you will find something to replace the rose oils that has similar properties, so all is not lost and I therefore give this book a well deserved 5 stars.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2009
I suffer from sensitive skin and can never really trust products bought from shops as most have chemicals even if they don't declare them clearly.

So I bought this book and have tried a few recipes so far and total success! Easy to make and fun too! My skin is soft and smooth and smells gorgeous after using the bath melts. And I love using cocoa butter as I always smell like chocolate! As I am also allergic to perfumes that is pretty useful!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
I searched Amazon for a book that has natural skin care products with ingredients I could source easily in the UK. This book is great for that. The recipes are simple and easy to follow. There are not lots of pretty coloured pictures but I don't mind that. I like the author's approach to skin care products and her beliefs. There is also an introduction about looking after your skin, diet etc which is a nice read as well. Would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for simple recipes to make at home. You can buy the ingredients in the recipes either online or in your local health food store.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
Excellent! Just what i was looking for. Well written and easy to follow, and included things I could do with the children too - which they love! Great for those wet weekends, and clearing out the cupboards! The author knows what she is talking about and does so with great style and knowledge. Am looking forward to the next potion making sessions...
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
this is the second natural beauty book that i have bought and its really good,recipes are easy enough and ingredients not to difficult to find,it also tells what the shelf life is which is really useful.all in all a really good fun natural beauty book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
There are a decent amount of recipes in this book to help you make products to replace the processed products you may use in your daily/weekly life. Star (the author) give you a good amount of information about dubious ingredients in most processed products out there, and even gives you a website where you can type in whatever wierd polysyllabic ingredient you aren't so sure about and find out possible harmful properties of that product. You have info of various companies from which you can purchase containers and ingredients as well. I once contacted her to get some info and she was really helpful as well. I think this book's a good starting point for people wanting to move away from chemical riddled product to make products that are genuinely natural and good for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
this book has proved to be really useful if interested in making your own beauty products. there are some excellent recipes in this book and just by reading through the book you realise that star is totally committed to using chemical free, natural products and dedicated to her craft.

once i started making my own products it made me realise how much money i was really wasting purchasing from the high street. you may find that you need to buy a good variety of ingredients at first but when you look at the quality of ingredients you are using and amount you can make, it definately outweighs the intial cost. also the products are a pleasure to make and may i add so easy too.

I have given this book a 4 star only on the basis of the amount of ingredients you would have to purchase if you were to make each product, but given that you will probably stick to your favourites on that basis it would score a 5.

a beautifully presented book and a pleasure to own.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
Fantastic book, and great fun.. open it anywhere and you will find unique recipes that are easy to follow and make. I love beauty products, and to find all these recipes that you can make yourself out of natural products is rewarding (and so cheap!) My mum borrowed my book & loved it too, so I am getting her one of her own (for mother's day!)

No experience necessary, and it's a lot of fun. Recommended to all!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
Found the book very easy to follow for making the products, with the recipes.
Also good to have the shelf life of them, as some books I have do not.
Loads of info on where to buy Oils, Shea Butters etc.
I do Holistic facials and was looking to make my own Creams etc.
So with the help of this book I can get started.
Worth buying if you want beautiful beauty products without chemicals etc in them .!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)