The Heir of Night: The Wall of Night: Book One and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Heir Of Night: The Wa... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Heir Of Night: The Wall of Night: Book One Paperback – 3 Mar 2011


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 3 Mar 2011
£12.99
£4.99 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

The Heir Of Night: The Wall of Night: Book One + The Gathering Of The Lost: The Wall of Night: Book Two + Throne of Glass: 1
Price For All Three: £23.67

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (3 Mar. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0356500004
  • ISBN-13: 978-0356500003
  • Product Dimensions: 15.5 x 3.3 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (37 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 560,481 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

THE HEIR OF NIGHT by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world (Robin Hobb)

It's a well-told tale ... an enjoyable read (SFX)

Appealing characters and a richly detailed world (Library Journal)

Promising and fast-paced new epic fantasy (Bookloons)

This is superior fantasy with a smattering of science fiction . . . recommended (INTERZONE)

Book Description

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Brent Weeks. Winner of the 2012 David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Nick Brett TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 30 April 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Seen much of this before but it is delivered very competently by the author in her first book aimed at an adult audience. And she does treat her audience like adults too, this is complex, deep and thoughtful with both world construction and back-story.

On the World of Haarth the Darkswarm are kept at bay behind a vast wall of protection which has a number of forts managed by different Houses of the Derai. Time and a war between the Houses 500 years ago has left them isolated, not trusting each-other and losing much of their faith and tradition.

Our focus is on the House of Night which is attacked early on in the novel and this has consequences for all, including Malian the Heir and her Father the Earl.

It is good stuff and I did have to concentrate (with occasional checks to the glossary at the back) as more myth, legend and history came to light. The story also involves different planes of existence which again while not original, work well in the story. Minor gripes might be how maturely young Malian and her equally young priestly companion act and some of the dialogue is slightly stilted at times, but the bottom line is that I enjoyed this and am keen to find where Ms Lowe is taking this story next.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Mara Greenwood VINE VOICE on 23 Jun. 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Malian is the Heir of Night, one of the great houses of the Derai, who are a warriorlike people who originally came from among the stars to settle on their current planet. With them they brought their age old enemies, the Swarm, and so the story begins with the never ending battle between the two sides finally coming to the fore again as Malian is chased deep within the ruins of the Old Keep in order to escape those whose only goal is her capture or death. This is, I hope, the first volume in what is shaping up to be a truly excellent series - the Derai are warriors to the bone, cursed with far too many rigid walls and viewpoints, but they are a likeable race despite this, and totally different from any of the other characters whose home is, and has always been, the world that this book is set within. Malian and her companion Kallan are both very likeable and show promise of developing into two very good characters indeed, sympathetic and flawed and profoundly human. They meet an assortment of different people in this first step on their quest, including a woman who controls winter, a man and a woman who are part of the mysterious Heralds, and an assortment of different members of the Derai. I particularly liked Asantir - anyone who loves a strong female warrior character will very much like this lady as she is rather marvellous! The Swarm themselves are threatening and frightening in equal measure, very well written to convey a palpable aura of evil.

The writing is fluid and evocative, delightfully old fashioned in places in a way that really manages to convey the feel of the place far more than would have been done in more modern language. I must admit that this book kept me up late on several nights as I just could not put it down but had to turn the page and find out what happened next. I will be eagerly awaiting the next installment of the series.

An excellent beginning, well suited to anyone who loves high fantasy with a distinct twist.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Doha VINE VOICE on 21 July 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I could fault-find with this book because nothing is perfect - but I don't want to. I LIKE it too much for that. If it's possible for a story to be humble about itself, Helen Lowe's writing has a poise and grace to it that makes it different to a few other books I read recently. This book doesn't think of itself as lofty and grand, or the best thing since Robin Hobb or anything like that (apt that the cover blurb is, in fact, Hobb's), and it does that endearing thing of not condescending to the reader.

Be assured this is *fantasy* (not paranormal romance, as I first thought on seeing the title)(with a curious sci-fi crossover - the Derai travel through space, followed by their ancient enemy - or do they follow them? I don't remember). Although its elements are nothing new, they are somehow fresh and not unsurprising. Perhaps because the familiar set-pieces are there - the young protagonists who need each other, the 'fool' character, the mysterious foreigners, a prophecy - combining with a mythology that determines the shape of their destinies, it is easy to be drawn in to the story and become attached to the story (what Jasper Fforde calls the 'reader feedback loop', but transferring to different stories within the same genre).

Good synopses have already been provided in other reviews - I wanted to say merely that I enjoyed Heir of Night very, very much, flaws and all. I expect the second book will improve on whatever didn't work in the first, as Lowe improves as a writer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Mr. M. Regan - The Regsy TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 15 Sept. 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
As a dyed in the wool Fantasy fan, I was very pleasantly suprised by this book, while the plot is nothing new (well not so far, book 1) there are some very interesting ideas relating to the characters and the universe they inhabit. I liked the story, the characters and the style of writing, it was a very enjoyable read and I will be getting the next in the series when it appears. A new author that I will be looking out for in the future.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By C. C. Chivers VINE VOICE on 10 Jun. 2011
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I found this story different from what the summary implied. Malian, the Heir, is a 12 year old girl, daughter to the Earl of Night (so-called because they fight against it), who lost her mother at a very young age, but the truth behind this is hidden from her until she discovers that she has magical powers.

Initially she appears to be like any 12 year old girl - doing things she shouldn't - although her games of swordplay reflect the environment she has grown up in. However, from the moment she is called back to her duties as Heir, she behaves more like someone in their twenties with a certain amount of experience behind them and capable of deep, rational thought. This is the only part that I found incongruous and rather silly.

Generally, magical powers are frowned upon and those who have them are considered tainted in some way and shoved away to become priests and priestesses. Kalan is a boy of 14 who was coldly turned out of his family's house the moment he was dicovered to have such powers.

One night, both Malian and Kalan find themselves in places they shouldn't be which, in effect, saves their lives. Both are driven from those places into the 'old keep' by a strange voice that urges them on to safety. That is where they meet and that is where Malian discovers, to her dismay and yet also to her salvation, that she has extremely powerful magic.

In this story, we find that truth has been twisted by fear and traditions have become almost laws and blood oaths are now a severe problem, but which, nonetheless, can not be set aside however inconvenient or dangerous. All of these are to affect Malian in deep and lasting ways.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback