Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars366
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

It goes without saying that ‘The Hangover’ (part I) was a great film. Its sequel (part II) was met with a mixed reception (personally, I quite liked it, while thinking it wasn’t quite as good as the first one). However, now with Part III, they really seem to be dragging something out simply to make money.

The sad fact: Part III just isn’t that funny. There simply aren’t enough jokes in there to warrant calling it a ‘comedy.’

Other people have noted how they’ve ‘changed the formula’ with this one, i.e. there’s no actual hangover in this one where the cast wake up, not knowing what they did the night before and having to piece together the clues. Of course if Part III HAD followed this rule, everyone would be saying that it was just a second copy of the original, so the film-makers probably couldn’t win either way.

Also, coupled with Part III being a little low on jokes, Zach Galifianakis’ character ‘Alan’ has completed changed since the last two movies. Before, he used to be a loveable, but dumb sort. Now he’s a complete idiot (and not a very nice one at that), leaving us finding it much harder to root for him during this third outing.

However, whether you notice, or are that bothered by, the change in his character, it doesn’t make much difference to the script, i.e. it’s still short on jokes. Yes, the movie is watchable and short enough not to make me think I’d wasted an hour and a half of my life, but, when you compare it to Part I, it’s noticeable how far it’s fallen.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 March 2014
When Doug (Bartha) is kidnapped by crime boss Marshall (Goodman), it falls to the wolfpack to track down & bring in recently escaped convict Leslie Chow(Jeong) & the stolen loot he took, to get Doug back alive. They embark on a crazy & wild ride across Mexico & Las Vegas.

Part III is quite different from the previous two installments, as there is no drunken 'hangover' amnesia mayhem that traditionally starts these films off, hence the title. But instead an interesting & totally nuts unfolding of events focusing around an intervention with Alan whose off his med's & Leslie Chow whose affiliation drags the wolfpack into the gun sights of crime boss Marshall. The intervention side of the story allows for some heartfelt nostalgia & flashbacks of the good times over the trilogy. While Chow's side offers up the bulk of the trip they go on during the film, which adds a darker, serious edge to make the danger/threat element beliveable.

The jokes are a little hit & miss in some places, but they're is some consistency with the laughs & situations they get into, from small subtle nuggets to in your face hilarity as Alan's & Chow's eccentric humor takes the front seat with Phil (Bradley Cooper) & Stu (Ed Helms) chipping in to good effect. The celebrity appearances by John Goodman & Melissa McCarthy add well to the film, Goodman's larger than life menacing baddie heightens the threat element & McCarthy's larger than life comedy injection rapport with Zach Galifianakis (Alan) is brilliant, although i may not eat a lolly again *shudder*. Keep watching as the end credits roll for a snippet of classic Hangover.

In conclusion, from the huge success of Part I they obviously cashed in on Part II with a much more OTT retread. Part III at least offers up a slightly different approach/twist on the material & as a result is a lot better than Part II, while not far off Part I in all honesty. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Feels like the film has already been done.. and it has twice... full of LOL's but not as good as the first two films. still worth a watch but feels like its being milked for all it can and the franchise didn't need a 3rd film..
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
this is a let down, it doesnt play like a comedy and as some have said before i think the cast know its weak as well as they dont seem to be into as much as the first two films. The first hangover is a special film, the second is a bit too much of a replica but has enough individual jokes to make it passable but this is weak. I certainly wouldnt be crying for a fourth but i understand that wont be happening and thats a good thing, there is too much of chow in this with his crap annoying voice, too much of a good thing perhaps, and our three main actors just breathe in this and not much else.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was hoping "Hangover 3" would be a remake of 1 and 2 when Alan (Zach Galifianakis) avers "I will never change." For those who complained that "Hangover 2" was too much like the original...be careful what you ask for.

This film builds upon the events from the first film for plot and humor. Our threesome must capture Leslie Chow (Ken Jeong) or else Doug (Justin Bartha) will be killed by crime boss Marshall (John Goodman). Goodman revives his famous potty line from the "Branded" scene of "The Big Lebowski" which might go unnoticed among the 100 or so F-bombs dropped in the film.

The plot was boring compared to the other two features. This film relies on the delivery of over the top jokes from Zach Galifianakis which incorporates bizarre dark humor. Without this, the film is a bust. Good use of classic rock lyrics incorporated into the film.

No need to rush out and see this on the big screen.

Parental Guide: Excessive F-bombs. No sex. Brief nudity(?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Definite after thought I'm afraid, and to be fair the story is strung so thinly that you find yourself not being bothered about whether the guys can get themselves out of their predicament, unlike in the first two films. The reason those movies worked was because you didn't know how the guys ended up the morning after, and the comedic spills that ensued in trying to remember the night before made for good viewing. Change a formula and what you get is a poor imitation. Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms and Zach Galifianakis try their best but struggle to lift this bit of a dud.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I went to see this film just last week at the cinema and I had high expectations as I love the hangover series. I was satisfied. This film granted, was not as good as the second or first one but was still hilarious. People are giving it a right beating just because it's not as good as the first two but it's still quality entertainment. Maybe it's not Todd Philips best film and I did prefer The Hangover Part 1 & 2 and Due Date but i don't think people should be so harsh. This is a hilarious film and a great end to The Hangover Trilogy ;)
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
The first film was great....a newish idea, executed really well.

The second movie was tired...they were expecting audiences to lap up more of the same, but much less funny.

This movie is truly awful. I was watching it all the way through, and with 15 minutes to go I realised I'd only laughed once. And I like laughing!

So many things wrong with it 1) No funny lines, or situations 2) Too much emphasis on Chow for laughs, and he isn't funny anymore because they've overused him 3) Really basic comedy e.g. people swearing loudly, bumping into things 4) Rubbish romantic element between Alan and some woman he meets in a shop, hardly funny, seen it all before.

Really boring movie, and a complete disappointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Very poor film. They could not even think of a new location for the film, obviously thinking if they went back to Vegas they could re create some of the comedy of the first film but they failed. Hopefully they will not make any more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this film, but alas my hubby thought it was poor compared to the other first two films. Each hangover film has been different so it's a matter of personal preference really.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)