Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£24.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2008
This book is very well written and surpassed my expectations. It's more than a book of patterns, there's some basic weaving instruction as well: invaluable stuff like yarn choice and calculating how much yarn you need for a warp. It is beautifully and clearly laid out and extremely well illustrated. Once you've learnt how to put a warp on your loom, you could make good use of this book. It gives instruction for twill weave patterns (or structures), not for finished items. Having said that, you could use these weaves for clothing or furnishing fabrics, for towels or blankets, scarves or shawls. Note: This is the same book as that entitled "Handweaver's Pattern Book".
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
This book is great if you need ideas or just want to follow a simple pattern using 4 shafts. I now have an 8 shaft loom but still use the book regularly if I want to weave using 4. It's very clear with good photographs and there is a section on how to do various things such as finish the piece which I find really useful. Great for beginners!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2013
Great selection of patterns, well laid out in a very well designed and bound book. Don't expect it to tell you how to weave, or set up a loom, it's just what it says, a pattern book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
As a novice weaver who has just purchased an 8 shaft loom, this has been an invaluable guide. It was recommended by a fellow weaver and is held in high regard by many in the weaving fraternity. It is packed full of diagrams and photos depicting the many permutations of pattern that can be produced by varying the warp and weft threads. A great tool for all serious weavers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Excellent book which naturally follows on from the 1950's Marguerite Porter Davison's 'A Handweaver's Pattern Book.' It is very informative and the layout makes it very easy to follow. Best of all it is in full COLOUR! This book is a 'must have' for anyone with a four shaft weaving loom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I teach in the local Tech and I was looking for a book with clear instructions that I could use with the students. This book is the one I used at college and it is great - clear instructions on how to achieve the different weaves as well as information about weaving equipment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
As an owner of a small Lervad four shaft/ six threadles loom, this book with lots of very good photos and explanations is very useful.
The book it self has a great design, spiral bound, practical for such a hand book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Excellent book with lots of photographs and diagrams of each pattern and short explanatory texts to each with yarn choices etc. very happy with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
The range of patterns available for 4 shaft weaving is extraordinary. Drafts are easy to read and follow and will keep me busy for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I wanted a book that would give teach me new skill and I found a bag fo ideas and i search through it often. very good investiment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)