Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars47
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2005
Don't know if its just my copy of the DVD, but it seems to have been edited from the original film - there are short sequences removed here and there, and the whole of the "Friggin In The Riggin" song is gone.
Apart from that, its good to see the chaos that was the pistols relived on this DVD. The live sequences are excellent, and the picture makes an interesting comparsion to the much later "Filth and Fury".
If you liked the Pistols, try it.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2004
This movie is an entertaining look at the sex pistols rise to fame in 10 simple steps, told by manager Malcom Mclaren, its a must see for pistols fans. Although it was released after the death of Sid Vicious and the departure of Johnny Rotten, it still contains rare footage of both, including sid's last ever interview and unreleased studio tracks. Sadly this Film has become a rarity because of the fact it has been discontinued, I have a very bad copy of it on Video Disc and it is very hard to find on VHS, a couple of years ago it was released in Japan on DVD but sadly it wasn't released for long so to find a DVD version is even harder. So Instead of Releasing instead of just releasing Sex Pistols CDs For the pistols 25th Anniversary, Virgin should have released the Great rock n roll swindle on DVD.Hopefully this title will be released on DVD in the near future.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2007
For all fans of the Pistols, & punk generally, this is a great peace of fiction based on the Pistols story told by a man with an ego he would like to believe is the biggest!

Malcolm McLaren pretends to be the main man (as he is prone to), but that doesnt spoil some good parts of this film, including some good tracks & performances.

For a true & better film see Filth & The Fury, a film done by The Pistols with, I believe, Julian Temple again, however this film is worth watching- Just dont believe the tripe!!

(BTW Temple apologised for his part in producing Rock n Roll Swindle)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Watching this again recently reminded me how shocking and original the Pistols were and how good the songs were/are. Some fascinating footage here from South America with Ronnie Biggs et al and Sid in Paris. I liked the McClaren footage of him at the aircraft runway. Steve Jones is definitely a very under rated guitarist. Aamazing how much Nirvana ripped off them and Green Day and countless others. People forget how much re the attitude it was. The 7" single is worth buying too. (Pistols Propaganda).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
not the best film in the world as a little dated but brilliant to have in my collection . More please
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2000
There's really not much to merit in this compilation of The Sex Pistols' finest (ie, filthiest!) moments, although it's funny and ironic in parts, but certainly a product of its time. Maclaren was still enjoying moderate success with his controversial Bow Wow Wow project when this was released, so this was clearly another one of his blatant cash-in's on previous 'successes', but at least he was fairly honest about it.
Hvaing said this, it still accurately portrays the snivelling obnoxiousness of the Pistol's at their peak (no wonder, with a grey mid-70's UK in as depressed a state as it had ever been in), and the fact that they were one of the few bands in history that really did make a difference.
Best Scene : You've got to laugh when Sid Vicious jumps out of bed, stands spreadeagled before the camera and vigourously rubs his 'scrot' through his Y-fronts to the sound of a Steve Jones riff.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
An interesting film in full frame, but clearly & open matt as the sprocket marks are clear on the right side of the screen.

Not a bad copy, extras are a narration & an interview that has sound problems.

As for the film a mix bag or more of a curiosity but a nice companion to add with The Filth & The Fury.

For those into the era or the music, others may wish to steer clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Grew up in this era. This is one of the few films that I saw twice in the cinema (probably because I was in my teens and cat woman took her kit off on it). This is the version where Virgin realised that she was underage and had to rotascope a bikini on her to get past censors and the law. Love the cartoons! God bless the queen eh John?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Having disposed of a mountain of old VHS tapes from the Attic purchased a few of my favourite films of all time on DVD for posterity. Bought used - arrived in excellent condition (Case and DVD.) I look forward to horrifying my Husband and Children (Both adults now!) with this classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
Whilst this is one of the seminal films of all time, this version should be avoided at all costs.
The sound quality is so bad it makes me think whoever did this must have been either deaf or asleep at the wheel.
In so-called "enhanced stereo" (enhanced from what, please? inquiring minds want to know) and "5.1 surround" that
to these ears consists of everything shoved through the centre channel with very little - if anything - around the other 4 channels.
TC Unwrap? Sounds like it to me.
Before anyone tells me that "it's from a mono source" I saw this film on cinema release and it was not in mono then. The sound was far superior to this terrible rendition and believe me that turning it up will not improve matters either.
It's a terrible shame. This could be so good if only there was a decent soundtrack to it.
It reminds me of those discs that some idiots buy from the Chinese guys on the street - pirated with a camera in the back of the cinema?
This disc sounds like that.
Avoid at all costs until they make a decent transfer
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)