The Golden Cup: A Cornwall Family Saga and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Golden Cup: A Cornwal... has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Golden Cup: A Cornwall Family Saga Paperback – 3 Apr 2006

19 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£3.56 £0.01
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.

Frequently Bought Together

The Golden Cup: A Cornwall Family Saga + Memories Of The Storm + Echoes Of The Dance
Price For All Three: £26.97

Buy the selected items together


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi; New Ed edition (3 April 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 055215248X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552152488
  • Product Dimensions: 10.6 x 3.1 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 318,740 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"'Willett's romantic and bewitching novels are always delightfully satisfying'" (Lancashire Evening Post)

"'A warm read about friendship, loyalty and just how far people will go to protect the ones they love'" (Candis)

"Engrossing...will delight Willett's steadily-growing readership" (Yorkshire Post)

Book Description

A heartwarming new novel from the author of The Children's Hour and The Birdcage - perfect for fans of Erica James, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Jenna on 9 July 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This lovely story is about a difficult choice made by a young woman in critical circumstances and the ripple effect this has on her and the next two generations of the family.

Marcia Willett's narrative is set in a beautiful valley leading down to the dramatic North Cornish coastline, and begins by highlighting the frail condition of elderly Honor Trevannion, whose family are gathered around her as she approaches the end of her life. But Honor has a secret, and when an American stranger turns up looking for a long lost relative, old ghosts and feelings are brought to the surface once more. She entrusts her well-loved granddaughter with the task of searching out a bundle of old letters, and through these, Honor's true story is told.

Ms Willet has a wonderful gift for writing evocative and atmospheric prose, and her attention to detail is meticulous. Although the story begins rather slowly, and characters are dropped into the narrative without explanation of who they are in relation to each other, it isn't difficult to start to link them into a framework, as there aren't too many of them. Very gradually the reader is drawn into a web of feelings, portrayed with a skill that catches the attention almost imperceptibly at first, until the reader becomes cradled in this gentle, moving tale, which weaves its way towards its conclusion with great compassion and understanding of human emotions. The captivating, beautifully constructed chapters, populated with characters it is easy to become attached to, create a tale that stays in the memory long after the last page has been turned.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By LindyLouMac on 22 Sept. 2008
Format: Paperback
I have been reading novels written by Marcia Willett since 1995 and this is the eleventh title, so I think it is safe to say I enjoy her stories. They are always an engrossing read and this one is no exception.
Set in Cornwall it is a gentle family saga which starts slowly introducing us gradually to the characters and the surroundings that the estate of `Paradise' is set in. `Paradise' is the family home of the Trevannion family and the current head of the family is Honor Tevannion. At the start of the novel she is already elderly frail and bedridden, the arrival of a young American researching his family history causes her to become very distressed. It is as a result of this visitor that long kept family secrets surface. The family are faced with revelations that change their lives.
The story unfolds as Honor entrusts her granddaughter Joss with the task of revealing her long kept secrets by directing her to a hidden cache of letters written long ago when Honor first arrived back in Cornwall as a young widow. It is through these letters that we are told Honor's story and become involved in the lives of the Trevannion family.
If you a fan of Marcia Willet this is another one worth reading and if this is your first chance to read her work you will find it a compassionate family saga.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful By M. Hibbard on 11 July 2005
Format: Hardcover
I couldn't wait to read another Marcia Willett story, and I was not disappointed! This book was amazing! Lots of fun twists to the plot,that make you want to keep reading hour after hour!!I have read alot(and I'll keep ordering until it's ALL!)of Ms. Willett's books and each one is so unique!The only thing that is the same in all of her books is her ability to make her characters life-like. This, I believe, is what keeps us all coming back to read a new Marcia Willett story!! If you have not read this author,do yourself a favor and check out ANY of her books! Please keep the great stories coming Ms. Willett!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ms. Margaret Mckee on 9 Nov. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a great book - fourth in line of Marcia Willet's favourites for me - such a shocking revelation happens that it takes your breath away and you are apprehensive all the way thru. I got it to lend to friends who I have introduced to Marcia W and they just cant get enough. My first fav is 'The Children's Hour' followed by the three 'Chadwick Chronicles'
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. H. Macpherson on 19 Feb. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As always she never lets you down, different to the others she has written but as always, the story keeps you engrossed, all Marcia fans will not be disappointed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Marcia Willett is great favourite of mine. All her books are enjoyable and this one is no exception, another lovely family story with pleasant sympathetic characters and set in the West country as so many of her books are. Her characters come across as real people with real problems, but these are usually sorted out and all is well in the end. Light reading? Yes, it probably is, but it's also ''feel good'' reading and I would recommend her to anyone wanting a great story, well written and exceedlngly readable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As always, a lovely book by Marcia Willett. I love her books and am now buying them because our local libraries no longer stock them.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Love Marcia Willett, with the flashbacks this book merits careful reading to maintain the thread of the story. A memorable read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback