Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2001
Ignore any bad comments you may hear about this, or that her career was hitting an all time low at the point of this tour, this is madonna at her best. From her sexy entrance in Erotica, to her disco theme in express yourself. Its all here. Theres even a sex romp for whys it so hard and a fab Army theme for holiday. My two favourite songs on here have to be fever (Madonna is having soooooo much fun on that performance!!) and the beautiful rain. Before i saw this, i immediately made assumptions that it wouldnt be as good as her classic blonde ambition concert, but this is everything and more. I just cannot wait for the drowned world concert video. Dont hesitate, buy it now!! Madonna fan, or not, you will not be disappointed. I guarantee it.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2002
From the opening number showing a half-naked dancer sliding down a pole, you know this is gonna be fun. Where Madonna was serious and iconoclastic in Blonde Ambition and Drowned World, this much-overlooked tour is one of her best. It has a vaudeville, circus feeling to it, and it's basically Madonna having some fun.
At the time her career was going through a rough patch, but you can't tell from this. Her voice sounds much better than Blonde Ambition - witness 'Why's It So Hard' and 'La Isla Bonita' - she sounds great. She looks da bomb with a harsh crew-cut and her dancing is top-notch.
She flies through the likes of 'Erotica', 'Vogue', disco-style 'Express Yourself', Marlene Dietrich-style 'Like A Virgin' and even Military-style 'Holiday'. She sits down and harmonises with the best of them on 'Rain', and dresses like a man for 'Bye Bye Baby'.
This is sexy stuff. There's an onstage orgy, topless dancers and very gay themes to all the dances, this being Madonna and her art. But the overall theme is the party theme, and freedom of speech.
A hidden gem in an amazing career, The Girlie Show is classic Madonna.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2001
Madonna takes us through a visual feast of performance art and contemporary dance. From the whip wielding dominatrix in "Erotica" to a Marlene Deitrich performance of "Like a virgin". Best moments are "Justify my love" "Bye bye baby" and an amazing dance sequence at the end of "La isla bonita" Madonna loses herself into her characters her facial expressions change to each mood of each person she plays. Costumes by Dolce e Gabanna and fantastic dancers a must for any Madonna fan. Enjoy!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
This dvd is the last tour madonna performed in australia to date, songs taken from the erotica album. Its pretty saucy and madonna goes beyond provocative. I enjoyed it and was entertained ,it was shot well and is good on dvd. Madonna is at her best live and im sure australia would like her to go back one day.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
I went to see the Girlie Show in London in 1993. My partner did not want to go and was very vocal about it. I made a mix tape of Madonna for our car journey to Wembley, he kept saying "Was this her?". By the time Madonna had been on stage for half an hour you would have thought it was his idea to attend the concert. From the outset Madonna is controversial, funny, honest, even speaking to the fans halfway through while having a rest. Like a Virgin/Falling in Love Again is fab, trashy and classy as only she can do. There is something for everyone here. You will enjoy , so buy it you wont regret it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2001
This is definitely Madonna at her finest. Shot in Australia it has classics like Express Yourself and Like a Virgin as you've never seen them before. Two hours of great concert footage and spectacular costumes, Miss it miss out!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
Madonna is without a doubt the biggest artist in the world. In the video 'Girlie Show' she shows exactly why she is renowned as being that title. This show is one of the best concerts I have ever seen, it's very theatrical and very entertaining! It's definitly worth the money. From her sexy entrance through the floor during the opening number 'Erotica' to the finale of 'Everybody' Madonna keeps the crowd begging for more! Buy this today, you won't regret it!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2001
I was lucky enough to be at the first GIRLIE SHOW in London. Forget all your usual preconceptions about a concert (eg the artist standing in front of a mic, a bit of a dance, changing clothes half way through). This is a theatrical concert. The show starts with a female sliding down a huge GOGO pole. Express Yourself, is done with a DISCO vibe, and Madonna enteres the stage by being lowered on a huge mirror ball. LIKE A VIRGIN is performed in a Marlene Dietrich tribute (Like a Wurgin). HOLIDAY adopts a Military style, which works really well. JUSTIFY MY LOVE has an earie quality about it, and everyone is dressed like the characters from "My Fair Lady", when they are at the races. (everyone moving in sync, as if watching a horse running).
If you never get the chance to see this spectacular and wonderfully imaginative woman in concert, then buy this video and prepare for your spine to tingle.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
Madonna is amazing and always puts on a great show. I recommend this DVD to any Madonna fan, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I got this to remind me of what Madonna was like in concert due to me having MS in my brain, the whole concert was fantastic and lived up to my expectations.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse