Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2014
I own numerous Osprey books and the vast majority of them are excellent.
I was, however, disappointed with the five volumes covering the German Army, as I was expecting them to be like the others in the series dealing with the organisation and structure of the various units and divisions and the major campaigns in which they fought.
Instead, these books deal almost exclusively with the uniforms and insignia.
Whilst they would no doubt be perfect for modellers or collectors, I am afraid that reading about subtle changes in style, fabric, colour and piping etc. makes rather tedious reading for the rest of us.
This could easily be remedied with a slight change to the title, which I feel is somewhat misleading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2008
This book covers the development of German Army uniforms during the years 1939-1940. It is NOT about weapons, equipment, tactics or army life. Neither is a lot of information about the campaigns in Poland, Denmark and Norway, the Low Countries and the Battle of France in this volume.
But if you are interested in uniforms it is a very good introduction (albeit reading about every single buttonhole can be a bit boring ;) ).
The illustrations are excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Yes there was lots of detail in this book, though it's of such a precise nature I can not see its use.

If your looking for a book to help with a ww2 wargame project - look somewhere else
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
see alsoGerman Combat Uniforms, 1939-45 you must also get Luftwaffe Air and Ground Crew 1939-1945 (Men-at-arms)
with this The German Army, 1939-45: Blitzkrieg v. 1 (Men-at-arms)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
This is excellent research material, the Osprey series of books has become the standard for students and modellers alike. This edition is no exception another good publication.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Another excellent Osprey book. Informative and Well illustrated.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Good book, arrived within revised estimate time,*****.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
I love it needed for modellers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
The coverage of the German Army Uniforms of the period is very good.There are several intricate points and the weaponry is well covered .I would recommend this as a good handbook to writers or short story writers who were going to include Wehrmacht
forces in their story .It would also be good for war gamers seeking to paint figures.It also leads to more specialist uniforms and details in the Bibliography. A good useful tool for reference as well as interest.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
Unneccessary series on German Soldier, rechewing much info from other Osprey books including pics.

Plates amateur-crude.

Save your money on complete series!

Completly overpriced!!

Just a con by Osprey when they started to notice that they could line their pockets easily.
0Comment2 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.