The Gathering Of The Lost: The Wall of Night: Book Two and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £1.80 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Gathering Of The Lost... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Over 2 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Gathering Of The Lost: The Wall of Night: Book Two Paperback – 21 Feb 2013


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.19
£1.06 £0.01
£7.19 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Gathering Of The Lost: The Wall of Night: Book Two + The Heir Of Night: The Wall of Night: Book One + Throne of Glass: 1
Price For All Three: £19.67

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (21 Feb. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0356500039
  • ISBN-13: 978-0356500034
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 3.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 204,718 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Helen Lowe's Wall of Night series has the potential to become a classic, right up there with the likes of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire . . . Anyone who loves to read fantastic fiction from a true talent should read this series."--SF Site --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

The second instalment in this incredibly addictive fantasy series - perfect for readers of Robin Hobb, George R. R. Martin and Elizabeth Moon. Epic fantasy from a David Gemmell Award-winning author.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 4 May 2012
Format: Paperback
This is the 2nd book in the Wall of Night series and it is fantastic. Old character are reintroduced,we meet many new ones and admittedly, it gets a bit confusing but do stick with it. Haarth turns out to be a very complex,vivid and interesting world occupied by a varied population. Betrayal runs deep, friends cannot be told apart from foes and the Darkswarm (ancient enemies of the Derai) seem to have infiltrated every part of life in Haarth.

My advice is "don't skip" as you will inevitably miss something vital that will only be revealed as the story continues and to be honest, you would be doing the book an injustice.

Helen Lowe has created a rich and vivid world told with a beautiful flow to the words where, the characters don't just jump off the page, they grab you and take you into their stories until you care so much, you need to know what happens to them.

I loved the revelations and,as said by others, thought, "of course!". The clues were there all along but they were given so subtly that you simply could not have guessed.

I loved this book and would go as far as saying that this is my best read of the year. I just hope it doesn't take Lowe too long to print the next installment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By April on 14 July 2012
Format: Paperback
"The Gathering of the Lost" is the second book in The Wall of Night quartet by Helen Lowe. I liked the first book "The Heir of Night" but "The Gathering of the Lost" is better. This book starts 5 years after the events in "The Heir of Night" with the same characters while introducing new ones at the same time. Just be patient and keep reading - Malian and Kalan eventually appear. Malian is the one doing the `gathering' of the title. There is a very touching romantic side story in this fantasy that reads like a political thriller in some parts. There are a lot of things going on and there are revelations. To say more would give too much away.

This book is worth getting and reading. I really enjoyed this well-balanced book. It had the right mix of story-telling, intrigue, character development, action and romance in it for me. It held my attention as a reader. As parts are revealed, the story shifts to another character, then goes back to the previous character who has moved a little further along from the point the reader last saw them, thus avoiding surplus details which can really pad out a book. The reader ends up getting the viewpoints of several characters scattered all over Haarth.

This is very rare for me but I experienced a need to read "The Heir of Night" again after reading "The Gathering of the Lost". I wanted to read "The Heir of Night" again before I started on the second book but didn't have time. There is a lot of information relevant to the story, hidden in discreet details within the easy flow of the writing. Some readers will be surprised once it is out in the open, I know I was. To get the full benefit of this book, I think one would need to read "The Heir of Night" to get the start of it and the history which contributes to the current story.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Cornus on 14 Oct. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the first book but this book was just too detailed for me and there were too many characters all behaving slightly mysteriously, and it all became too much for me around 2/3 through the book when I gave up. I think I didn't pay enough attention to who the characters are when they were being introduced, and how they are related to each other, so I eventually got mightily confused (it didn't help that the names were similar and also not great reading it on Kindle, because it's not that easy to go to the glossary where there is a helpful description of the many characters). So my advice is: read this on paper.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 3 April 2012
Format: Paperback
Having enjoyed Helen's debut last year I was interested to see how the story would expand in the second novel as well as seeing if the quality and world building would continue to expand. What unfurled within was a story that was not only haunting but one that allowed the character to grow into the role that she's discovering she's destined for.

Add to this solid writing, a fluid descriptive style which is almost cinematic and all in it's a title that really announces the author to the fantasy world as more than a one shot wonder. Finally throw into this a cracking plot outline and enough twists to keep the reader confused and it'll make you demand the third part after the last page is turned.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. Teresa L. Kasafir on 4 May 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
It felt as though the author wasn't quite sure where she was going. Made me think that perhaps she had been pushed by her publishers to make a fat two-book story into a slimmer book trilogy. Nonetheless, though it took a little more effort to read, following the different storylines and wondering where it was going, she kept me reading, and I was happy I had persevered. I look forward to book 3.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By veggiehotdog on 27 July 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed the first book in this series but was left a bit disappointed by The Gathering Of The Lost. It took me the best part of a year to read because it failed to hold my interest and I kept reading other books instead!

To me it was a typical example of all filler and no killer, although annoyingly it started to get interesting again at the end so I might have to read the next one!

I felt like the sheer volume of new characters and places introduced without proper introduction left me feeling bored and turned off. The existing characters weren't developed much further leaving me with very little affinity for them, especially Malian.

On the plus side I find the ideas behind the story really interesting and enjoy how the author's descriptive style brings to life the more magical aspects. However on the whole this book wasn't a fun read so I probably wouldn't recommend it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback