The Game of Our Lives and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Pre-order The Game of Our Lives for your Kindle today.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Game of Our Lives: The Meaning and Making of English Football [Hardcover]

David Goldblatt


Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £8.01  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £8.43  

Book Description

30 Oct 2014

The Game of Our Lives by David Goldblatt - How Football Made Britain Great

In the last two decades football in Britain has made the transition from a peripheral dying sport to the very centre of our popular culture, from an economic basket-case to a booming entertainment industry. What does it mean when football becomes so central to our private and political lives? Has it enriched us or impoverished us?

In this sparkling book David Goldblatt argues that no social phenomenon tracks the momentous economic, social and political changes of the post-Thatcherite era in a more illuminating manner than football, and no cultural practice sheds more light on the aspirations and attitudes of our long boom and now calamitous bust. A must-read for the thinking football fan, The Game of Our Lives will appeal to readers of The Numbers Game, I am the Secret Footballer and fans of Malcolm Gladwell and Michael Lewis.

'Goldblatt doesn't just understand the social context of the game. He also has a nose for the best stories' Simon Kuper on The Ball Is Round

David Goldblatt is the author of The Ball Is Round: A Global History of Football (Penguin, 2007), the definitive historical account of the world's game. For a number of years he wrote a sports column in Prospect magazine. He has made a number of acclaimed documentaries for BBC Radio 4 and for the World Service, including ones on football in Jerusalem and the politics of the game in Kenya. He has also taught the sociology of the sport at the University of Bristol.



Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

David Goldblatt is the author of The Ball Is Round: A Global History of Football (Penguin, 2007), the definitive historical account of the world's game, and of Futebol Nation (Penguin, 2014), a highly acclaimed footballing history of Brazil. For a number of years he wrote a sports column in Prospect magazine and has made a number of documentaries for BBC Radio 4 and for the World Service, including ones on football in Jerusalem and the politics of the game in Kenya. He has also taught the sociology of sport at the University of Bristol, at De Montfort University, Leicester, and at Pitzer College, Los Angeles. He lives in Bristol.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
This item has not been released yet and is not eligible to be reviewed.

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback