Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2011
This book is an elongated rant about the record companies that dominated the music scene for the last few decades. This is not necessarily a bad thing; record companies are monoliths that have had their day. Digital downloading has overtaken the sale of C.D.'s, but instead of going with the tide the record companies have tried to ban those downloaders that wouldn't play the game, i.e. downloaded illegally. Trying to reign in these people is fruitless and almost impossible. The book likens the process to suing someone because the book they bought has been lent to someone else.

Apart from the above there is another major point made in this book and that is the paradigm shift from music as a product to music as a service. Music is being supplied to compliment daily activities, not as a construct that has a singular use. This shift in music's use is both inevitable and consequential. It is what the public want, and whether or not the record industry needs it, the public is redefining the way we listen to music.

This book is essential for anyone related to music, either as a listener, perpetrator or educator.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
A brilliant, insightful look at the changing way music sits in our lives. Wonderfully written, perfectly paced and the kind of book you can come back to again and again. A desert island book for sure.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2007
I made my final thesis for my school(Tampere Polytechnic university of art & media)about web 2.0 and the future of music. This book was the best I could find that covered every aspect of the music business and answered all of my questions. Gerd Leonhard's and David Kusek's thoughts and ideas for the future of the music business are brilliant and I recommend this book for everyone who is in the music business or plays in a band. It's a MUST.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2007
This is a good read for musicians and producers alike. It gives an insight into the prospects of the future of music, but it lacks the practical advice of The Future of the Music Business.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
With the current change in the record industry, this book explains how and why the current music industry trends have had to change and the effect this has on all music businesses. The book came in excellent condition and I have already started to use quotes from it on the BTEC and Rockschool music business courses I teach on. I think the last update was 2007, although everything the authors have mentioned has either happened or is due to happen. I can't wait for a new update. Can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
This book was a core text in my Music Busyness course,
it was very helpful, even that it's a bit outdated(2005),
but there're updates on their website [...]

The book wasn't new, with pencil remarks all over it, but that's what I paid for,
so no complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Wow, the future's great! Music is like water, only sounds better and doesn't get you wet! Wow, isn't the internet great? Wow, join my expensive course at Berklee! File with other manifestos under Recycle. In summary, really don't bother.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
An insightful book based on global and historic industry patterns that predict an accurate future [im reading it late!]. Still valuable, still excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
I guess back in 2007 it was worthy book to read, at least to wake up and jump on the train of digital music. But now authors should seriously re-evaluate this book with "future" tendencies. To sum up the main idea: choose streaming, instead of selling!

Ok, streaming is probably a solution. Probably, because I don't see how the majors will feed their artists, if p2p fans will pay let's say $15 for unlimited access to media? It's too little to have cost recoup! And what about jailbreaks of streamed media? It cuts again your commission.

It's weak book for the Berklee college of music, and I'm suspicious that it was build up for the Online Berklee course "The Future of Music and the Music Business" where this document is required. I'm wondering what you can learn further about Future of Music for friendly $1400? Personally, I would prefer crash regularly on MIDEM and catch up with visioneers there for that money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Most of what the authors were saying 10 years ago has now come true. Fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)