Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£21.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2007
This exquisitely photographed book takes you on a journey into the English countryside by way of sharing a year in the life of an English Country Flower shop, set deep in the heart of Wiltshire. Through her beautiful photography Sally captures the flowers and how they are used by people to mark significant moments in their lives, not only births, marriages and deaths, but the 'I bought you these, just because.....'moments too. The accompanying anecdotes in the text enable a glimpse into people's lives and the combination of this and the photography makes you feel part of the world she depicts and, if you're like me, want to be part of it too! There are even tips dotted about the book on how to look after your own flowers. I was given the book as a gift and I can think of no better present for someone who loves England, flowers and is interested in people.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
Open this book and have your faith in our beautiful country restored!!! Forget self-help and therapy-based books, step inside Sally's book with its fabulous photography and soothing words and you will be transported to a calmer place. It made me think of the many positive things happening in this busy life we all lead and the many acts of kindness and thoughtfulness which occur every day, up and down the country - a wonderful polarisation of the negative which worms its way into daily life.

A great present for someone who needs to just 'sit' and reflect!! Plus some great ideas and tips.

STOP PRESS!! Have just received the 'Christmas' version - taking the reader through the 12 days of Christmas - another absolutely beautiful book. Look no further for a present for someone who appreciates flowers and all things related. Gorgeous!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2009
This is such a beautifully written book which, at times, brought a tear to my eye with its emotion.

Sally truly makes you feel as if you are in the shop, watching the hustle & bustle go by.

As a 1st year floristry student, I loved it - But I would recommend this to anyone who loves flowers.

Lovely photos & stories, plus the odd floristry tip.

Food for the soul indeed, I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
I purchased these books as gifts for friends who are interested in flowers and their gardens. It is a lovely gift for people who love flowers but also for anyone who wants to know what it is like to live in a typical country village. The book is not only an interesting read but also has useful snippets of information about keeping flowers fresh and what flowers and foliage to use for different arrangements. The phtographs are beautiful. Even if flowers are not your thing, it is a lovely book just to leave on the coffee table and pick up and browse through from time to time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
"The Flower Shop" by Sally Page is more than just an indulgent and luxurious coffee table book.

Each page is a personal invitation for you to taste every detail, from the momentous to the mudane, of the lives of people who pass through the charming Wiltshire village of Tisbury and stop at "Ted Martin: Flowers & China". The moment you pick up and open Sally's book, you feel like you have opened the door, walked into her shop and have been one of her treasured customers or friends for years.

The quality of the photography is stunning. It makes "Homes & Gardens" or "Gardens Illustrated" look like seed catalogues by comparison.

But this book is more than just a delight to the senses or a feast for the gardener's or flower-lover's eyes. The subject matter is the beauty of life itself - in all it's familiar and surprising floral, human and rural forms.

With each chapter you are taken through the seasons of the year one month at a time, savouring the flowers, colours and people from that time of year in all their natural beauty.

But what makes this book really special is that this "year in the life of an English country flower shop" is illustrated not only by the camera but also by amusing and touching stories of the flower shop customers' lives, garnished with eclectic quotations from the likes of AA Milne, Robert Burns and Vita Sackville-West.

Like it's subject matter, this book is a perfect gift for any occasion and a lot cheaper than a bunch of flowers!

But beware: like all good presents, when you get your hands on it, you will want to keep it for yourself!

So, buy two!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Another Sally Page book and I love it, very English very lovely, all about the coming and goings in an english flower shop, a truely good read and beautiful photo's, I will keep these books forever and look forward to any furture books that Sally writes. Thank you Sally your books and friends are wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
I bought this lovely book as a birthday present for a friend of mine, having flicked through it I wish I had kept it. What a beautiful book, full of fabulous flowers and little anecdotes and tips. This would make a beautiful gift for anyone who loves flowers, or a special treat for yourself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
I devoured this book in one sitting. While it wasn't the insight into running a flower shop I thought it was going to be it's a lovely angle of running a flower shop that I had not considered researching!

A lovely read regardless of your level of interest in flowers & flower shops!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
Gave this to my mum for Christmas and she is really pleased with it. She enjoys flower arranging so this is just up her street. The photos are gorgeous and although there is little text there is just enough to get some useful tips and ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2008
This book has the odd tiny paragraph here and there but is mainly a picture book, and what great pictures they are. A beautiful shop pictured throughout the year... it really makes me determined to complete my florists course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.