Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Fifth Sacred Thing: A Visionary Novel Paperback – 2 Aug 1999


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£10.35
Paperback, 2 Aug 1999
£12.09
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"


Product details

  • Paperback: 488 pages
  • Publisher: Thorsons; (Reissue) edition (2 Aug 1999)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0722538898
  • ISBN-13: 978-0722538890
  • Product Dimensions: 19.4 x 13 x 3.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,039,884 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

‘Slated to be one of the great visionary utopian novels of the century.’
Marion Zimmer Bradley

‘This is wisdom wrapped in drama.’
Tom Hayden, California state senator

From the Back Cover

It is San Francisco, 2048. Priestess Maya Greenwood lives in a tight-knit community run on ecological principles, without poverty, hunger, or hatred, where a rich culture honours its diverse mix of races, religions and sexual orientations, and the Four Sacred Things that sustain life – earth, air, fire and water – are valued above all. The Fifth is Spirit.

In this, Starhawk’s first novel, Maya Greenwood suddenly finds her idyllic world threatened by invasion from the militaristic state to the north: a nightmare place where a totalitarian regime polices a corrupt apartheid state. How can her community, which doesn’t believe in violence, defend themselves?

California is poised to become a battleground between two clashing cultures, and the outcome rests on the wisdom and courage of the community, and particularly in the strength and vision of the extraordinary Priestess Maya. In the tradition of Margaret Atwood’s 'The Handmaid’s Tale', Starhawk’s visionary novel creates a complex fictional reality about love and war, freedom and slavery, and the future of the living planet.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 12 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By yummyumm@hotmail.com on 15 Feb 2000
Format: Paperback
A true beauty. This novel magically weaves the link between fantasy and our "reality". A true beauty. To be honest I didn't expect the novel to be that good. It looked to me to be another new age, crystals and horror scopes type setting. But upon reading I discovered the errors of my judgements. The author displays an understanding of many worlds, from that of arcane magic and shamanism to practical community planning and biology. A gifted writer who succedes in her prowess as a communicator. Thank you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By king.queen@iname.com on 6 July 2000
Format: Paperback
Instead of the "doom and gloom" stories of science fiction, or the "wonder" type, this book accepts the faults in the human race and the legacy this has created for the Earth, and examines an obtainable way forward, through community and respect for the Earth in her four manifestations. Beautifully written, thought-provoking, amazing book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A. J. Dean on 26 May 2008
Format: Paperback
An inspiring and thought provoking book that explores a possible scenario of a post industrial collapse/ peak oil / climate change society. One of the few people who have come up with a positive vision for that future while contrasting it with a horrific extrapolation of the way we operate now. At the beginning I worried that it was going to be too new-agey for me but after the first few pages I was gripped and couldn't put it down. Very enjoyable and definitely recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By B. Skinner on 8 Dec 2008
Format: Paperback
Incredible. Such a powerful book written with both elegance and brutality, when it comes to seeing both sides of war and pacifism. Very good ending as well, always a bonus to a book you can't stop reading.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Ms. C. I. Jones on 26 May 2010
Format: Paperback
A wonderful book. Not often I read fiction but I'm so glad I read this one. Just couldn't put it down once I started reading it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Southampton girl on 19 April 2003
Format: Paperback
Amazing. It sounds dramatic but, this book changed the way I looked at life!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback