Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: 3.07

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Fifth Profession [Hardcover]

David Morrell
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
RRP: 24.76
Price: 23.20 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 1.56 (6%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover 23.20  
Paperback --  
Audio, CD, Audiobook 20.32  
Audio Download, Unabridged 9.35 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

May 1990
The story of executive protection, highly trained men and women who must always be one step ahead of the terrorists and kidnappers who threaten the client.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product details

  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; 1st Edition edition (May 1990)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0446515620
  • ISBN-13: 978-0446515627
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 15.2 x 3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,670,258 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
No single historical event marks the origin of Savage's profession. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 99% great... 14 Nov 2007
Format:Hardcover
I love David Morrell books. But this one... It's a great story, a great hook, great characters, great writing but...the ending , oh , the ending. It's like the final chapter of the book is just tacked on by another writer. What happened, David? Did you tire of your own story?
The entire book is a mystery and you can't wait to find out about what the answer is. And the way it's handled, it's just at odds with the rest of the book. One stinky, little chapter exlains it alls! And ruins it!
Some answers that are really momentous and mindboogling are handled with one line of text, and that's it.
I can't recommend this, the bad ending just ruins an otherwise great book.
And as i said before, I normally love David Morrell book (I have most of them in my bookcase and have read them several times over the years) so consider that when I trash this book
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely love it 15 Mar 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This was the first book by David Morrell that i ever read.

Absolutely loved it.. The characters are well thought out, and a lot of research goes into flushing out the plots and locations. This lead me to read virtually every book he has ever written.

If you have never read any of his books, give this a ago.. you will get hooked
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable! 18 Aug 2005
By E. Laws
Format:Mass Market Paperback
From the outset this was one of those books I couldn't put down, its as good as any of Morrell's other books, if not better.
What starts off as an ordinary account of a professional bodyguard soon becomes a trail of intrigue, deceit and deception. For Savage and Akira its a matter of their entire foundation as they work together to find out the truth of their past.
Completely compelling all the way through.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violent page turner 19 Dec 1999
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This is typical of David Morrell's stuff: a good, thrilling, professional killer book. It's got the odd stupid plot twist, notably towards the end, but his writing style is easy to read and his detail is good. Definitely worth the fiver.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars  60 reviews
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adventure to the extreme 23 Sep 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
" The Fifth Profession " by David Morrell is a non stop page turner full of action and a twisting plot through out. The novel is about the adventure of two "Ronin" (bodygaurds) sworn to find the answer behind their nightmares. Savage is an ex American Navy Seal who is a professional bodyguard who takes high risk jobs. He specializes in security, hand to hand combat, and weaponrey. Akira who is also a Ronin is a brilliant Japaness who is a master of samuria and protection. Both men are subject to a shocking event when they meet for the first time on a job. Months later they suprisingly meet each other again and embark on a journey to find out what or who pulled them through hell and back. This book takes you from the streets of New York to Japan, this mystery is full of intrigue and great action. Thought you don't learn any morals from reading this book you learn alot about Japaness folklore and culture. A must read for any adventure/mystery reader.
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Japanese background, large plot holes 3 Nov 2000
By Lisa Shea - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
"The Fifth Profession" by David Morrell is an intriguing tale of two bodyguards stuck with "false memories". They both believe they saw something traumatic, but find that item after item in their recollections did not actually happen. I've run a feudal Japan newsletter for over 10 years, so my main interest in this story was with the Japanese samurai tradition covered, as well as the bodyguard ethics.
The main teller of the story is American, but his counterpart is Japanese, and there are many interesting aspects to his personality and background. Part of the story takes place in Japan, in various areas of both city and country. The bodyguard was trained by a skilled ninja-type (of course) and the descriptions of their fighting style are also intriguing.
The narrative examines the background of Japan as the plot wends its way here and there. Readers learn various stories such as the 47 ronin, and backgrounds of the tea ceremony, zen gardening, bushido, and more.
While this book is not really meant to teach about Japan, the writer did a good job of researching his topic and slips much of the information in as casual background to the story.
If you can accept some of the plot holes at the end of the story, and don't worry very much about details that do not quite match up, this is a very enjoyable book!
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Morrell's Best 26 Aug 2001
By Phil - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The first David Morrell books that I read years ago absolutely enthralled me. "The Fraternity of the Stone" and "The Brotherhood of the Rose" blended action with logic (the reader knows the logic that the protagonist is using to make each move) and threw in touches of Western and Eastern spirituality. What a combination! Expecting the same quality of books, I recently read some of Morrell's newer books. Wow...was I disappointed! It seemed that Morrell had gone the way of Sidney Sheldon and some other talented writers. Producing quality books had given way to cranking out manuscripts as quickly as possible. "The Fifth Profession" represents some of Morrell's best writing. Most readers who enjoyed "The Fraternity of the Stone" and "The Brotherhood of the Rose" will love this one.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably Morrell's worst 21 Jan 2009
By Bradley Nelson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I've read several of Morrell's books and have become quite a fan. While I've gradually given up the thriller novels, I still like to read Morrell for his clever plots and skilled writing. This book, however, was a severe disappointment. Sure, the plot was decent, if a bit more far-fetched than Morrell tends to be.

My biggest problem was the dialogue. Morrell is too talented of a writer to let him off the hook for this. None of the dialogue is natural. Rather than describe things in the narrative, he uses the dialogue. It was painful to read.

Check out Brotherhood of the Rose and Fraternity of the Stone, two of his best.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very intricately plotted 10 Jun 2005
By Shikari - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Morrell delivers yet again with his knockout which plunges the reader into a gigantic labyrinth of switchbacks as we are introduced to the characters, their lives, their countries, and their cultures. Breathless!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xb0835dec)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback