Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
The Farm
 
See larger image
 

The Farm [Kindle Edition]

Tom Rob Smith
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (216 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £12.99
Kindle Price: £5.70 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £7.29 (56%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Whispersync for Voice

Now you can switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible audiobook. Learn more or scan your Kindle library to find matching professional narration for the Kindle books you already own.

‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

Review

'On rare occasions, an author pulls off the high-wire act of writing a crime-oriented novel that easily transcends the genre. The Farm is one of these. In the vein of Miss Smilla's Sense of Snow and le Carr's A Perfect Spy, the tale brilliantly choreographs the collision of the present with the familial past. Author Smith takes a new direction here, but his skills are as finely honed as ever, with this tale that's both a page turner and a searing examination of the lives of our protagonist, his lover and his family. Structurally innovative and stylistically resonant, The Farm is a remarkable achievement' - Jeffery Deaver

'Chilling, hypnotic and thoroughly compelling. You will not read a better thriller this year' - Mark Billingham

'Tom Rob Smith has created a truly original and chilling thriller, which makes you ask yourself: who would I believe?' - Jojo Moyes

'This is a neatly plotted book full of stories within stories, which gradually unravel to confound our expectations...Smith's twisting, turning novel shows that Scandi crime also retains the ability to surprise and thrill' - Guardian

'A mind-blowing, addictive plot that will have you on the edge of your seat, tearing through the pages as the truth involving a missing teenage girl, Swedish folklore and some sinister neighbours slowly leaks out' - Stylist

'A pacey page-turner with an ending you'll be dying to talk about' - Good Housekeeping

'A taut and atmospheric psychological thriller, which keeps the reader guessing until the very end...Rob Smith breaks new ground, geographically and stylistically...the story is compelling, well-crafted and gripping...an excellent and unusual thriller'- Irish Independent

'Tom Rob Smith returns with a brilliant psychological thriller...An eerie ride, perfect for fans of Gone Girl' -Viv Groskop's Recommended Reads, Red

'Tom Rob Smith breathes new life into the landscape, transcending the traditional crime fiction genre with an intricately-knitted thriller steeped in mythology. In The Farm, Rob Smith demonstrates the same craftsmanship that saw his highly-acclaimed novel Child 44 claim the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer and long-listed for the Manbooker Prize, among its many plaudits. This latest offering is a tapestry of fairytales old and new; so unsettling and oppressive that it blurs the distinctions between sanity and madness, reality and fantasy, leaving the reader guessing until the bitter end' - Independent

'The author of smash-hit period thriller Child 44 (soon to be a film starring Tom Hardy) shifts style for this satisfying and original psychological thriller' - 5 star review, Heat

'An absorbing, upsetting, multi-layered novel;beautifully crafted, its effect enhanced by the author's admission that his own family faced a similar experience' - The Times

'Child 44 was one of those rare books that managed to thrill both the Booker judges and the Richard and Judy brigade. The Farm is, perhaps, even better. It is so good, in fact, that you will finish it quickly and then be jealous of anyone that hasn't read it yet' - Independent on Sunday

'Gripping, atmospheric...This absorbing novel thrives on gradually revealing the intimate details of lives, showing how they become hidden not only from strangers, but from those closest to them. The relationship between parents and children is excellently explored as the author traces the toxic effect of lies and reveals some shocking home truths.' - Observer

Product Description

The Farm is an addictive psychological thriller from the bestselling author of international publishing sensation Child 44. A suspenseful and pacey page-turner with two sides to the story, and plot twists where you'd least expect, The Farm is destined to be one of the top psychological thrillers of all time and asks the reader to make a choice: who would you believe in a crisis, your mother or your father?' This Scandi-thriller from the author of Child 44 confounds all expectations' Guardian
If you refuse to believe me, I will no longer consider you my son...
Daniel believed that his parents were enjoying a peaceful retirement on a remote farm in Sweden, the country of his mother's birth. But with a single phone call, everything changes.
Your mother...she's not well, his father tells him. She's been imagining things - terrible, terrible things. In fact, she has been committed to a mental hospital.
Before Daniel can board a plane to Sweden, his mother calls: Everything that man has told you is a lie. I'm not mad... I need the police... Meet me at Heathrow.
Daniel is immediately caught between his parents - whom to believe, whom to trust? He becomes his mother's unwilling judge and jury. Presented with a horrific crime, a conspiracy that implicates his own father, Daniel must examine the evidence and decide for himself: who is telling the truth? And he has secrets of his own that for too long he has kept hidden...
In a thrilling novel as transfixing as it is meticulously crafted, Tom Rob Smith creates a community, a family, a marriage and a mind in crisis, striking to the very heart of the relationship between a mother and her son.
Tom Rob Smith is the bestselling author of Booker-longlisted Child 44, a multi-million-copy bestseller and now a major film starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman and directed by Daniel Espinosa. Among its many honours, Child 44 won the International Thriller Writer Award for Best First Novel, the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer, the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and the inaugural Desmond Elliot Prize. The Secret Speech and Agent 6, both bestsellers, complete the Child 44 trilogy.
The Farm, praised by writers as diverse as Jeffery Deaver, Jojo Moyes and Mark Billingham, is Tom Rob Smith's new Swedish-set psychological thriller, and will cement his place as one of the most original, assured writers of his generation. Fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Jo Nesbo's The Son will be thrilled to discover Tom Rob Smith, who has been widely praised for his mastery of suspense.

About the Author

Born in 1979 to a Swedish mother and an English father, Tom Rob Smith's bestselling novels in the Child 44 trilogy were international publishing sensations. Among its many honours, Child 44 won the International Thriller Writer Award for Best First Novel, the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer, the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and the inaugural Desmond Elliot Prize. Child 44 is now a major motion picture starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman.
‹  Return to Product Overview