The Fame Game: A Novel and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£1.98
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK. Your order will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Fame Game Paperback – 1970

2 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£5.00
Paperback
"Please retry"
£2.50 £0.01



Product details

  • Paperback
  • Publisher: Pan; paperback / softback edition (1970)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0330487957
  • ISBN-13: 978-0330487955
  • ASIN: B002C0XZI0
  • Product Dimensions: 19.8 x 13.2 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,408,114 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

1st Pan paperback, vg+ In stock shipped from our UK warehouse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Lawyeraau HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on 9 Feb. 2012
Format: Paperback
This is simply a trashy, enjoyable novel about the entertainment industry, with its preoccupation with money, sex, and drugs. The author tells a cautionary tale about life in the fast lane, and the things that can happen when one falls prey to the call of the fame game.

The characters are diverse, as are the storylines that bind them. I can't say that any one of the characters is particularly compelling or likable, but their stories will most certainly keep the reader turning the pages to see what happens to them. The book is definitely a guilty pleasure. Fans of Jacqueline Susann and Jackie Collins will, undoubtedly, enjoy this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By margaret fletcher on 21 Oct. 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I first read this book when it came out. I tried to get it over the years and was unable to find it until a few weeks ago. The book arrived quickly and I enjoyed reading it again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4 reviews
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
A Brilliant Novel About Life In The Show-Business Fast Lane. 24 April 1998
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
I think that Jackie Collins and Rona Jaffe are two of the best writers around since they can create characters who you see so much of yourselves in.

In the Fame Game, you actually thought you were an invisible person actually seeing how people rise to the top and the high price that they pay with sex, drugs, and alcohol. From Sam Leo Libra's brilliant marketing campaigns to the calm efficiency that Gerry Thompson, his secretary provided for the clients, the action never lags.

You sympathized with all the characters from "Bonnie Parker" after being told her career was over as a model to the animosity when Silky Morgan, of Silky and the Satins goes from being the lead singer to the diamond in the rough star much to the anger of her four singing partners, you see that the people who seem to have everything don't always have everything. A fascinating novel.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Not brilliant at all! 22 Jan. 2013
By C. Mathieu - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I am in the process of reading all 17 or 18 Rona Jaffe novels in chronological order from the first (The Best of Everything) until the last (Room-mating Season).
After I was so disappointed from "The Other Woman", I was expecting more from "The Fame Game".
However, Gerry's experiences didn't interest me.
I must say that authors like Jacqueline Susann (Valley of the Dolls) and Grace Metalious (Return to Peyton Place) have covered this topic much much better than Miss Jaffe.
One star is the most I can rate for this book.
I'm hoping that "Family Secrets" will be a lot better in comparison.

"Class Reunion" is without any doubt Jaffe's master piece and I'm not expecting to find another novel that will compel me as much, but I'm now hoping for a novel that will be a lot better than "The Best of Everything", "The Other Woman", "The Fame Game" and "Mazes and Monsters".

I can only agree with the other reviewer Tawn Tawn that this is not a brilliant book at all. Too bad!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
WHEN YOU WISH UPON A STAR... 13 April 2011
By Lawyeraau - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
This is simply a trashy, enjoyable novel about the entertainment industry, with its preoccupation with money, sex, and drugs. The author tells a cautionary tale about life in the fast lane, and the things that can happen when one falls prey to the call of the fame game.

The characters are diverse, as are the storylines that bind them. I can't say that any one of the characters is particularly compelling or likable, but their stories will most certainly keep the reader turning the pages to see what happens to them. The book is definitely a guilty pleasure. Fans of Jacqueline Susann and Jackie Collins will, undoubtedly, enjoy this book.
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Not Brilliant 17 May 2004
By TawnTawn - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Unknown Binding
I found this book in a used book store. My copy was printed in 1970 and apparently had never been touched since, since I found a insert for an advertisement by Rod Serling to send off for a correspondence course with a writing school.

I did read The Best of Everything by Rona Jaffe and loved it and have re-read it many times. This book was a huge disappointment in comparison. It was as though she was trying to copy Jackie Susann, almost paraphrasing her at times. And it just did not work.

All the characters were shallow, not credible, and for the most part extremely unlikeable. For instance, Gerri was supposed to be so strong and sure of herself, yet she falls madly in love with a cold, distant jerk who really wants to be with boys, and then becomes engaged to a still-married child-molesting moron. What's so great about these guys is never explained. She's 26, and has 5 years of publicity work in Rome and Paris. Later, it only mentions 2 years (twice). So which is it? Also, Gerri's job as Girl Friday lasts 12 hours a day, however she does get a 2 hour lunch break and 2 hour dinner break - that would make it an 8 hour day, right? Her important tasks include mailing out Christmas cards and calling clients with updated schedules. This is why I can't figure out the ending - it makes no sense at all.

The theme throughout is women with low self-esteem falling in love with undeserving, uninteresting men whom the women are dying to marry. A couple of the women note that it is the man who would have everything to lose and have to give up so much by marrying. Yeah, such as what?

I tried, but just couldn't find any redeeming qualities in this book. Overall very depressing and a waste of time.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback