Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2011
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7 - for my holiday there this year I'll be taking three maps). I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

You could do well to buy a map case to keep it dry. Alternatively, you can buy a waterproofed edition of the map - the "Active" version which costs a few pounds more.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
review image
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
This map covers the South East Lake District at an excellent scale for walkers, cyclists, and for other outdoor pursuits. Okay, it's a map, but that's not the important part. These active maps by the OS were a great idea! For a long time the only way to stop maps being destroyed by bad weather was to use a plastic wallet, but these had one clear disadvantage - what if you needed to look at a different part of the map? Either risk destroying it by refolding it whilst exposing it to the full force of the wind and rain, or try to do it in your bag. With these laminated maps, you can leave them out in the rain all day, and still they're completely undamaged by the weather. They're a little more unwieldy than the non-laminated maps, but are currently the best all-weather maps available.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
The maps done by Ordinance Survey are brilliant maps, full of detail and full off information and last for ages. Especally the fully waterproof one's like this which helps keep dry especally if your like me and liable to drop it some where damp. The explorer maps are a nice scale for walking and you are able to pin point your position exactly with it's detail. Only downside with laminated maps if you fold them the wrong way (which you have to do sometimes to see the other side) it does damage evntually. But they are very durable and the best out there.
As for the area. The lakes are the most breath taking areas in the country. But you proply know that and if you probably plan on going there if you where looking at this map. So simple as, these are the best maps you can find, so walkers, explorers, climbers etc. it's a must. If you buying for driving it may be better getting something bigger because theres maybe to much detail for that, but other than buy it.
But like most of the Lakes this area is beatiful so go and enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Bought this map as a present, and it has been thoroughly tested in typical Cumbrian weather: drizzle and wind with showers of heavy rain. The recipient has not thrown it in any puddles yet, but it's stood up well to the conditions it's been exposed to. It's heavier and stiffer than a regular map, and that makes it much more usefull in windy conditions.

Would certainly buy those for other areas; they're well worth the extra money, as they should last a lot longer than unlaminated variety.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
The OS Explorer series works at 1:25000 which is 4cm to the kilometer or 2.5 inch to the mile. That's as tight a scale as you'll get from the OS (their Landranger series are less fine at 2cm to the kilometer) and it's easily enough for casual rambling or more serious hiking. To give you an idea of the scale, it takes four of these Explorer maps to cover the English Lake District (OL4, 5, 6 and 7 - for my holiday there this year I'll be taking three maps) or two (OL26 and 27) for the North York Moors. I would suggest that if you're driving or cycling on good roads and paths you may be better off with the more manageable Landrangers.

These maps are printed both sides, and they also fold out pretty big, so if your route takes you over the page, maneouvring these beasts can be a little cumbersome. Note also that the key is only printed on one side, across a boundary and that can cause some difficulties. So, some serious map folding is needed - when I was in the Territorial Army, we even had a lesson on the subject.

This is the "Active" version it's waterproofed which costs a few pounds more than the plain paper map but it is even bulkier. I prefer to use the paper map and stuff it in a map case or even a clear plakky bag. Horses for courses.

If you're sticking to roads, paths or decent tracks, or are going to be within sight of plenty of obvious landmarks, you can operate without a compass. If your walk is a little more adventurous, you'd be wise to carry one with you, but bear in mind that effective compass usage doesn't come without a little training and practise.

Final tip: before you leave the car park, "orient the map". In other words, make sure you know where you are on the map and where you're going. Line up your route on the map with the route on the ground and be aware that this might require you to hold the map upside down or on it's side. Try and maintain a reference between the map and reality as you go, matching landmarks on the ground with those on the map, and you'll never get lost.

Away from the practical aspects, I love OS maps and I can spend hours poring over them. It's almost as good as actually going to the places they depict.
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
In rare instances of rain in the Lake District, the laminated map proves very useful in being used and reused without having to be kept folded in a cover. The scale is good for walking and cycling, but perhaps too detailed for driving.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
Shipped and received in 48 hours and in good condition.
Up to usual OS Fantastic Standard (compared to foreign government maps of their own countries)
My first Active (ie waterproof) seems an excellent idea but haven't yet used it in bad weather.
Good value for money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
Brilliant map ! I use OS maps at least twice a week as I'm a keen fell/hill walker. These maps are easy to read and because they are laminated they stand up to all weathers. I bought another of this series last autumn and it survived the snow day after day. I even used it to sit on on one occasion and it still looks almost new. I would recommend these maps to anyone, much more practical that the paper maps. Excellent Product *****
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
Excellent value for our holiday walk in the Lake district-a must for all walkers in this area and for those staying around Windermere
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
As always, OS maps are high quality and do exactly what it says on the tin. a must for anybody who likes to adventure in the great outdoors.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)