Start reading The Enemy: (Victor the Assassin 2) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
The Enemy: (Victor the Assassin 2)
 
 

The Enemy: (Victor the Assassin 2) [Kindle Edition]

Tom Wood
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (84 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £3.86 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.13 (52%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.86  
Paperback £3.86  
MP3 CD, Audiobook £25.55  
Unknown Binding --  
Audio Download, Unabridged £15.74 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

'Jack Reacher meets Thomas Crown' --Simon Kernick on The Hunter

'Echoes of Jason Bourne . . . each plot twist is unexpected and well-timed' --Daily Mail on The Hunter

Book Description

The brand new action-packed thriller from rising star Tom Wood, perfect for fans of Lee Child and the Bourne novels

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 586 KB
  • Print Length: 415 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (13 Mar 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006HAPPJS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (84 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #10,417 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Tom Wood was born and raised in Staffordshire and now lives in London. He is the author of THE GAME, THE ENEMY, BAD LUCK IN BERLIN & THE HUNTER (aka THE KILLER)

Please note that there is at least one other author named Tom Wood!

Read more about Tom at tomwoodbooks.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In safe hands 22 Mar 2012
By Keris Nine TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Tom Wood is back with another fast-paced thriller featuring assassin-for-hire Victor, and the good news for anyone who has read the previous book, The Hunter, is that it has the same qualities of taut, vivid, descriptive writing combined with tense explosive action, espionage and conspiracy in colourful Asian and European settings. If you haven't read the first novel however, it won't matter either, because we're more or less back to scratch at the start of The Enemy. That comes at the cost of there not being any real character development - you'll get to the end of this book also and still not know much about Victor's personality other than his abilities as an amoral assassin - but the compensating factors of the novel being an extremely well-written conspiracy thriller more than make up for that.

If there's one thing you will quickly find out about Victor however, it's that as an international assassin-for-hire of the highest reputation, he may be an unquestioning tool to be used by higher powers to further their own agendas, but he's nobody's fool. He knows that in this business you need to look after your own back, and you don't take unnecessary risks. Victor has however reluctantly had to put aside the security of his lone-wolf status in order to fulfill an obligation that sees him working under contract to the CIA. Unofficially, of course. Victor asks no questions, but it soon becomes obvious that there is a pattern to the hits he is being asked to carry out - all of them involving major criminal international arms dealers - at very short notice and in highly risky circumstances that he would never normally accept.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better thrillers I've read this year 31 Oct 2012
By Julia Flyte TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
This is a sequel to The Hunter: 1 (Victor the Assassin), but if you haven't read that book it doesn't matter too much: all you need to know is that our "hero" Victor is an assassin who usually operates as a lone wolf but who is required to undertake some jobs for a clandestine CIA operation. As in the first book, we learn very little about Victor other than that he is cold, ruthless and very, very good at what he does. That doesn't stop the character from winning the reader over.

The book develops quickly with lots of action and there is also plenty of detail about weaponry and the various locations which give it a terrific sense of realism. Whilst the plot is engaging enough, what I particularly liked was the insight given into the way that an assassin operates. The (dead exciting) ending sets it up nicely for another installment, which I look forward to.

There are a number of writers mining similar territory: Sam Cain, Mark Greaney, Vince Flynn - but I think Tom Wood is the best in the genre. If you like the Bourne movies, I think it's a pretty safe bet that you'll like this book too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again folks 27 Jun 2012
By J. Morris TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Victor is an assassin at the top of his game. Situations have meant that Victor is now in the employ of the C.I.A. but after a swathe of rushed jobs from this new employer, he is less than impressed with the handling of their affairs. When a botched-job results in a chaotic situation between two international arms dealers, Victor begins to realise that his newfound empoyer may not have his best interests at heart, will Victor manage to survive this time?

The Enemy is Tom Woods second novel - the first being the critically acclaimed The Hunter - The book comes plastered in references to Lee Childs Jack Reacher character and basically every blurb refers to other authors in the same vein. So when I picked this up, I wasn't really expecting anything innovative or different from the usual fare of Lee Child, Matt Hilton & Harlen Coben with their one-man invincible characters (Jack Reacher, Joe Hunter & Myron Bolitar respectively).

What followed was one of the better written stories I have read in a while. Whilst Woods character Victor is a one-man show himself, he's the bad guy. Seemingly amoral and as close to inanimate as a human can get. We actually learn very little about Victor; but it's difficult not to root for the guy though when you see his MacGyver style skills and strict military discipline - the character is a true artisan. Woods writes very fluently in a descriptive style that is easy to follow, even the hand-to-hand fights are vivid and clear.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate thriller 6 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I arrived at the Victor party a bit late last year and was very impressed with the Hunter and the short story, Bad Luck in Berlin so of course I was going to read this next. Tom Wood as created a character you shouldn't really want to root for - a professional killer, friendless (mostly) and who we know very little about (unlike, say Barry Eisler's John Rain who has a very rich background), yet you find yourself compelled to see him through his situations, gradually learn more about him as he completes his contracts.

The Enemy can be read on its own without having read the Hunter (is situation with the CIA is explained) but I would urge you to read the other books. I noted recently to the author that he writes like someone who has written more books than he has released - there is an intelligence to the plots, the writing and characterisation and this book in particular is hard to put down.

The Amazon plot is a sufficient summing up of the story - I can only advise you to try this book and the author out (and the Hunter and Bad Luck too). If you're a fan of the international locales of Barry Eisler books and the tough man approach of Stephen Leather's Spider Shepherd character, then this book will be right up your alley :)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reacheresque read.
Goor Reacheresque read.
Published 4 days ago by Mr. A. M. Southworth
4.0 out of 5 stars The Enemy
Simply Thrilling. Read this book in 2 days and will most definitely be reading more Victor in the coming days.
Published 20 days ago by Courtney Ubank
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
excellent
Published 25 days ago by John Laird
4.0 out of 5 stars another great read
Victor at his best! Love these books by Tom wood. Great writing and story line. If you like jack reacher you like this.
Published 2 months ago by joyofjoyes
4.0 out of 5 stars Adrenaline enjoyment
Thoroughly enjoyable read of a Bourne ilk. Adrenaline pumping drama. Have since read another of his 'victor' books which says it all really.
Published 2 months ago by MIKE GROVER
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read.
Fast paced with plenty of twists and turns to the action. What a survivor Victor is always thinking his way out of trouble until the next problem appears.
Published 2 months ago by AC Harvey
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than The Hunter
I loved The Hunter. I knew this would be good but wasn't prepared for it to be even better than the first. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Sons Of Odin
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner
Since the passing of Vince Flynn, it's to have another series of books with such detailed action scenes. Great read!
Published 3 months ago by Chase Cohen
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book
These series of books about Victor the Assassin have never disappointed me. Thrilling and a must read. Would definitely recommend.
Published 4 months ago by Barbara Evans
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors
As always, Tom Wood delivers AGAIN! Highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading crime novels, lots of suspense keeping you hooked!
Published 4 months ago by Danno3190
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions