Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£18.30
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book is good because it looks at things in a different way. So often health and illness are turned into a pure physiological process and looked at as a single entity. For example - asthma = tightened airwars = inhalors. There is so much more surrounding illness and this book takes steps into acknowledging and exploring this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
I would have to say first the 1 star review is a gross oversimplification of the books thesis.

There is a theme to this book. How to review, identify, note and action -your- health. How your health "metrics", once discovered, can help plot your strengths and weaknesses for your body. How taking these steps, with advancements in medicine, may just keep you going a few more years in the long-term.

This is a main theme. However, this is heavily complimented with pioneering research in Proteomics and Genomics. These areas being implemented to clinical practice is still many years off; but the progress made already highlights how far we've come, and how amazing it will be when/if it's reached.

The concepts presented in this book are both basic and advanced. If Agus wanted to present this as a heavy science, it'd be sent off to a Medical Journal and be impenetrable to certain populations. The discourse gives everyone a level playing field to understand the concepts.

At times it reads like a basic eye-opener, then Malcolm Gladwell type stories, and an oncologist trying to make progress in the field of cancer and illness.

If you're reading to find out what "health" is, this will be a poor book. If you're reading to see how trends in medicine could revolutionise your health care one day, this will be an amazing book.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I learned alot from this book, well written. Changed my view of health. The idea that health and the body ate a complex emergent system made such an impact on me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I came across Agus via an article in Wired magazine. I found it an enjoyable read, partly for the usual reason that it confirms a lot of my existing prejudices.The book is always interesting, but you often sense a tension between Agus' valid, objective criticism of accepted practices and his own interest in the commercial organisations he's involved in (and which are investing in the approaches he advocates.)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
Brilliant, informative and an investment for anyone who wants to fulfill their future lives with positive health and wellbeing outcomes. The book will help you to Understand the human body and the knowledge gained from this book will prevent you from 'wondering' through your life questioning things and instead motivate you to make simple changes that will only bring positive mental and physical outcomes. A must read if you value your health, wellbeing and living a more active and fulfilled life now and in to retirement and beyond. A little Gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
A very interesting insight on how to maintain better health without having the disease diagnosed, but keeping one's body
in a balanced state. Well worth reading and implementing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
An interesting book with a grotesque title. Reviews many recent research studies, but like most of these type of books it ends up recommending that you seek professional advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
If you don't know anything about health and related issues, don't know what carbs, proteins, vitamins etc are , this book will fit the bill - otherwise don't bother.
Typical American healthlit, full of 'personal insights', 'great discoveries', 'demistifications' and confused lifestories ( to increase number of pages?)
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Great insight into how the body works as a whole. Also how doctors aren't always the ones to trust with you health.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This book largely attacks vitamins and supplements in the the basis that the body must be viewed as an whole system and shouldn't be scoped by the specific illness that we have or we want to prevent. I'll add that's the same, and even worst because of the tremendous side effects, with medicines. But the author doesn't focus on that. If it's true that the health of the body must be viewed and treated like an whole, searching for the right point of balance for each person, I found the statements of the author against vitamins and supplements very vague and ambiguous. For instance the author generically brings to discussion some partial data of the benefits and harms of vitamin C to conclude that is better to do nothing, don't take vitamin C, because you don't know whats better for you. The same with vitamin D, even if you have deficiency, the author defends that we shouldn't take it because we don't know if we are pulling some problems elsewhere in our body. Well if we apply these standards to the medicines there would be a lot of savings with healthcare because not a single one would pass this straight stream. The author maintains its ambiguity always makes a caveat that in some cases could be necessary to treat the deficiency or some illness with vitamins but that shouldn't be your case. So my advice is like the author main thinking search for a point of balance in your life and don't do nothing for your health beginning for ... dont buy this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)