The Eighth Day and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: 1.58

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Eighth Day on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Eighth Day [Paperback]

John Case
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
RRP: 7.99
Price: 7.04 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 0.95 (12%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 23 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 3.59  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Mass Market Paperback 4.75  
Paperback, 7 Aug 2003 7.04  
Audio, CD, Audiobook --  

Book Description

7 Aug 2003

"And on the Seventh Day, He rested." --Genesis, 2:2-3 The EighthDay is an explosive, compulsively readable novel of suspense that plunges a clever young man into a web of mystery and international deceit, bringing him face to face with the ultimate evil. Danny Cray is a struggling 28 year-old sculptor and video artist who lives in Washington DC. To make ends meet, he does occasional freelance work as a researcher for a large firm of private detectives. When one of their most powerful clients approaches him with a job, the money is too good to resist. All he has to do is learn what a recently deceased university professor was working on when he died.

But Danny stumbles on far more than he expected when he discovers that the professor was in touch with the Vatican about a remote tribe of Kurds who worship the Peacock Angel; Satan. After others connected to the professor start to disappear, Danny finds himself in great peril and must travel into the ancient land where this tribe still lives in order to discover what is truly at stake in his investigation. A mesmerising blend of science, religion, history and suspense, The Eighth Day confirms John Case's position as a master of intelligent commercial fiction.


Frequently Bought Together

The Eighth Day + Trance State + Dance Of Death
Price For All Three: 19.52

Buy the selected items together
  • Trance State 6.15
  • Dance Of Death 6.33


Product details

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow; New Ed edition (7 Aug 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099416492
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099416494
  • Product Dimensions: 17.8 x 10.6 x 3.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 299,868 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"This is truly thriller writing on an epic scale; the narrative goes globe-trotting from the Eternal City to Istanbul to the corridors of power in Washington" (The Good Book Guide)

"The elements of international thriller and Omen-style terrors are cannily synthesized, making for a highly compelling read" (The Good Book Guide)

Book Description

A breathtaking international conspiracy thriller from the bestselling author of Trance State and UK top 10 bestselling thriller The Genesis Code. Perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, The Eighth Day has the suspense of Hitchcock's finest thrillers - The Manchurian Candidate for the new age.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense Hitchcock would have been proud of! 7 Jan 2007
Format:Paperback
I love the sense of humour of John Case. He has mastered the art of building the suspense, releasing you with a hilarious comment (you WILL laugh out loud at times), then building the suspense again until shocking you with something completely unforeseen. This was a technique film director Alfred Hitchcock excelled at.

In the Eighth Day the hero is a 26 year old artist and part time investigator. He gets a case that takes him to Italy and Turkey in a story peppered with murders. A must if you enjoy thrillers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john case 28 Jan 2011
By jeff
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I had never heard of this author befor i read his first book,i am now on his fifth of six and would recommend this writer to anyone whoenjoys a good thriller
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant 15 Nov 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Just can't get enough of john case novels, you can't put them down once you start then you can't wait to get the next book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Danny, a likeable american artist and part-time private investigator gets in way over his head when he discovers more than he is supposed to on a misson for a client. As more mysterious, sinister and frightening events unfurl, Danny gets deeper and deeper into trouble and fears for his life. Brilliantly told, with a fast moving plot which whisks around the world, it's difficult to put this book before the end.
As John Case books go, I would put this in second place after The Genesis Code which is just brilliant, but it's worth reading them all!! Sleep well!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable thriller 3 Oct 2003
By HORAK
Format:Paperback
This is a very good thriller and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The plot is fast-moving and well constructed. I felt a lot of sympathy for the main character, Danny Cray, because he is not the typical hero, in fact he is what you might call an anti-hero. He often lacks self-confidence, he is a hesitating if clumsy man and so the identification reader-hero is all the more easy. I would compare Danny Cray to Cary Grant in Alfred Hitchcock's "North By Northwest".
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback