Trade in Yours
For a £5.59 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Dying Gaul and Other Writings [Hardcover]

David Jones , Harman Grisewood

Available from these sellers.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback £18.06  
Trade In this Item for up to £5.59
Trade in The Dying Gaul and Other Writings for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £5.59, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

15 May 1978
The Dying Gaul, David Jones's second collection of prose, was published posthumously in 1978. In these essays, Jones explores his deep connection to Wales through its culture, symbolism and through the notion of heroic defeat. He brings particular focus to the question of visual art, not only in Wales, but also in England and in its relationship to war. The collection concludes with a meditation on Coleridge's Rime of the Ancient Mariner, the final substantive piece that David Jones would write, and one which would find him in his most reflective and redemptive.
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 230 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber; 1st edn edition (15 May 1978)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0571110673
  • ISBN-13: 978-0571110674
  • Product Dimensions: 22 x 14.4 x 2.8 cm
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 811,147 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

David Jones (1895-1974) was born in Kent. In 1915, then an art student, he went to war with the Royal Welsh Fusiliers, where he fought in the battles of the Somme and Ypres. In 1922 he began a long association with the artist Eric Gill. In Parenthesis, based on Jones's experiences in World War I, was published in 1937, followed in 1952 by The Anathémata and The Sleeping Lord in 1974. David Jones's works are exhibited at the Tate Museum and the National Museum of Wales. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category