Start reading The Dirty Parts of the Bible -- A Novel on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
The Dirty Parts of the Bible -- A Novel
 
 

The Dirty Parts of the Bible -- A Novel [Kindle Edition]

Sam Torode
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.00
Kindle Price: £0.99 includes VAT*
You Save: £7.01 (88%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.
Borrow this book for free on a Kindle device with Amazon Prime. Learn more about Kindle Owners' Lending Library.
Join Prime to borrow this book at no cost.
The Kindle Owners' Lending Library gives you access to thousands of books, including New York Times bestsellers, to borrow and read for free.
  • Borrow a book as frequently as once per month
  • No due dates — keep books as long as you like and return them when it's time for something new
  • Read on any Amazon Kindle device

Amazon Prime members also enjoy:
  • Unlimited streaming of thousands of popular movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video
  • FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, with no minimum order size

For more information about the Kindle Owners' Lending Library visit our help page.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.56  
Paperback £7.25  
Audio Download, Unabridged £12.85 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award . . . Now a Kindle Bestseller

The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous novel set during the Great Depression---a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.

Publishers Weekly says: 

"While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued." (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 527 KB
  • Print Length: 280 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1450567630
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: ST Book Arts; 2 edition (16 July 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003K15MO0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #11,209 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

I'm a writer, artist, and book designer enjoying life in Nashville, Tennessee, USA.

Favorite authors include Emerson, Hawthorne, Twain, Flannery O'Connor, Garrison Keillor, G. K. Chesterton, P. G. Wodehouse, Joseph Campbell, Epictetus, Marcus Aurelius, and many others.

As Groucho Marx said, "Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read."

Website: www.torodedesign.com.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising and whimsical 4 Mar 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really didn't know what to expect from this book, but I downloaded the sample chapter after reading rave reviews on a friend's blog. And after those first few pages, I was hooked. Tobias was such a real and loveable character. The questions he struggled with are the questions that every person who's even flirted with religion will come to. But there was a lot more than philosophy to this book. There was adventure, friendship, and love.

Never predictable, and always enjoyable, I would recommend THE DIRTY PARTS OF THE BIBLE to anyone.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Between Huckleberry Finn and Grapes of Wrath 22 Mar 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I picked this up mainly because of it being referred to as a more adult Huckleberry Finn (which I loved) and it did not disappoint. Nor did it disappoint on its selection of title - I can't say I've been through the Bible looking for the dirty bits but these came across in a delightfully irreverent way, given the central character's young repressed years.
The book divides roughly into three - for me the least interesting was the first part, focused on Tobias' background and narrow life experiences as a preacher's son. The second part, shared with hobos on the railroad boxcars was a delight for anyone with wanderlust. As for the third part, I don't go for romance books much but Tobias' growing relationship with a tomboy on a Southern farm wouldn't let me put the book down till I'd finished.
Probably the main delight of the book for me was Craw, a one handed Negro hobo with a really great philosophy on life. Five and a half stars from me.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Deep South hobo coming-of-age romance 29 Jan 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Mark Twain meets Tom Waits in this beautifully comic and moving picaresque coming-of-age story about a teenage boy escaping his Bible-bashing father during the Great Depression and hitting the road in search of buried treasure and the truth about love. Tobias Henry is a great character, stubborn, restless, ever-questioning, and he more than meets his match in the shape of plucky but 'cursed' tomboy, Sarah, and wisecracking Black hobo, Craw. I caught the movie Paper Moon [Region 2] [import] on TV the day after finishing this and it had just the same beautiful air of humour, pathos and adventure. Brilliantly written.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Almighty Read.... 12 Nov 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The story of young Tobias's journey from Michigan to Texas and back is truly heartwarming. His innocence is soon shocked into the realties outside his small home town of Remus. His adventures with Craw and others are defintely Huckleberryesque and Tobias finding true love with Sarah is both moving and poignant. The author, Sam Torode, makes clever use of the words and stories in the "Bible" and interweaves them subtly into the plot. It is one of those books that you hope will never end. If you buy this book you'll be truly thankful for what you've received. Thank you Mr Torode and Tobias. And Amen.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious but at times Brutal 20 Sep 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I bought this book for the title alone - yes, I seem to be doing a LOT of that lately, but in nearly every single instance, I have been rewarded with a book that is just as funny as the title. I was not left wanting from this title either. This book is at times a hilarious walk through the 1930s from the perspective of a preachers son. At other times it is raw and poignant in it's telling of the shame that is associated with sex and religion. Overall, a fantastic read!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars It was OK 30 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
At 99p for the Kindle version it was a bit of a bargain - but I found the story a bit too predictable.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a story! 23 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Very entertaining and full of small bon mots. Fun reading and amusing view of live from a young man. Good bedtime reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful surprise, and well worth reading 8 Dec 2013
By YeahYeahNoh TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was browsing titles I'd downloaded but not read, and came across this.
It starts well, and stays excellent throughout. It's warm, funny, and just thoroughly enjoyable.
I can't really add much to the many excellent reviews already written, but I can agree with them, and commend the book to anyone for whom the synopsis sounds in the slightest bit intriguing. Great characters, great story, great book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
Society always tries to enslave, imprison, and execute its greatest men, those who dare to stand apart and rise above.” &quote;
Highlighted by 344 Kindle users
&quote;
When the actors take off their costumes, they’re all equal. So it is with life. When death strips us of our roles, we’re all equals in the grave.” &quote;
Highlighted by 341 Kindle users
&quote;
“The problem with a lot of church people,” Craw said, “is that they’re trying to be holier than Jesus.” &quote;
Highlighted by 334 Kindle users

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category