Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.31
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2003
Having read different titles about Saddam and his regime, especially after 11/09/01 I have found this book "THE DEVIL'S DOUBLE" to have painted the most acurate and discriptive picture of life in the Saddam Clan.
It offered a look into the everyday workings of the Iraqi
Tyrant and of course his notorious son. From the start, you are under no illusion of the lengths that were taken to ensure the "family's" safety not to mention the unbridled brutality that Uday Saddam Hussein is notorious for.
An interesting fact is that Uday was always a callous and sadistic person, he did not develop his penchant for torture overnight, it was a culmination of bad deeds over the years that brought his true disregard for human life and dignity to the fore. As his behaviour went unchecked his passion for brutality grew.
Having seen the author Dr. Latif Yahia on BBC Channel's Breakfast with Frost on Sunday 15/06/03, I have had to ask myself why this man was not asked to share his knowledge of the Iraqi Regime, surely it would have been of benefit to the Government and possibly they would not have ended in the quagmire that they are in now.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book on several levels and await a sequel, I'm sure the story doesn't just end at the authors flight from Iraq.
0Comment| 185 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2003
Chilling. The more of this book I read, the more I wanted to know. Saddam has already cemented himself a permanent place in history alongside other despots such as Pol Pot, Lenin, Stalin, and Idi Amin. Uday Saddam Hussein, the elder son, was apparently determined to exceed his father's proclivity toward torture and summary executions when he [presumably] succeeded Dear Old Dad. This is the tale of Uday's "double" and his life before, during, and after his role as a decoy for Iraq's hated tyrant-in-waiting.
0Comment| 188 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2003
It's a guilty pleasure. You can't put it down. Written in a tabloid journalistic style. Very interesting and true. It is about the "trauma and shock" this guy goes through because he happens to resemble Saddam's son and is coerced into playing the part. He saw a bird's eye view of this unspeakably evil psychopath dictator and his son's lifestyle, or deathstyle. He goes from perks and pleasure to torture, is reeling between the two and can't escape. Gives a real feel to what life is like in this kind of dictatorship hell. A psychological thriller and lesson for all.
0Comment| 185 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
This book reveals the underground mysteries of the Saddam Hussein empire and the way it affects the citizens of Iraq. It also reveals the agony that Latif Yahia went through as Uday's Hussein double and bodyguard. I reccommend this book for people that are looking for an exclusive look at how an empire of corrupt ruler works..
0Comment| 186 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
This book corroborates many of the horrors I have read about the Ba'athist regime in Iraq. It gives an excellent picture of Saddam's regime and maybe a better understanding of the kind of man (and his family) who builds palaces and weapons of mass destruction while his people starves. Interested in the Middle East? The Gulf War? This one is a must.
0Comment| 184 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2003
Latif Yahias account of his ordeal at the hands of sadist Oday Hussien is one of the most accurate accounts I have read concerning this family. He is an extremely brave man for coming out and revealing the horrific details of a brutal regime. His reliability must have been scrupuously checked as he has the documents to prove this. A must read.
0Comment| 184 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
Mr.Latif Yahya has seen things most people cannot even imagine. As a double for Uday Hussein, son and possible successor of Saddam, Latif witnessed acts of depravity and torture that almost sound like something out of a Marquis de Sade novel. This book will open your eyes to the relative value of human life; to the ruling elite of Iraq, people are as expendable as bad batteries. Yahya himself endured harsh torments at the hands of a man who called him a "brother"- one can only, with a great deal of dread, contemplate the atrocities meted out to enemies. After reading this book, I came to the conclusion that the only thing worse than Saddam is his oldest brat, and I would personally throttle the life out of that demon myself if given the opportunity. Even if only a fraction of it is true (and I believe most of it is accurate, as I've seen several of the tales about Uday in other sources), the entire Saddam Hussein regime is following nicely down the path paved by the likes of Hitler and Stalin. The big difference is that the Iraqi government is doing these things, as we speak. Enjoy this book, but pray to whatever god you choose that Uday Hussein does not come to power.
0Comment| 189 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2006
This book frightens the reader deeply, a view of a country, whose regime transformed it into the forecourt of hell. If one would like to experience more, over those, which were involved in this grey one, then this book is the correct entrance. A deep view into the abysses of a state, whose powerful one extracted itself from the humanity.
0Comment| 182 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2006
This book is one of the most interesting books I have every read. It gives you such an insite as to what everyone guesses happens around Saddam Hussain's life, and most of us will have guessed right. The man is and always will be pure evil, and this book proves it. I could not put this book down and guarantee you wont either.
0Comment| 181 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2003
Dear Latif Yahia,
I just finished reading your book "THE DEVIl'S DOUBLE". I found it an amazing account of your time with the Saddam clan, and I think it's great you wrote a book to show the world how terribly cruel the regime in Iraq was. Of course everyone knew it was cruel, but I didn't know that it was this evil... especially the way Udai was behaving is shocking. Hard to imagine you had to be a double for such a cruel and evil being. Thanks
for sharing that with the world.
I have a couple of questions to you, I hope you have the time to answer them.
- How do you feel about "Iraqi Freedom" and the current situation in Iraq?
I suppose you're happy that Saddam is gone, but I could imagine you don't like the way the Americans are imposing their wishes to Iraq.
- Would you like to return to Iraq, would it be safe for you now?
- Did anything happen to your family after you left the country for Austria?
- I was amazed at the amount of details in your book. You wrote that after arriving in Turkey, an American man (CIA?) took your notes with him.
Did you ever get them back? If not, how did you remember all those small details in your book?
Thanks a lot.
With best regards,
David
the Netherlands
0Comment| 185 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)