Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars12
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2010
I was a little disappointed with the book. Yes it is crammed with examples of various type of home pages, but with little narrative to support the examples, made the book feel a little like my top 100 websites.

A lot of the websites shown in the examples I feel are not 'real world' examples from a wide range of industries. Nice to flick through, but overall not awe inspiring.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
On the front cover this book states: 'Themes, trends and styles'

That is what it delivers, it doesn't say on the front 'The best in Services, FAQ, Contact Us and other web content examples' This book is great, what it delivers is lots and lots of great stylish websites that you can browse through and pick up little hints and things that you can use in one of your projects.

I always enjoy looking at impressive websites and had some great ideas from this book. So please, ignore the harsh reviews from misunderstanding readers and believe me, for picking up ideas on colour schemes, structure and layout, texture, textual and graphic themes this is your book. Also each website has the web address under it so those looking to see FAQ pages can do so by visiting the site.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
This is a book full of visuals - eye candy with colourful and graphically stunning designs, but don't expect more depth than that. These designs are generally a triumph of graphic design over functionality. They're worth a quick flick through for some visual ideas, just don't expect to fit these into anything commercial you might be doing.

To me "web design" is much more than visuals - it's about effectively communicating information, marketing, sales, PR for example, and getting the balance between effective content and style. I would have liked to have seen real world websites that effectively meet their objectives through clever use of design, photography, testimonials, widgets and content, rather than just seeing a selection of websites that when standing back, just look good artistically.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
I ordered this product really as the title of the book describes, to gain ideas for web design. It offered me this and so much more. The book is set out with design in mind and focuses on promoting the information in a way that helps rather than lists and lists of ideas or simply images. Overall a really helpful, informative and fun book that has helped me. 5/5 Must be purchase for those wanting design ideas or those simply wanting to get into web design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Almost every page in the book shows an example of a website home page. Easy to find out the sort of appearance you might want for your web site and, as the title says, full of inspiring ideas. This book will not tell you how to realise those ideas, or how to extend the website to additional pages while retaining the chosen format. It's just a large collection of rather good examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
The ability to look in this book and into individual themes is excellent, I have not been out of ideas as I can pick this up and find what I want; and there are links to the websites that have been used as an example. I got the volume 1 book too - double the ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This book is full of great graphic design ideas. Good price arrived on time as discribed. Would have given five stars but was in cardboard sleeve that had got damp. Had it been exposed to rain any longer it would have got through to the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Very happy with the books contents. Lots of ideas to ignite your inspirational juices.

Definately worth buying to have at hand and flip through. But alternativly you could just surf the net and look at what other people are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The concept behind this book is fantastic...To show off the latest and greatest creations in the world of website design. There is however one flaw, and that is that design trends come and go. I do recommend this book, however, it is something that could possible go out of date. Having screenshots of the greatest website designs out there at the moment in just one book is invaluable, it is so easy just to pick up and scan to the relevant sections, and of course you can follow the url from the book to see the website in real life if you wish. I really am glad that I bought this book, as it has helped me many times in the initial design stages.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
A current stylish book which offers ideas. Different examples of well designed web sites that are out there.
Shows their time and method. Maintenance. Instead of surfing around...it's all in one place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)