or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Decisive Moment: [Hardcover]

Jonah Lehrer
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
RRP: 16.99
Price: 12.64 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 4.35 (26%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

Review

'Engrossing...gripping...moving...full of fascinating facts. ... Lehrer's on similar territory to Malcolm Gladwell's BLINK and James Surowiecki's THE WISDOM OF CROWDS but more than earns his place on the shelf alongside them.' -- Daily Mail

'Fascinating...compelling...a great read. It might even improve your life. Not many books offer both.' -- New Scientist

'Jonah Lehrer is a brilliant young writer. His clear and vivid writing -- incisive and thoughtful, yet sensitive and modest -- is a special pleasure.' -- Oliver Sacks

'Should we go with instinct or analysis? The answer, Lehrer explains in this smart and delightfully readable book, is that it depends on the situation. Knowing which method works best in which case is not just useful but fascinating. Lehrer proves once again that he's a master storyteller and one of the best guides to the practical lessons from new neuroscience.' -- Chris Anderson, editor-in-chief of WIRED and author of THE LONG TAIL

Cash or credit? Punt or go for first down? Deal or no deal? -- life is filled with puzzling choices. Reporting from the frontiers of neuroscience, and armed with riveting case studies of how pilots, quarterbacks, and others act under fire, Jonah Lehrer presents a dazzlingly authoritative and accessible account of how we make decisions, what's happening in our heads as we do so, and how we might all become better `deciders.' Luckily, this one's a no-brainer: Read this book.
-- Tom Vanderbilt, author of TRAFFIC: WHY WE DRIVE THE WAY WE DO (AND WHAT IT SAYS ABOUT US)

Review

'Engrossing...gripping...moving...full of fascinating facts. ... Lehrer's on similar territory to Malcolm Gladwell's BLINK and James Surowiecki's THE WISDOM OF CROWDS but more than earns his place on the shelf alongside them.'

Review

'Jonah Lehrer is a brilliant young writer. His clear and vivid writing -- incisive and thoughtful, yet sensitive and modest -- is a special pleasure.'

Review

'Should we go with instinct or analysis? The answer, Lehrer explains in this smart and delightfully readable book, is that it depends on the situation. Knowing which method works best in which case is not just useful but fascinating. Lehrer proves once again that he's a master storyteller and one of the best guides to the practical lessons from new neuroscience.'

Book Description

Accessible popular science writing in the tradition of OLIVER SACKS, STEVEN PINKER and MALCOLM GLADWELL.

About the Author

Jonah Lehrer is editor-at-large for Seed Magazine and a contributing editor at NPR’S Radio Lab. He has written articles for Nature, New Scientist and the MIT Technology Review. He graduated from Columbia University in 2003 with a degree in neuroscience, and spent two years studying 20th Century Literature and Theology at Oxford University on a Rhodes Scholarship. His first book, PROUST WAS A NEUROSCIENTIST was published in the US by Houghton Mifflin in November 2007. Lehrer also writes a highly regarded science blog, The Frontal Cortex - http://scienceblogs.com/cortex/
‹  Return to Product Overview