Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Deathworld: Omnibus [Paperback]

Harry Harrison
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

Amazon Review

Harry Harrison is the author of over 40 books, of which Deathworld, originally published in John W. Cambell's Astounding Science Fiction magazine, was the first. Since then the author has won the Nebula Award, the Prix Jules Verne and the Premio Italia. This omnibus edition contains Deathworld and its two sequels, together with a new introduction written by the author in 1999. Collectors should note that Deathworld 2 was originally published in Great Britain as The Ethical Engineer.

The Deathworld books concern Jason dinAlt, a professional gambler with psi powers who travels the galaxy in search of adventure. In each book he finds it on a different but equally dangerous world. These novels are tough, fast-moving hardboiled pulp thrillers. The future societies and technologies depicted now seem somewhat old fashioned, but the Deathworlds are vigorously imagined and convincingly dangerous.

Though tense and exciting, the trilogy's original impact has inevitably lessened due to the sheer number of imitations there have been of these very successful and influential tales. Nevertheless, the first Deathworld novel remains a SF classic, and all three books make for gripping reading. This single volume edition represents an essential part of SF history. --Gary S. Dalkin


'A coldly thrilling piece of science fiction' -- Spectator

'Hard to put down' -- New Scientist

'Marvellously exciting' -- TLS

About the Author

Harry Harrison is a US writer now living in Ireland. Born in 1925, he has been a successful and influential science fiction writer for many years.
‹  Return to Product Overview