The Day Of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy 1943-44 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 0.86 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Day Of Battle on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Day Of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy 1943-44 (Liberation Trilogy) [Paperback]

Rick Atkinson
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
RRP: 14.99
Price: 10.49 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 4.50 (30%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 14 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 7.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback 10.49  
Audio, CD, Abridged, Audiobook 23.03  
Audio Download, Abridged 13.45 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Trade In this Item for up to 0.86
Trade in The Day Of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy 1943-44 (Liberation Trilogy) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 0.86, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

2 May 2013 Liberation Trilogy (Book 2)

In An Army at Dawn - winner of the Pulitzer Prize - Rick Atkinson provided a dramatic and authoritative history of the Allied triumph in North Africa. Now, in The Day of the Battle, he follows the strengthening American and British armies as they invade Sicily in July 1943 and then, mile by bloody mile, fight their way north.

The Italian campaign's outcome was never certain; in fact, Roosevelt, Churchill and their military advisors engaged in heated debate about whether an invasion of the so-called soft underbelly of Europe was even a good idea. But once underway, the commitment to liberate Italy from the Nazis never wavered, despite the agonizingly high price. The battles at Salerno, Anzio, and Monte Cassino were particularly difficult and lethal, yet as the months passed, the Allied forces continued to push the Germans up the Italian peninsula. And with the liberation of Rome in June 1944, ultimate victory at last began to seem inevitable.

Drawing on an astonishing array of primary source material, written with great drama and flair, this is narrative history of the first rank.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Spend 30 and get Norton 360 21.0 - 3 Computers, 1 Year 2014 for 24.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

The Day Of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy 1943-44 (Liberation Trilogy) + An Army At Dawn: The War in North Africa, 1942-1943 (Liberation Trilogy) + The Guns at Last Light: The War in Western Europe, 1944-1945 (Liberation Trilogy)
Price For All Three: 33.85

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 816 pages
  • Publisher: Abacus (2 May 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0349116350
  • ISBN-13: 978-0349116358
  • Product Dimensions: 19.2 x 12.6 x 4.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 84,984 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Majestic... Atkinson's achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war." --"The Wall Street Journal ""A triumph of narrative history, elegantly written, thick with unforgettable description and rooted in the sights and sounds of battle."--"The New York Times" "In "The Day of Battle," Rick Atkinson picks up where he left off in "An Army at Dawn," his history of the North African campaign, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2003. A planned third volume, on the Normandy invasion and the war in Europe, will complete "The Liberation Trilogy," which is shaping up as a triumph of narrative history, elegantly written, thick with unforgettable description and rooted in the sights and sounds of battle . . . He excels at describing the furor of battle, and the Italian campaign provides him with abundant raw material. . . Mr. Atkinson, a longtime correspondent and editor for "The Washington Post," conveys all of this with sharp-edged immediacy and a keen eye for the monstrous and the absurd."--William Grimes, "The New York Times" "Monumental ... With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose."--"The Washington Post""A very fine book .... Anyone who devoured "An Army at Dawn" with relish will be delighted with Atkinson's account of the Sicilian and Italian campaign."--"The New York Times Book Review""[A] fascinating account of the war in Sicily and Italy."--"USA"" Today""Gripping .... [Atkinson] combines an impressive depth of research with a knack for taut, compelling narrative."--"Star Tribune "(Minneapolis-St. Paul)"Splendid ... the infantrymen who did the fighting will grab at readers' hearts."--"St. Louis"" Post-Dispatch""With "The Day of Battle, " Atkinson again proves himself to stand among the ranks of our most talent

Book Description

The second volume of Rick Atkinson's monumental trilogy about the Liberation of Europe in the Second World War.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first part of the Trilogy 2 Dec 2010
By Runner
Format:Paperback
I was impressed by the detail and research content of the first part of Rick Atkinson's Trilogy 'An Army at Dawn'. It seemed to make sense of the situation described to me by two relatives who served in that part of North Africa.

However, I am disappointed in his follow up book. It seems more partisan and omits some details which I feel would have been included before. My father was always distrustful of the American Army and Airforce due to his first hand experience of them. Rick's first book helped to explain why this might be so. This, his second book doesn't.

For example, use the index for 'British Army Royal Artillery' and you find some quotes from Spike Milligan's books. What you do not find is anything meaningful, such as any reference to the bombing of the Royal Artillery's 74th Medium Regiment by the American Air Force at Cassino. This resulted in 35 dead and injured, with a gun and equipment destroyed. As the USAAF had previously bombed the same unit in North Africa resulting in the CO being invalided back to the UK this incident should have been included as an example of why distrust between the two forces might fester.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A very revealing read and for one who lived through the period as a pre-teenager, quite a sobering window on the reality of what, then, seemed so brave and gallant.
Such a waste of so many good young lives through the pig-headedness and egoism of those in charge.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invasion of Sicily & Italy 31 Oct 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Book was mainly from the American view point.......I was looking for the British view as my father took part with the 8th army.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely well-written 18 Jun 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a superb book, very well-writen, interesting, full of pathos. Atkinson has a real gift for history. He is more US-focussed than writers like Hastings or James Holland but even for a Brit it's gripping stuff
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I expected bias.. 8 Feb 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
..but not to this degree. Unfortunately, this book is part of the new 'ambrose' like breed of sensationalist and revisionist american military writing. The focus on and lauding of Mark Clark and Fifth Army is pretty transparent and laughable for a book which considers itself a serious historical account. A shame as the writing at times is powerful and emotive. I also feel duty bound to be unhappy with a book that would have you believe that commonwealth troops did not fight and did not fight effectively. Little important detail, little sense of operational scope and patently not a book about anything except the US soldier and their further development as a fighting arm. Avoid.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A biased account - insulting 14 Dec 2013
Format:Paperback
Bias is expected but to this extent it is bordering on the insulting, all Americans are steely eyed and wonderful - more Zane Grey than historical work. Thank you for occasional mention of the British, especially at Salerno. I found it hard to pick up and read without getting angry. Truly awful.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars superb 16 May 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
this is the book to read about the italian campaign,well researched on the stratergy of both sides cannot wait to the authors other books,
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental Military History of WW2 Sicily and Italy
The second volume of Rick Atkinson's monumental three volume story of the US Army in North Africa and Europe continues with the account of the battles for Sicily and Italy. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Residency
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugly American
Biased and subjective with very little historical worth.

If you want to believe that America won the war all by themselves and that the American soldier was the only... Read more
Published 11 months ago by Normandy Battlefield Guide
4.0 out of 5 stars The battle for Italy uncovered
This is a wonderful exposition of a cruel battle, following on from his first book in the war trilogy, on the battle for Tunisia. Sadly it ends with the fall of Rome. Read more
Published 11 months ago by Hampshire
4.0 out of 5 stars Good writing
A well written account from a mainly American point of view. Of general interest to British and Canadian readers also.
Published 11 months ago by Roger Trumper
4.0 out of 5 stars Vivid, a Strong Sense of the War
I'm currently writing a novel based on my (British) father's journey through North Africa and then Sicily/Italy

I'm more interested in the "feel" of the war than... Read more
Published 13 months ago by Mr. R. Jones
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuation of the Liberation Trilogy
I read "An Army at Dawn", the first volume of the trilogy and went on to read the second volume (currently awaiting the third to come out). Read more
Published on 21 Jan 2010 by Miquel
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback