Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2009
A belated but welcome sequel to vol.s 1-2 in the series. The book is one-of-its kind, advanced (in parts: very!), dry (in parts: very!) and will probably confuse a novice modeler. On the other hand it is practical and takes relational modeling to a new level for experienced modelers. The key point so well explained and exemplified is that there are different levels of modeling of the same subject - each with a proper purpose and use. There is never one true and correct model, a data model is after all 'a model', a representation of something, not the thing itself. The true modeling professional must know when to choose one or the other model type, and when and how to switch between them. After all, data modeling may be an art and it may be a craft, but it is definitely not an exact science (though a great many other data modeling books may leave that impression).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Excellent book that lays out the options for specific models versus generalised models and the associated pros and cons. The answer is do both for different reasons and then understand how many of the business rules you want to enshrine in the data model. Builds on the first two books and shows how the authors wrote them. At the end of the day each modeller/designer must make their own calls but this provides some structure around which to make those choices. The detail wags the dog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
You might be tempted (as I was, at first) to just dip into this book and use it as a source of patterns for producing data models. And if you do that, then you will find some very useful patterns as well as saving a lot of time. But that would be a shame, because by starting at the beginning and reading the whole book, I found that as well as a very comprehensive, rigourous and coherent set of models, I also got an understanding of the underlying structures and approach. And this approach has proved to be extremely useful when dealing with any new data structures. Someone described this as 'the second data modelling book you should buy', and I agree with that.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
I like this series of books as generically they are extremely useful. I don't agree with everything in them, which actually makes them more useful as you think more rather than just accepting the pattern (or your own preference)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Still relevant today! I don't agree with all the patterns in the book but it is a really comprehensive source of basic data models for business applications. Study them, evaluate them and build your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2006
These books are just great and I'm impressed how the parts build up a consistent whole. I've studied volume one in detail and modelled most of it in a CASE tool. And used it as major outline for an (real) Enterprise Logical Datamodel. When compared with some commercial package's models Mr Silverstone's structures seem to have had quite a bit of influence.

Not only I have learnt a lot from these two books :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
This book provides some commonly-needed models and it will save you some time by giving you a well-made base schema.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
I bought it for completeness sake, but if you're not obsessed with not having the entire collection and the areas included in the book are not interesting to you, do not buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)