Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2014
A good buy for anyone interested in American crime novels. These are early novels and short stories from a master from the early 20th century. My only criticism is of the large number of typos in the text: a result of ocr scanning from the original texts, I assume, but for the price, one can't be too picky, and to give them their credit the publishers do acknowledge this and ask for feedback.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
This collection by Mr. Hammett, author of classic novels such as "The Maltese Falcon" and "The Thin Man," is the first I've purchased as a Megapack.

There are 20 short pieces from the author's early writings, some using pen names he had adopted like: Peter Collinson and Daghull Hammett.

Known primarily for noir, crime, and mystery genres, this collection showcased some of his other writing. One thing that came across loud and clear though, no matter the genre, Mr. Hammett's talent as a storyteller shines through.

A bit of dated language, but it speaks to the era. Most importantly for me, Mr. Hammett's style of writing is timeless.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
I have always liked Dashiell Hammett and have read many of his books.
So it was nice to be able to settle down to a feast of his lesser known books, and I found some really nice gems in this collection.
20 stories at this price (on kindle) is a steal.
I would certainly recommend if your into classic crime .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
good value collection of some of Hammetts lesser known works,a must for followers of this genre or as an introduction to his prolific output of these type of writings
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Terse, and to the point, Hammett avoids wallowing in melodrama and 'Red Herring' literary devices. An early example of the Hardboiled genre that is rightly regarded as classic and still stands up well to modern, more flashy (like films where a scene is not allowed to last 3-4 seconds) pulp fiction. Mighty stuff!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
A treasure trove of "hard boiled" by a master. Brevity. Hard. Shocking. The editors have cleverly revealed the different values of the era they were written by choosing certain stories. Well worth downloading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Interesting as an insight into Hammets early pulp output. Nothing you would want to read twice. You can see the formulaic nature of the stories,which,presumably is what the magazines required.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I love these Megapacks and this does not disappoint in the slightest. All the great stories in one place and the click of a button. I would highly recommend these for any fans of this genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
I like the MegaPacks from Wildside Press...they are very good value for money and this one is particularly good...great detective stories which are very entertaining...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Brilliant imagination and writer and the tales are all worth reading and enjoying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)