Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2009
I have been an avid fan of this series and couldn't wait for this book!
The hero of this novel is Sabin the keeper of Doubt. For thousands of years he has survived carrying the demon of doubt, always hearting its poisonous voice about his deepest thoughts. He has ceased taking lovers after the last, Darla, was driven to suicide by his demon, he doesn't want to see another love one die. Continuing the search for the artefacts that will lead them to Pandora's box the Lords arrive in Egypt finding more then they bargained for.

Gwen has been held captive in the pyramid for a year, kept prisoner by the hunters as they try and fulfil their sinister plans. She is a harpy, an immortal being of immense power; however she isn't what you think. Although born to be a merciless killer she cannot bear the thought of hurting other living beings earning her the nickname of Gwendolyn the timid. Losing hope every day of ever being rescued she can't believe her luck when Sabin and his men barge in freeing her from her ungodly prison. She is instantly taken with Sabin but also afraid, not just of him but the damage she could do to him if she ever lost control.

Upon seeing Gwen, Sabin can't believe his luck. He had no hope of the war between the Lords and the Hunters ever ending, seeing the rest of his life surrounded by war. But Gwen could be the weapon he has been looking for, all he needs to do is convince her but that could be more difficult then he imagines. As well as trying to teach her to control her inner harpy he also has to fight the growing attraction he feels for her. He will not allow doubt to take another from him and will do anything to keep her at a distance. War is the most important thing in Sabin's life but can Gwen change that?

This was a brilliant book and a definite must read, Sabin was a great hero, both sweet and dangerous. Gwen works well as the female protagonist although taking longer to warm up to then the others in the series but she eventually loses the clinginess and becomes more of her own person. Although mostly Sabin and Gwen's story there are also chapters about Aeron and his mysterious new stalker, Paris and the effect of losing Sienna has on him and we even see more of Gideon and how he deals with his demon of lies. Rather then complicating the story it adds to it making it a more real and believable world and letting you know more about the different characters.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 August 2009
Sabin; the keeper of Doubt is the fourth immortal warrior to meet his match in the latest LOTU book. Unable to keep even the most confident of woman from self doubt when around him, Sabin has not taken a lover since his last one committed suicide over a decade ago. Yet now a small red head siren has his attention; a woman already so riddled with self doubt and insecurities that his demon Doubt hungers for her.

Gwendolyn the Timid is the complete opposite of her sisters. She's not strong, she doesn't lust for blood or violence and she doesn't find pleasure in killing anyone; at least not when she has full control of her inner Harpy. Gwen is a timid woman who takes unleashing her inner tigress (or in this case a killer Harpy even the Gods would avoid a fight with) to a whole new level. Although extremely submissive at the beginning of this book, don't believe Gwen is a weak character. An immortal, she is definitely tougher than the human heroines found in previous books, and by the end of "The Darkest Whisper" she can certainly give Anya a run for her money in a mayhem, destruction and death competition.

There are subtle undertones of humour found in this book which I love in romance, and the red hot action expected in and out of the bedroom. Unfortunately my overall enjoyment was muted somewhat by the connecting plots. I'm all for a multitude of exciting side plots, yet so much happens in "The Darkest Whisper" that the story line almost overwhelms, leaving the reader drowning in array of events; including Gwen's interaction with her sisters, orders from Cronus, the hunt for the two remaining artefacts, a variety of battle scenes as Lords confront their enemies the Hunters and a fair few more but I won't risk any major spoilers. The events I was particularly eager to follow; Aeron's (Wrath) relationship with Legion, the change in Paris (Promiscuity) and Anya's prediction concerning Gideon (Lies)are only tasty little morsels amid a fast paced and page turning romance, but will leave eager fans of this series itching to learn more.

"The Darkest Whisper" is still a very good fantasy romance but it didn't dazzle like predecessors "The Darkest Night" or "The Darkest Kiss". Perhaps this is because the intensity found between previous leading lovers Maddox and Ashlyn and Lucien and Anya is lacking between Gwen and Sabin; sacrificed for the realistic metamorphosis Gwen undertakes from timid to confident whilst escalating events endanger the Lords. Sabin and Gwen's private moments together are certainly hot in places, but this book appears more about the multitude of threats facing the Lords and the discovery of new enemies. Gwen and Sabin just happen to meet up and fall in love whilst major events threatening the future of the Lords take place, rather than their romance taking precedence in the story line. Lastly I disliked how the pair overcomes Doubt; far too easy and very unlike the acceptance found between Ashlyn and Violence or Danika and Pain.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
This is a romance with a definite dark side. It's major character, Sabin, is host to the demon Doubt, who was released when Sabin and his compatriots opened Pandora's box. And Doubt has caused Sabin no end of problems, most especially to his love life, as any woman he pairs up soon wilts under the never-ending doubts that Doubt injects into her thought train. Obviously the solution to this is to find a woman who can withstand this pressure, but the solution offered here may seem paradoxical, being embodied in the person of Gwen, a timid (?) Harpy.

As a romance, the attraction between these two follows pretty standard lines. Their initial meeting and tentative attempts of feeling each other out is well done, but the final resolution of their attraction is quite predictable. Gwen is an interesting character, certainly not what you might expect in a Harpy, and may be the strongest portion of this work.

What is not standard is the basic world these two inhabit, as even though it's nominally our Earth, as it supposes that the Greek gods are real and still hanging around, which sets the stage for the major plot line composed of the Lords of the Underworld (humans infected with the various demons from Pandora's box) in continuous battle with the Hunters, led by Galen. As part of their battle, rape, torture, kidnapping, indiscriminate killing, and general mayhem are an everyday thing; some of the descriptions of these activities are fairly graphic, and the questions of morality that such battle techniques engender are perhaps somewhat glossed over, though they do occupy much of Sabin's thought train. The supporting characters and their demons are only mildly interesting, perhaps because we are given only small looks at these people. Their shown abilities also mean that the reader must accept these things as a given; logic and science have no place in this version of the world, even though some modern warfare gadgets see heavy use.

Some of the sex scenes are fairly explicit, although not grossly so. Those who prefer such activities to be shrouded in veil of delicacy might wish to avoid this book, while those who relish all the details should be quite satisfied. However, in places there were statements about certain anatomical functions that are well beyond normal human capabilities, which strained my belief in the story, even as a fantasy.

A reasonable read, a good, dark environment, but stretches the boundaries of believability while remaining a tad too predictable.

---Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 September 2009
Sabin; the keeper of Doubt is the fourth immortal warrior to meet his match in the latest LOTU book. Unable to keep even the most confident of woman from self doubt when around him, Sabin has not taken a lover since his last one committed suicide over a decade ago. Yet now a small red head siren has his attention; a woman already so riddled with self doubt and insecurities that his demon Doubt hungers for her.

Gwendolyn the Timid is the complete opposite of her sisters. She's not strong, she doesn't lust for blood or violence and she doesn't find pleasure in killing anyone; at least not when she has full control of her inner Harpy. Gwen is a timid woman who takes unleashing her inner tigress (or in this case a killer Harpy even the Gods would avoid a fight with) to a whole new level. Although extremely submissive at the beginning of this book, don't believe Gwen is a weak character. An immortal, she is definitely tougher than the human heroines found in previous books, and by the end of "The Darkest Whisper" she can certainly give Anya a run for her money in a mayhem, destruction and death competition.

There are subtle undertones of humour found in this book which I love in romance, and the red hot action expected in and out of the bedroom. Unfortunately my overall enjoyment was muted somewhat by the connecting plots. I'm all for a multitude of exciting side plots, yet so much happens in "The Darkest Whisper" that the story line almost overwhelms, leaving the reader drowning in array of events; including Gwen's interaction with her sisters, orders from Cronus, the hunt for the two remaining artefacts, a variety of battle scenes as Lords confront their enemies the Hunters and a fair few more but I won't risk any major spoilers. The events I was particularly eager to follow; Aeron's (Wrath) relationship with Legion, the change in Paris (Promiscuity) and Anya's prediction concerning Gideon (Lies)are only tasty little morsels amid a fast paced and page turning romance, but will leave eager fans of this series itching to learn more.

"The Darkest Whisper" is still a very good fantasy romance but it didn't dazzle like predecessors "The Darkest Night" or "The Darkest Kiss". Perhaps this is because the intensity found between previous leading lovers Maddox and Ashlyn and Lucien and Anya is lacking between Gwen and Sabin; sacrificed for the realistic metamorphosis Gwen undertakes from timid to confident whilst escalating events endanger the Lords. Sabin and Gwen's private moments together are certainly hot in places, but this book appears more about the multitude of threats facing the Lords and the discovery of new enemies. Gwen and Sabin just happen to meet up and fall in love whilst major events threatening the future of the Lords take place, rather than their romance taking precedence in the story line. Lastly I disliked how the pair overcomes Doubt; far too easy and very unlike the acceptance found between Ashlyn and Violence or Danika and Pain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I absolutely love the Lords of the Underworld books and I am hooked. Gena has managed to write a fantastic book and I was totally glued to the pages. For anyone who has maybe not read any of the Lords of the Underworld series then I would one hundred percent recommend them. Whilst obviously having the romance side to them they also have lots of action, humour and a brilliant concept idea for the back storyline from the author Gena Showalter.

The series is set around a group of twelve immortal warriors (and absolutely hunky ones at that!) who once served the Greek Gods. Zeus decided to give possession and protection of the dimOuniak to the immortal warrior Pandora (which is why the alternate name for it is Pandora's Box). The dimOuniak/Pandora's Box held all the evil of the world such as Violence, Death, Pain, Doubt, Wrath, Lies, Secrets, Defeat, Promiscuity, Disease, Misery and Disaster and all of their Demons were kept safely locked in the Box. Twelve of the other immortal warriors were upset that Zeus had entrusted the box to Pandora and not to them and therefore stole the box from her and subsequently released the demons into the world. Zeus was extremely angry over this betrayal and therefore cursed each of the warriors to hold one of the demons within each of them for all time.

This is the Fourth book in the series and tells the story of Sabin the keeper of the Demon Doubt. An absolutely brilliant read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 January 2010
Wow, I loved this book, it is the fourth in the series (I think) aside from an e-book that I am trying to get my hands on.

Sabin, war hungrym keep of the demon Doubt, stumble accorss a little red head as they rais a pyramid full of Hunter in Egypt. From the moment he see's her he's captivated! And on releasing her from her glas cell he knows there's moe to her than meet's the eye.

This story was great because we meet more mythical creatures - Harpy's. Gwen and her sisters, all deliciously dangerous and set our Lords on edge by the speed at which they can move and how blood thirsty they are.

I didn't feel as much empathy for Gwen as I did previous Lords love interest, she did annoy me a little bit with all her dithering between frightened and scared and then outright heoric. And there were times I want to shake her.

But the story over all is still brilliant as we learn so much more about the other Lords, and I love the developing story between Torin and cameo. And I have to wonder if the female Galen claims to have implanted Mistrust in has anything to to Sienna, for Paris sake let's hope so.

This is such an enjoyable series I await the next instalment with great anticipation!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Read this book over a couple of days and thoroughly enjoyed it. For me this was the best book of the four as I preferred Sabin as a character above the rest but that will be personal opinion. Liked the way Gena delved a little deeper into Gideon, Aeron and Paris's stories and led the way into Torin's story and what may be a crossover between Kresley Cole and Gena Showalter as she mentions Nix from the Immortals after Dark series.

The story was strong the heroine likable and generally a realy good read with the violence and steamy scenes being great as well. The only negative I would give was the end when they cross paths with Galen (won't say to much as would spoil) but I didn't feel it was true to the other books and the desperation the lords have to get him. This is only a minor negative as Ms Showalter will smooth this out in books to come.

Why oh why such a long wait between them though!!!!!!

A must for anyone who is a fan of Kresley Cole, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lora Leigh etc.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
I find myself pleasantly surprised by this, the fourth instalment in The Lords of The Underworld series. I have to admit to judging this book before I started it. Not by its cover, for that is mucho, mucho pretty, but by the lead character Sabin, whom I hadn't really developed any great appreciation for since his introduction into the series in book...two? Was it only book two the rest of the warriors rejoined the group? I forget. Too many books in my poor, tired brain. So sad.

I really enjoyed both the hero and heroine, Sabin and Gwen (also sometimes known as Gwendolyn the Timid). Both were strong- physically and emotionally- although one needed a bit of convincing on the latter. And I also enjoyed Showalter's interpretation of the Harpy as a supernatural creature. This isn't something that I've come across often on my paranormal travels. At least not with the Harpy as a main character.

As with previous couples, the love story progressed very quickly. All of these matings seem to share this trait. The attraction when each Lord meets "the one" is usually pretty instantaneous, and this was no different. Even with the valid reasons for wariness they both had. I enjoyed their journey- rocky as it was at times- and that part of the story was more than satisfying.

I also enjoyed the little departures we took from the main couple to catch up with the other Lords. There is further development in particular for the characters of Torin, Paris, Galen and Aeron, and I'm greatly looking forward to following each subplot up in future books.

The only slight downside was the ending. There was a decision made that I didn't agree with but I do understand its need in terms of the ongoing story arc as this is a series and that means sometimes threads get left waving in the wind. It was just a small thing, really, but it dulled the impact of the final pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
The latest in the Lords of the underworld series follows Sabin, keeper of Doubt and the first warrior from the Greece contingent to get a book. Doubt isn't the easiest demon to possess as it causes everyone around, even Sabin himself, to doubt themselves. Sabin's last lover was driven to suicide with its helpful comments. Sabin - ever the soldier -has only the war on his mind until he rescues Gwen from the clutches of the hunters on the latest search for the artefacts which will lead the way to Pandora's Box.

Gwen is a harpy (but not a very good one). She, unlike her mercenary sisters, is a wimp that hates violence....until she loses her temper and tends to maim people. She was captured along with many other immortal women to bear children which could be brainwashed from birth to the hunter regime and also have superpowers as added bonus. After witnessing her dark side first hand, Sabin is convinced that a harpy would be a pretty good weapon to have around and sets about convincing her to his cause.

Sabin and Gwen are instantly taken with each other but there are many twists and turns in this story before we get to the inevitable. The harpy code causes complications along with the arrival of Gwens 3 sisters and a major revelation threatens the budding relationship. In the usual GS style we get glimpses into the goings on of the other warriors in prep for their upcoming stories. Paris is still mourning Sienna, Aeron has a mysterious spiritual stalker and what exactly does Anya know about Gideon? (Also Nix makes an appearance - very cool, she rocks!).

The plot was good with plenty of action but I have to say it -the big moment was a little anti-climactic. (It had to happen for fairly obvious reasons but it was a little unrealistic - the rest of the warriors could have at least been more annoyed about it.) Another thing that bothered me was the solution to Doubt. Unlike Violence and Pain the way the demon was dealt with didn't grab me.

Overall the book was great, really enjoyable. It was probably my least favourite so far, for me it lacked something - the usual sparkle just wasn't there but thats just my opinion.
Definately worth reading and still a major fan of the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
Have loved all of this series and was a little wary of this one as the Sabin was not one of the original warriors but as with all the others I loved him. The story really moves along in this book and a lot happens which can be a little overwhelming at points as its jumping back and forth between characters. It has really set up the future books well. The relationship between Gwen and Sabin is written well and develops a little more realistically than some of the others. Gwen herself has her own strength and power and isn't just some helpless female. Loved her sisters and hope we get to see more of them in future books. Some anthologies coming out next and then Aeron's story, hope we get to see more of Legion. She's brilliant. A definate must read if you love this series, it just keeps getting better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse