The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld - Book 8) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £1.60 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Darkest Surrender (Lo... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld) Paperback – 16 Sep 2011


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.39
£2.78 £0.80
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
£6.39 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld) + The Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld) + The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld)
Price For All Three: £20.77

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: MIRA (16 Sept. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1848450486
  • ISBN-13: 978-1848450486
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 2.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (42 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 177,893 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Gena Showalter has always believed in love. An avid romance reader, she decided to try her hand at a story of her own and is now the author of sexy paranormal romances. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Karen Marie Moning will find a new favourite in Showalter. Her wildly sensual page-turners have a mix of humour, danger and wickedly hot sex, a combination sure to enthrall.

Product Description

Review

One of the premier authors of paranormal romance. --New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole

Showalter at her finest. --New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning on

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Gena Showalter has written over 17 novels and anthologies, including breathtaking paranormal and contemporary romances, cutting-edge young adult novels, and stunning urban fantasy.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Beanie Luck TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 2 Dec. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Gena Showalter never ever fails to deliver a cracking book for me and this is no exception.

I will say though that the dialogue in theis book is the most childish in the series so far, the way kaia and strider interact with each other is almost reminiscent of teenage speak, for example kaia speaks like a teenager, and acts like one too, strider who is supposed to be this fearsome awesome powerful warrior calls his thingy stridey monster which if im honest i found a little juvenile.

I had a hard time connecting to these 2 as a couple at all, whilst it had in fact been set up in previous books, to me there seemed to be no chemistry between them, well not as much as some of the others have had anyway.

The love scenes as always were amazing, real life is never ever like that so i do in fact enjoy those scenes the most lol

The harpy games were amazing, vicious nasty battles of sheer determination and women fighting women which i actually found quite interesting, it was also nice to see the inclusion of kaia and bianka and gwens mother tabitha too, maybe there is a story there Gena, as tab looks only 34 years old, it would be interesting to read her story, not sure who she would hook up with though but its an idea.

Despite all the short comings i loved the book and so its got a 5 star from me, if you have come across this book and have not read any of the others here they are in sequence:

The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld: Book 1)

...Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Seren Ade HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWER on 6 Oct. 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Kaia, a Harpy, has been trying to convince Strider (one of the Lords of the Underworld: the Keeper of the demon Defeat) for some time that she's the woman for him, but Strider keeps giving her a wide berth. He knows that she once slept with Paris (the Keeper of Promiscuity - or, to put it bluntly, sex). It isn't the fact that Kaia once slept with his friend that bothers Strider, but rather, he fears that his demon's determination to win all challenges would demand that he outperform his extremely experienced friend... something he fears might not be possible. So regardless of how very attracted he is to Kaia, Strider would like to keep as much space between them as he can. For preference, a Continent or two.

Until he discovers that she is in an extremely dangerous position, having been co-erced into entering an ongoing series of Harpy contests - a sort of cross between Gladiators and Mortal Combat - known as the Harpy Games. And thanks to a disaster she caused years before (earning her the nickname 'Kaia the Disappointment'), Kaia is at a significant disadvantage, as nearly all of her race (including her mother) are out to get her. Obviously, Strider can't turn his back on her. Even if he has to pretend to be her consort in order to be allowed to stay with her. When they discover that the prize for winning the Games is one of the four artifacts the Lords have been seeking, it becomes clear that for both Kaia and Strider the outcome of the Games is a matter of urgency. They'll have to learn to trust and rely on each other to ensure that both of them win.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By S. Wilson TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 28 Oct. 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Although I finished reading this a few weeks ago I've unfortunately only just got around to posting my review. I absolutely love the Lords of the Underworld series and Gena has written yet another fantastic instalment in the series. For anyone who has maybe not read any of the Lords of the Underworld series then I would one hundred percent recommend them. Whilst obviously having the romance side to them they also have lots of action, humour and a brilliant concept idea for the back storyline from the author Gena Showalter.

The series is set around a group of twelve immortal warriors (and absolutely hunky ones at that!) who once served the Greek Gods. Zeus decided to give possession and protection of the dimOuniak to the immortal warrior Pandora (which is why the alternate name for it is Pandora's Box). The dimOuniak/Pandora's Box held all the evil of the world such as Violence, Death, Pain, Doubt, Wrath, Lies, Secrets, Defeat, Promiscuity, Disease, Misery and Disaster and all of their Demons were kept safely locked in the Box. Twelve of the other immortal warriors were upset that Zeus had entrusted the box to Pandora and not to them and therefore stole the box from her and subsequently released the demons into the world. Zeus was extremely angry over this betrayal and therefore cursed each of the warriors to hold one of the demons within each of them for all time.

This is the eighth book in the series and tells the story of Strider the keeper of the demon of defeat. The female counterpart in this is Kaia the Harpy who we have already met in several of the previous books.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback