Buy Used
£5.28
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Delivery, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Cover has some edge wear. Dust jacket in Good condition.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Dam Hardcover – 1981


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£4.33


Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The Dam 4 Sep 2006
By cortezhill - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
In the tradition of The China Syndrome and Overload, here is a hair-raising novel of technology gone awry.

Upriver from the little California town of Sutterton stand the Sierra Canyon Dam, the largest structure of its kind - an awesome earth-filled dam, 90 million cubic yards' worth, 825 feet high, built to the most exacting specifications possible. It is the masterpiece of a master builder, engineer Theodore Roshek. It is the safest dam ever built. Except that, according to the calculations of Phil Kramer, the newest employee of Roshek, Bolen and Benededetz Inc., Sierra Canyon Dam is about to collapse.

From the moment Kramer's computer signals its warning, The Dam moves with headlong speed and excitement. Kramer, disbelieved and almost disbelieving, tries to learn the truth against the opposition of Rashek, whose very life is tied up with the dam. From the computer banks and board rooms of headquarters, to the terrifying stillness deep within the dam, to the moment when the once-placid lake behind the dam begins to move and roil and roar down the valley, The Dam crackles with suspense, wit, and all the power that can be unleashed by a first rate novelist.

--- from book's dustjacket
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback