Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Creature in the Case [Paperback]

Garth Nix
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.



Book Description

7 Mar 2005

Exclusive new adventure set in the Old Kingdom, set approximately six months after the events in ABHORSEN.

Nicholas Sayre is still recuperating from the injuries he received at the hands of the Destroyer. But after several idle months in Ancelstierre, he is desperate to return to the Old Kingdom, so when the opportunity arrives to actually DO something, he accepts like shot.

As a favour to his Uncle Edward, the Chief Minister of Ancelstierre, he travels to spend the weekend in a remote country house, the home of a family which would make a good political alliance. That seems easy enough, till he discovers that the house holds many secrets, and the worst of them is a relic of the Old Kingdom, too far from the Wall for any spark of its magical life to reignite.

Unless someone finds a way to unleash its power…


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 109 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks; World Book Day edition edition (7 Mar 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007201389
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007201389
  • Product Dimensions: 17 x 11 x 1.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 326,060 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Garth Nix was born in 1963 and grew up in Canberra, Australia. After taking his degree in professional writing from the University of Canberra, he worked in a bookshop and then moved to Sydney. There he sank lower into the morass of the publishing industry, steadily devolving from sales rep through publicist until in 1991 he became a senior editor with a major multinational publisher. After a period travelling in Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Asia in 1993, he left publishing to work as a marketing communications consultant . In 1999 he was lured back to the publishing world to become a part-time literary agent. He now lives in Sydney, a five-minute walk from Coogee Beach, with his wife Anna, son Thomas, and lots of books.

Product Description

Review

PRAISE FOR GARTH NIX

“[Garth Nix is] the coolest read in the playground.” Amanda Craig

"Sabriel is a winner, a fantasy that reads like realism. Here is a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intellience." Philip Pullman

“I think Garth Nix has created a really remarkable and persuasive wold, and done it in the grand style of high fantasy and heroic romance, with some wonderful twists and turns. His Sabriel is a heroine truly worthy of that role.” Lloyd Alexander

“Rich, complex, involving, hard to put down, this first novel is excellent high fantasy.” Publishers Weekly

“By turns rousing, charming and slyly funny, Sabriel is an engaging tale that slays sexual stereotypes along with its monsters.” San Francisco Chronicle

“Readers who like their fantasy intense in action, magisterial in scope and apocalyptic in consequences will revel in every word.” Kirkus starred review

“What makes LIRAEL a delight is the magic that Nix brings to his story and to his characters. It is filled with twists and turns, playful inventiveness and dark magic, and is sure to satisfy his many readers.” Locus

“At once an allegory regarding war and peace and a testament to friendship, this thought-provoking fantasy also resolves the true identities of the popular Dog and Mogget characters-and suggests that Nix may still have more tricks up his sleeve.” Publishers Weekly

“Fans will be overjoyed.” School Library Journal

About the Author

Garth Nix was born in 1963 and grew up in Canberra, Australia. After taking his degree in professional writing from the University of Canberra, he worked in a bookshop and then moved to Sydney. There he sank lower into the morass of the publishing industry, steadily devolving from sales rep through publicist until in 1991 he became a senior editor with a major multinational publisher. After a period travelling in Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Asia in 1993, he left publishing to work as a marketing communications consultant . In 1999 he was lured back to the publishing world to become a part-time literary agent. He now lives in Sydney, a five-minute walk from Coogee Beach, with his wife Anna, son Thomas and lots of books.


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nix does it AGAIN! 24 Feb 2005
Format:Paperback
The Creature in the Case is a short, but oh so sweet, spin off to Nix's thrilling Old Kingdom trilogy. For those who have yet to read Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen my advice is that you do NOT start your journey into the Old Kingdom here. Not only will it spoil those book enormously, but you will not enjoy this little treasure in all it's glory. However, if like myself you have fond memories of your time in the Old Kingdom while reading of the adventures of Sabriel and later Lirael (the heroines of Nix's adventures) then this will be a truly unmissable event!
Although the book feels more like a booklet, it certainly does not read like one. For all those who may be resentful towards Nix for not giving us the much longer fix we all desire (or need if you will) I ask you to remember that this was written for "World Book Day", and should thus be treated as a gift, a precious one, all 108 pages of it.
Although the story doesn't revolve around either of the two heroines from the previous adventures, or even take place across the wall in the magical lands of the Old Kingdom, the story and the writing are infused with the same brilliance that resonates so strongly from the trilogy. This is clearly felt in the ease with which you feel yourself slipping back into this world Nix has so elaborately created.
This is truly a fabulous book. Despite it's length I am sure those who read it will remember it very fondly. And when you consider that it's only 1, then you really can't help but give it full marks.
For those who've never ventured into the Old Kingdom this will still be a lot of fun, but enormously under appreciated. For those who've already been blown away by the trilogy, this will bring it all back and take it a step further.
You MUST buy this, quite simply because there isn't a single good reason not to do so...
JSP
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good 21 Mar 2005
By Chantal Lyons VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
Garth Nix's style is clear in this book, which is good. It is atmospheric and hooking, similar to the Abhorsen Trilogy. Although I enjoyed reading it, I was disappointed at the lack of familiar characters; the book focuses on Nicholas and we only get a small glimpse of Lirael and a mention of her nephew, Sam, at the end.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good 4 July 2006
Format:Paperback
This SHORT little book really doesn't let you breathe!! I read it all in one night...but it leaves you a bit "on the edge" at the end. You just WANT it to continue...but it doesn't. Anyway, it's really good, Garth Nix's style, who is an exceptionally good writer.

5 start well earned!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definatlely worth 1 16 Mar 2005
Format:Paperback
This book is all about nicholas sayre, although features lireal right at the end. Despite the fact that none of the main characters are featured largly in this book, it is a good reminder of the abhorsen trilogy and i would reccomend you buy it.
The Story- I dont want to give too much away so all i'll say is that nicholas wishes to return to the old kingdom now he is almost fully recovered but to get a pass his uncle first makes him stay at the base of a secret service of some kind to represent the sayre family, however he soon discovers there is something odd going on.
9/10 (well worth the price)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promising start 10 Mar 2005
Format:Paperback
Good
It was a good short story, that really kept the reader interested in finding out what was going to happen next. The plot was good, and it was great the revist Nix's best books (The Old Kingdom Trilogy).
Bad
I would have personally liked the see Sabriel and Lirael feature a bit more but this is just a minor point. It left me wanting more, I would really like to see Nix write a full novel
and not just a short story.
Overall a very good read, but its just a taster for the upcoming collection of short stories based in the world that Nix created so well, due to be released later this year for those lucky Americans, add to the fact its all going to a good cause. Well worth the 1 it cost, I would recommend it to every fan of Nix's writing and especially Fans of Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dont get carried away 21 Aug 2006
Format:Paperback
I would like to review this for the older audience. The book is short, and actually starts quite well, but it soon degrades into some giant monster wandering about and eventually being brought to a stop as it tries to enter the old kingdom.

To be honest, the old kindom trilogy ended reasonably well in Abhorson, though the books got worse as he went along, a similar blight which currently afflicts his current series starting with Mr Monday. So I do not see how he can possibly justify this little 'add on' to the series. It adds nothing to it at all, the series should have been left alone and not milked in this manner, but that's up to Nix I guess.

This book is a cash-in basically. I'm sure none of you will find my review 'helpful', but would you rather I overrated it, and you bought a book which was an utter disappointment? I can only review it from my point of view. Maybe this is a good read for kids, but adults avoid.

p.s - The revolution against over generous reviews rolls on.
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback